Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

inconvenience location

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: nice view
Location: only few restaurants and it is very expensive need car to go anywhere
location need 5 min boat ride and nothing nearby beach not nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. When on vacation, make the most of it
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: The resort is very aesthetically pleasing; the staff was great!
Cons: A sense of customer service from ownership
Location: I would certainly suggest people visit the nearby public beach and for to Roots Bar!
My wife and were having quite a lovely time during our 2 day stay at Marigot Bay. The staff was very accommodating; the facilities were excellent and the food was great! However there was an incident that did cast a pall over our stay. We were walking on a dock on the hotel property when my wife slipped and badly injured her head falling off of the dock. The area was very poorly lit and there was no railing there. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. What was very disappointing was what happened after her injury. We had to take a taxi to a hospital in Tapion, and the owner of Marigot Bay has assured us that when we were finished at the hospital, there would be a ferry available for us and he provided a number for us a call so security to let us in. Neither occurred! The number provided was false, and we were left stranded outside of the resort for over an hour. Our taxi driver even called the owner directly, but he had little regard at the time and the next day. There was no explanation or apology provided until I personally had to go out of my way to confront him
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It seems like you had a good stay and I do apologize for this infortunate situation however our manager and rooms manager personally went to you and your wife and apologized. They also asked on numerous occasions if there is anything that they can do for you and you said you were ok. Even on check out you said you did not want anything. Also the number which was provided to you was not false because we give the number to all our guest staying out late and they had no issues. Empathy was shown for your situation and we do not appreciate another version being told.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simple hotel in the most fabulous location

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Beautiful beach location. The hotel room was fine and the veranda perfect! It is not a 5 star shine new hotel it very clean and comfortable. We stayed in a Grand Studio. The restaurant serves a good. Real fast with lots of fruit and we'll prepared breakfast dishes. The Fresh fish at dinner was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for wonderful review. Our goal is that we aim to please and we are happy that you had a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad, west indies

Quiet getaway on the beach

Posted Feb 21, 2017
This resort was really relaxing, not alot of people and was fantastic for me. It's a little far away from the airport aND you have to take a ferry to get to the hotel but it's free. The beach was nice and quiet and the views were fantastic. There was a few restaurants near by just a ferry ride away and the hotel restaurant was nice as well. If you are looking for a getaway from everyone it's perfect !
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Vacation is all about relaxing and we are happy you got to do just that. Hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roxboro, NC

Laid back atmosphere away from it all!

Posted Feb 11, 2017
This is an older resort which in my view lends to its appeal. Think shabby chic and a place that Earnest Hemingway would have stayed to perform his writings. The room had brown tile floors with the same on a very large balcony overlooking Marigot Bay. The ceilings are wood tongue and groove and painted white like the walls. There is a large and beautiful four-poster mahogany bed and the mattress was pretty comfortable. Basic tiled bathroom and shower. Basic kitchen amenities but no microwave or stove/oven. There is a hotplate to heat or cook food with. There are no frills but that is the charm. Everything worked well except that one morning there was no water. It was out for the whole facility though and was fixed quickly. The pool is small but located so that it's near the bar/restaurant. Pretty good food. Great drinks and bartenders with 2 different happy hours daily for 2/1 drinks. Nice private beach and snorkel area. Pretty nice public beach area. Free ferry to the harbor/road side for resort or restaurant guests. I have read not so great reviews of this place before but can't really understand why. I think some people have unrealistic expectations as we could find nothing bad about the facilities. Just a really wonderful resort and laid back atmosphere!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest review. We really appreciate when our clients share their experience for what is was an not to degrade the hotel. Really happy that you had a good time and we do hope to see you again some day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonto:n, Alberta

Nice location, friendly staff.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Shower was terrible, no hot water and little pressure. WiFi needs to get better
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
Did you report this? If you did then i am sure it was rectified. Because of the landscape of the property, certain areas have low wifi signals. This is something that we are currently working on as we speak.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Roach motel

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Take your bug spray and mozzies net.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
Tropical islands are not bug free so seeing bugs is expected. Next time you decide to travel to an island, please walk with repellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location. Poor service.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: One of the most beautiful tropical locations we've ever experienced in all our travels to BVIs, St. John or Barbados.
Cons: Restaurant service. Wait time for breakfast was unbearable every day except one, so We ate at other lunch/dinner restaurants every night.
Most beautiful location but service was poor. Few staff seemed happy so right away we felt as if we were inconveniencing them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
I think you may have the wrong property as we are a hotel in St Lucia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful bay

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location and ambience
Cons: Service could be quicker and happier at the restaurant and bar
Location: Scuba diving was very good
We stayed two nights at The Marigot Beach Hotel waiting to catch our Windjammer Cruise. Great location and really beautiful cove. Rooms were nice with a small kitchen. The wait times to receive service were not good but tolerable. Food at the restaurant was very good. I would definitely go back if staying in this area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by reservations, Hotel Management
We are happy that you had a good stay with us. Thanks for the recommendation, we will definitely take this into consideration.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The negative reviews you've already read are true

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: The grounds are beautiful. The restaurant has the best view of the sea of any of the waterside restaurants, and the restaurant staff were helpful.
Cons: We wouldn't have been disappointed if the hotel had not made promises that it did not intend to deliver: full breakfast, wifi in room, comfy bed.
Location: Food and transportation are very expensive in this area. Distillery tour is great. Julietta's Restaurant is the BEST; Masala Bay is a close second.
We paid a premium for FULL breakfast included. Our first morning we were told at the restaurant our room includes continental breakfast. We were told to go the reception to ask why the change. The receptionist knew the Expedia reservation showed we paid for full breakfast and they offer full breakfast, but we would only get continental breakfast and a refund for what we paid was not an option. I would have to wait two more days to talk with a manager. She said other parties were in the same situation. We were outraged and ready to leave. After returning to the US we finally received a PARTIAL refund of the difference paid. The bed had a hard 5.5" mattress, no box springs. In the hotel’s response to a previous review, they said they would provide more padding; they would not. The A/C in these rooms only works when you are in the room and makes a large dripping puddle of water in the middle of the room.The rooms are on the edge of a rainforest, so at night you will hear extremely loud tropical crickets. That and the sound of dripping water can make it difficult to sleep. The bathroom light fixture had a peculiar attachment worth noting - see photo. Most of the rooms do not have wifi since they are not directly on top of the reception area. They are not using wifi extenders to reach the rooms. The beach might accommodate 60 people and is shared by guests of all the hotels. The swimming area is even smaller; no waves because it's in a bay. The bay is for boat traffic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by reservations, Hotel Management
First of all, I would like to say that we are happy that you liked the property. Secondly since you have written all of this anonymously, there is no way of knowing that this is factual. If you were uncomfortable in your room you could have simply informed us and we would have done our utmost best to make you more comfortable. When visiting a tropical island you expect crickets, bugs etc. Again if it was a bother we would simply move you to another room. We are not in the business of having our guest unhappy and always try our best to assist when situations arise. Waiting until you have left the hotel to say all of this is unfortunate because nothing can be done for you and the opportunity was not given to us to handle the situation. The photo you have attached is just a light fixture. Not worth noting unless you are someone who is into antiques.