Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet Hideaway

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Nice little room. Quaint and aged but more then adequate. Staff went overboard to help.
Cons: The deck had mosquitoes and the TV placed on the desk was quite low for just laying on the bed to view... which was the only way to view. A bigger TV?
Location: Not as busy as Rodney bay so a long stay may not work unless you have a car.
Very charming with staff who were extremely accommodating. Food was over the top delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we will take what you said into consideration.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Classic Caribbean Resort

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Very quiet.
Cons: The gym facilities need some work. The space is small and some of the equipment was out of order.
Location: Love the location but we stayed on-site for our entire stay except to do some local grocery shopping and visit local bars.
Terrific hotel/resort especially if you are looking for a quiet, picturesque location. The staff was very pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Good value to the extent that we will try to go back in the late fall.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Reservations , Hotel Management
Thank you for your reveiw. Happy you enjoyed your stay here. We will take what you said into consideration
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire, England

authentic caribbean paradise.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: staff, food, atmosphere.
Cons: showers
Location: paradise, being a small port, many ships leaving for excursions so very central for most things.
loved the whole resort, and the beach club was very no corporate style authentic Caribbean experience. i would find this very hard to beat, and would definitely visit again many times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you got a true Caribbean experience from your stay. We do our best to ensure that our guest leave the resort happy. You are welcome anytime.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Pretty grounds but many things just not right

Posted Apr 6, 2017
We went to this resort to dive. The diving on St Lucia is just not very good. NO fish other than some small reef fish Reefs not very pretty or looking healthy. Marine Park is a little better but needs about 10 more years to recover. They are also very reluctant to take you there. It is farther so if there numbers don't work you may just go around the corner or they might not go at all. Never been at a dive resort that decides each day if they are going to provide service.But it is the best dive boat lunch I have had . Our room which had a kitchen had a great bed, good air conditioning, and a lovely porch overlooking the bay. Fantastic. But.. Look straight down and we looked at a rubble pile, sinks had no plugs, cold tap did not work, table had no glass top, multimately jet shower looked good but hardly any jets worked (but water was warm.) Constant loud music from the restaurant kept us from eating there. We found the constant visiting cruise ship excursions intolerable that is why I was not on a cruise. Our taxi also never arrived to pick us up at the airport when we arrived even thou we prearranged it thru the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
You are the first to not enjoy diving in St Lucia when this is something that persons boast about because it is truly a wonderful experience. Vacation is supposed to be vacation where you spend time relaxing and enjoying the island, not looking for things to complain about. All of things that you mentioned, did you bring it to the attention of anyone so that it can be rectified? The restaurant plays music at a volume that is comfortable for everyone. If the music was too loud for you then you just had to say so as we want all our guest to be pleased. With regards to your pick up, there must have been a miscommunication which could have been solved with a phone call.
4 out of 5
by Mary

Celebrating 70!

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
We were in St. Lucia to celebrate my husbands 70th birthday and that included diving. The Beach Club was chosen specifically because there was a dive center on the property. AND the diving folks were excellent! The rooms however really need some modern updating, the pool was small and also needed updating. A hot tub would be a GREAT addition! Also, we were not aware until arrival that getting to the hotel involved a ferry ride. On the plus side, ALL of the staff was EXCELLENT, our room was kept clean, the restaurant was good and there were others in the vicinity to try, and the diving was super. We would rate this a 'do-over'!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Marcia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you had a good time here. We are actually in the process of doing a lot of upgrades throughout the property and we can guarantee that you will not be disappointed next time around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Best beach in st Lucia

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Great location for relaxing and getting away from it all with beautiful sunsets! Hotel is older but has style and charm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

inconvenience location

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: nice view
Location: only few restaurants and it is very expensive need car to go anywhere
location need 5 min boat ride and nothing nearby beach not nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. When on vacation, make the most of it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Birthday Vacation Magic

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Our room was at the base of the hillside....the first bungalow with a fantastic view of the bay!! The balcony extended the living space!!
Location: We rented a car at the airport..being from USA we now have to drive on the other side of the road!!! We did day trips, lots to do!!
The St. Lucia Marigot Beach Club & Dive Resort was a very magical tropical island adventure!!! Complete with rainbows, hummingbird, butterflies, Tropical reefs to snorkel directly off the beach of the resort, incredible views of Marigot Bay from our balcony, fun food & entertainment at Doolittles Restaurant, a wonderful staff including the water taxi driver, Pip.....Our trip included a 1/2 day boat adventure with Captain Denver & his 1st mate!!! Very informative trip with snorkel stops & lunch in Soufrire. The Shashamane Boat Rental with Captain Denver was the perfect option for us from the usual "RUM BOATS" that we watched daily come in & out of the bay with hundreds of people aboard but do not fear, we did have RUM!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you! It is reviews like this that makes us know that we are doing something right. We are very happy that you had a wonderful time and made the most out of your vacation. Often times people forget that is what they came to st Lucia for. Thanks for giving the readers a reminder.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: The resort is very aesthetically pleasing; the staff was great!
Cons: A sense of customer service from ownership
Location: I would certainly suggest people visit the nearby public beach and for to Roots Bar!
My wife and were having quite a lovely time during our 2 day stay at Marigot Bay. The staff was very accommodating; the facilities were excellent and the food was great! However there was an incident that did cast a pall over our stay. We were walking on a dock on the hotel property when my wife slipped and badly injured her head falling off of the dock. The area was very poorly lit and there was no railing there. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. What was very disappointing was what happened after her injury. We had to take a taxi to a hospital in Tapion, and the owner of Marigot Bay has assured us that when we were finished at the hospital, there would be a ferry available for us and he provided a number for us a call so security to let us in. Neither occurred! The number provided was false, and we were left stranded outside of the resort for over an hour. Our taxi driver even called the owner directly, but he had little regard at the time and the next day. There was no explanation or apology provided until I personally had to go out of my way to confront him
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It seems like you had a good stay and I do apologize for this infortunate situation however our manager and rooms manager personally went to you and your wife and apologized. They also asked on numerous occasions if there is anything that they can do for you and you said you were ok. Even on check out you said you did not want anything. Also the number which was provided to you was not false because we give the number to all our guest staying out late and they had no issues. Empathy was shown for your situation and we do not appreciate another version being told.
3 out of 5
by Deven

Views are amazing

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is great however the attached restaurant Doolittle's is quite sub par. Capella has great food at the rum cove and grill, and the bayside cafe has great breakfast. Views are amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Marcia, Hotel Management
Thank you for review. I invite you to stay at the hotel again and i can guarantee that you will have a different opinion.