Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous view of SF and Bay Bridge in quiet spot.

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Close to Muir Woods and wonderful hiking. Restaurant experience not quite as enjoyable: although food delicious, only options are 3 or 4 course meals. For many of us mere mortals it is just too much food, and ends up feeling like a waste (both of food and money). Would have been more appetizing if we could have ordered to our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great Stay.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: great location. many hikes and a few beaches to choose from. Good restaurants in town.
Very relaxing, beautiful grounds, yummy dinner at Murray Circle, fun bar, nice seating outside check-in building, great to sit there with a glass of wine int he evening or coffee in morning overlooking the GGB. Have only stayed in the contemporary rooms; they are spacious and nice; however the room's heat is centrally heated and we needed to sleep with our windows open the whole night b/c it was so hot; luckily, it was still pretty quiet at night and in the morning. The spa is great. This was the first time we took our daughter and they don't let children into the spa or the outside hot pool so it was a bummer that there was no other hotel amenities for her on the grounds. We enjoy this place very much b/c we love the local outdoor opportunities and than get to return to a nicely equipped room to unwind and clean-up before dinner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Step it up a bit

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
Check in experience was below average. Mistakes and lackluster attitude. If you don't care about having me, I don't care to come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Katy, TX

Can't wait to return!

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: It's hard to say why we liked best: The view, the huge comfortable room with fireplace, the restaurant and bar, or the wonderful staff.
Cons: I honestly cannot think of anything that we didn't like about our stay other than we didn't stay long enough.
Location: The location is perfect and there are no other hotels in this specific pocket on the north side of the bay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
The room was up on a hill far removed from the restaurant and bar. You had to call a service or walk far just to get anywhere or anything. They parked your car somewhere where only the valet knew where it was. The bathroom smelled like an old man. The fireplace was nice and the bed was comfortable. We didn't really have a view, which would've been nice. The people in the restaurant and bar were full of pretentious arrogance. The food was overpriced, small portions, the selection was horrible, and it was not very tasty. Who serves chips and onion dip with no flavor or an appetizer? The olives in the martini were the most tasteless olives that I've ever had. The bloody mary was so full of horseradish and tomato juice, I couldn't even suck it down-talk about gross. Unless you take Uber, you cannot get to your vehicle and you only have the choice of one restaurant and bar.You're better off going down the street to a local Taqueria. We requested ice at about 830, they said they were coming with it and they never came. The only good thing about the place was the Close proximity to the bay and bridge.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location with beautiful views

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Cavallo Point Lodge is a special place-great location and fantastic views. We stayed in a deluxe room with Golden Gate bridge views. Easy access to environs (Muir Woods, SF and Sausalito business district) plus a nice walk up to the Golden Gate bridge. Room service missed our room while we were out all day but it was remedied very quickly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, historical charm, helpful staff

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Historic charm, wine reception at happy hour, free croissants and coffee in the am
Cons: C.P. needs a shuttle on call in the pm for guests going to Sausalito for dinner or cruise as taxis are not readily avail and cell reception is sketchy
Cavallo Point, although very expensive per night, is in a great location right beside the Golden Gate bridge. It has historical charm as it was once military housing, and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. Would definitely stay there again when in the area. Bathroom fan was not working during our stay, reported to staff member. Love the wine in the afternoon/early evening and coffee and croissants/muffins in the morning. Needs more parking for those wanting to self park.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive but worth it.

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful staff, very courteous and on the ball. Everything we needed was provided, and with a smile. The views were wonderful, the room was spacious and beautiful, and the restaurant's food and service were great. I'm not normally into glowing reviews, but if you want to splurge this is a great place to do it. And if you do, take advantage of everything - call for the car to pick you up for dinner, use the valet, go to dinner at the restaurant, order room service for breakfast and have it on the balcony...you get the picture.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
great place - great location