Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Nice hotel close to the beach...but...

Posted Dec 8, 2016
It's a great location with a nice view from the room. The restaurant was nice. Nadia and the food and beverage manager were very friendly. The wifi was terrible, I was only able to connect for half an hour. You all need to remove 'free breakfast' from the page as this is not the case.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Marigot... more like Mari-NO

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Maybe if we weren't constantly dealing with one issue after another, we would have been able to enjoy something on the property.
Cons: The customer service definitely needs to be improved. Also, with so many issues we dealt with in the rooms there should be routine maintenance checks.
Location: I thought the location and needing to take a ferry to and from the resort was inconvenient. I wasn’t aware about that aspect until we arrived.
I have never been so taken back and disappointed in a lack of service with a hotel, which was unfortunately portrayed by the staff at Marigot. As a hospitality major and former employee in the industry, this experience was unacceptable and could have been handled in much more effective ways. Unfortunately the review only allows for 1500 characters, so I will spare them the detailed embarrassment for now. Strike 1: Transportation did not pick us up at the airport, and when they said they would reimburse us after taking a cab they later said it wasn’t ‘their problem’ because they never work with third parties. My taxi receipt through Expedia says otherwise. Strike 2: The AC was broken in our room. They expected us to stay in another room and move our things back to the old room the next day. We booked excursions for the day and I was not about to work around my vacation because of their mishaps. Strike 3: No WiFi in our rooms, which we were told we would have. Strike 4: The new room we got, the toilet didn't work. Strike 5: Because of dealing with all the issues, we got to the restaurant later than we wanted, and the waitress rushed us because the kitchen was closing. Of course they didn't have what we originally ordered. Not a second later, right after we finished they shut off all the lights except for the light right above our table, which we stayed because it was the only area with WiFi. Strike 6: In the morning we noticed our table was still not cleared off. Gross.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by Reservations, Hotel Management
I am very taken aback by this review coming from someone who barely spent one night at the hotel due to your very late (12am) arrival and left the following day. It is stated that a boat is needed to go to and from the resort. Others find the short ride to be quite charming. As a hospitality major you should be more understanding of this industry and its challenges. Point 1: No staff at the hotel would say something is not their problem. As you rightfully indicated we do not work with 3rd parties for airport transfers. Airport transfers are booked directly by our guest. If your receipts says Expedia then they are responsible for your transportation. Point 2: Your AC had an issue and you were quickly moved to another room. If you were asked to move your stuff back to your former room, it is most likely because the room was needed for the following day. Not an issue because your stuff could been easily moved for you without any inconvenience. Point 3: Upon arrival you are told where the WiFi points are and currently our WiFi system for the rooms are being upgraded. Point 4: Whatever issues you had with the room was dealt with by maintenance. This in no way made you arrive at the restaurant later when you got the property late and the restaurant was already packing up. You could have simply gone to the restaurant while maintenance did their job in your room. Point 5: You were accommodated regardless of the time. The part i find most appalling is your last statement. When the restaurant closes for the night, all table cloths are removed from the tables and replenished with new ones. There is no way a plate stays on any table overnight. You are portraying an image of the hotel which is not accurate at all however you still welcome to stay at the hotel again because you did not get to experience the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Location is excellent. Marigot Bay is just beautiful and Doolittles provides a fine place to sit, with a drink and/or meal and watch the water activity. Rooms provide exceptional views of the bay and the staff were wonderful
Cons: Many of the rooms are located quite high up the hillside. We managed fine but the steps did get a bit wearing after a while. You wouldn't necessarily want to "pop" back to your room for anything The short ferry ride to/from the property is a novelty at first but it does restrict your movement and became a little tiresome in the end. Rooms OK but lighting horrendous with just small side lamps, no central overhead light making the room a little dark in the evenings. I also didn't like having a shared balcony and the furniture on said balcony definitely needs updating, mine had been pulled to pieces by the birds for nests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you your review. We take every review into consideration as a way of improving our service to our guest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel on the beach with a fantastic location

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Well kept room with a big balcony overlooking the beach. The grounds and gardens, are well maintained. The free boat shuttle is charming.
Cons: Breakfast - Breakfast - Breakfast. Service, menu, timings, organisation, everything about breakfast
Location: Great location! Mesmerising view of the bay. Snorkelling trips available from the diving shop on site.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Marigot Bay Hotel. The hotel obviously tries hard to look after its customers. It represents value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our apologies about breakfast. This is something that we will certainly look into and improve where necessary.
4 out of 5
by Christina

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very quaint and quiet hotel overlooking Marigot Bay and ocean on East Coast of Saint Lucia. Very private- accessible only by boat! Beautiful grounds, nice and spacious rooms with kitchens, and great dive shop with wonderful guides. Perfect for a relaxing ecotourist vacation! Only disappointments were the food at the restaurant and poor wifi service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy that you had a good stay overall. In regards to WIFI, this is something that we are currently working on. The landscape of the property is what makes getting WIFI in certain areas difficult. Our apologies for the food not being to your liking but in the future we would appreciate your feedback on this prior to your departure to correct what went wrong with the food. Do hope you decide to stay with us once more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NICE RELAXING TIME

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
RELAX
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2016 by Marcia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2016 by Marcia, Hotel Management
Thank you.
3 out of 5
by KATHY

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
The view was nice, but the incline to walk to the room was exhausting. We only stayed one night until our villa was ready in Gros Islet. I would go there for lunch or dinner, but I would not stay there again. The room was clean and staff very friendly the bed was very uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Marcia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are a hotel who always aim to please our guest and to help them if they encounter any issues. All what you have stated here could have easily been rectified for you had we known. A room with less walking and a comfortable bed would have been provided for you. I do hope that you reconsider staying with us once as we would love to have you.
3 out of 5
by JEANE P. from NJ

Perfect for a solo getaway.

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
I had a wonderful stay overall. St. Lucia is beautiful and the location of the hotel is paradaisic. The staff was exceptionally pleasant, polite, helpful, responsive. Unfortunately, my shower and toilet were clogging, and maintenance discovered that a root is growing in the plumbing. But they did try as best as they could to help alleviate the problem. I had to deal with that inconvenience. There are no shelves in the shower, so there is nowhere in the shower to rest soap, shampoo, conditioner or anything. The tiles in the room also seemed a bit dingy. WiFi was not available in the room, only in the restaurant and office. So that was another inconvenience. Additionally, I had a steep climb to my room but the view was worth it. I would however definitely stay there again. For a solo getaway, fine; but I would want upgrades for a romantic getaway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Marcia, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience at the hotel. We apologize for the inconveniences that you had to deal with throughout your stay. If you do decide to stay with us once more, may i suggest a Beachfront Studio. No steep climb and very little steps.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gilligan's Island

Posted May 11, 2016
It was a nice hotel with nice staff and beautiful view the only problem was no WiFi in room and could not use the outlets to charge phone and computer had to wait 3 days to get an outlet extention, also food was pricy, I recommend to get breakfast included with package. Be ready to take a fairy boat to take you to the hotel and back to mainland, free of charge.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2016 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review as we are always happy to receive feedback from our guest. There is wifi in all rooms, you may not always get it because of where your room may be located. However wifi is available in public areas and the reception area. It is stated on our website that we do not provide converters but if your deices are in need of charging, then this can be done in the office or at the bar. The pricing of food is reasonable when you consider cost of goods etc. Overall it looks like you had a good stay here and we hope to see you again.