Ratings based on 497 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great until the fire !

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: large rooms, updated, great location & staff
Location: lots of great dining 1/2 block away if not closer, right across from the marina and the water. Close to Muir Woods, and lots of other attractions.
We stayed one night on the 4th floor in a courtyard facing room. Rooms were recently updated, and very nice, extremely roomy, and large very nicely renovated bathrooms with a skylight. Staff was exceptionally courteous and helpful. Unfortunately in the morning, we went down the street for breakfast, and when we returned to our hotel it was on fire. Smoke billowing out of the roof. There is a popular restaurant on the ground floor (not operated by the hotel), that had a grease fire or something, and the hotel was evacuated. We were flying back to Canada that day, so needed our laptop & Passports and baggage from our rooms, so I just ignored the staff and went to our room via the stairs and gathered everything up quickly. Had I not done that we would have missed our flight as it was going to be 3 or 4 hours before they would have let you back into your rooms .... it wasn't that smoky. Made for an exciting morning to say the least. I must restate it was no fault of the hotel.... great location, great staff, very clean, nicely updated large rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Beautiful hotel with excellent service. This hotel has amazing views and is close to fabulous restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A beautiful place

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The hotel was so nice, and very quiet, even though it was totally sold out, we never heard any noise. At times, it was almost like we had the place to ourselves. Loved sitting outside by the fire pit sipping wine. We stayed up the hill in a mansion room, so we had to climb several flights of stairs, but considered it good exercise. If you can't do 3 flights of stairs, I would suggest getting a room in the lower part of the hotel where there are elevators.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

10 points

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Best hotel we had , beautiful wiew over the harbor. Excellent beds and great breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location to everything in Sausalito!

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Location!! Didn't have kids traveling with us, but could easily see having one or two sleeping downstairs. Very quiet.
Location: Scoma's is a must, and for breakfast, the Lighthouse cafe! Huge portions of good home cooking!
We stayed in the separate back part of the hotel. It was great!!!! Patio with very comfy seating right outside the room with a peek of the bay. The room itself was nice. Two floors. Enter into a sitting room with a chair, sofa and ottoman (and flat screen tv) and upstairs was the king bed, a smaller tv, fridge and bathroom. Would definitely stay again! It's a smaller "boutique" hotel - just what we were looking for! Everything within walking distance. Only downside is the $30/night valet fee. Unfortunately, welcome to the area in general.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Unique hotel in a beautiful setting. Fabulous restaurants all along the harbour-side street.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great surprise on a business trip

Posted Sep 4, 2016
I stayed during a business trip through the area and was pleasantly surprised on such a comfortablle hotel, friendly staff, beautiful views.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
We loved everything about Casa Madrona, from the greeting at Valet Parking and Reception to our beautiful, clean and contemporarily-furnished room. And what a view! We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant downstairs, Poggio, itself a delightful experience, decor, food and service, The hotel is intimate with a lovely warm lobby, outdoor areas to sit and talk, and right in the middle of where you want to be in Sausalito to walk outside and go to Starbucks, shopping or for a stroll. We would stay here again, if we can get a reservation!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

great location

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Great place with views of water. Staff excellent! Loved location
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful local getaway.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Great location. Wonderful spa and clinicians. Rooms very nice and atmosphere relaxing. Historic side is contemporary like the contemporary side. Loved easy room access. Note there are stairs.