Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous view of SF and Bay Bridge in quiet spot.

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Close to Muir Woods and wonderful hiking. Restaurant experience not quite as enjoyable: although food delicious, only options are 3 or 4 course meals. For many of us mere mortals it is just too much food, and ends up feeling like a waste (both of food and money). Would have been more appetizing if we could have ordered to our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great Stay.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: great location. many hikes and a few beaches to choose from. Good restaurants in town.
Very relaxing, beautiful grounds, yummy dinner at Murray Circle, fun bar, nice seating outside check-in building, great to sit there with a glass of wine int he evening or coffee in morning overlooking the GGB. Have only stayed in the contemporary rooms; they are spacious and nice; however the room's heat is centrally heated and we needed to sleep with our windows open the whole night b/c it was so hot; luckily, it was still pretty quiet at night and in the morning. The spa is great. This was the first time we took our daughter and they don't let children into the spa or the outside hot pool so it was a bummer that there was no other hotel amenities for her on the grounds. We enjoy this place very much b/c we love the local outdoor opportunities and than get to return to a nicely equipped room to unwind and clean-up before dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, historical charm, helpful staff

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Historic charm, wine reception at happy hour, free croissants and coffee in the am
Cons: C.P. needs a shuttle on call in the pm for guests going to Sausalito for dinner or cruise as taxis are not readily avail and cell reception is sketchy
Cavallo Point, although very expensive per night, is in a great location right beside the Golden Gate bridge. It has historical charm as it was once military housing, and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. Would definitely stay there again when in the area. Bathroom fan was not working during our stay, reported to staff member. Love the wine in the afternoon/early evening and coffee and croissants/muffins in the morning. Needs more parking for those wanting to self park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Love the place Very different from any other hotel it was a retrieve with Mother Nature Love to be able to walk to the Golden Gate The wine in the balcony or by the fire pite there staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto

Everyone at this hotel was absolutely terrific!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Loved everything.
Cons: Later hours at the bar and inclusion of bicycles.
Location: Checkout Belvedere and shops there as opposed to the prime port in Sausalito!
We went for a long weekend and had the best time! The staff are all EXCELLENT! Everyone was thorough and courteous and beyond friendly and helpful. Also the toiletries are wonderful! and the room was beautiful and comfortable. Dinner was excellent, only complaint is that the bar is not open after 11pm on weeknights and closes at midnight on weekends. Would have been nice to have another hour and be able to relax on a mini vacation, but overall we had an amazing time! Grounds are exquisite :) Loved all of the details, like the driver coming to the door to let us know the car was there to shuttle us over to dinner, or the thoughtful and thorough concierge calling back to check on inquiries and meals etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Extremely comfortable and spacious rooms, nicely decorated. Excellent food. Staff in Restaurant and Bar excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

excellent stay

Posted Aug 16, 2016
we were really impressed with the hotel they made an extra special effort because my husband was celebrating his birthday we would love to stay again rooms with bridge view are amazing loved the toiletries and amenities and the spa was marvellous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic old baraks converted into rooms!

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Beautiful location, at the base of the North Side of the GG Bridge! Staff are excellent and pleasantly helpful. Food was delicious at Murray Circle restaurant!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

A very relaxing mother-daughter to Sausalito...

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Contemporary rooms had nice high vaulted ceilings, fireplace and light colored carpets.
Cons: Better sound insulation between rooms!
Relaxing atmosphere. Fantastic views. Big expanse of space.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, Decaying facilities

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: It's a beautiful location and the staff try very hard.
Cons: This is a decaying facility that badly needs to be overhauled and not masqueraded as a "green" hotel.
Location: It is located in a park and there is nothing else around.
The location is nice and staff is courteous but the facilities are decaying. The rooms are not sound proofed so they provide you with ear plugs, courtesy ear plugs. TThey do not provide laundry bags but charge you for using one if it is required under the guise of being "green" such as the room keys that do not work and become de-magnetized every 6 hours because they are a cheap knockoff of a room key that is "green" because it's a wood component key. The "green" spectre thinly veils numerous failings they hotel chose not to upgrade including water pressure, lack of bottled water, no elevators or ramps... This is a decaying facility that badly needs to be overhauled and not masqueraded as a "green" hotel. Roofs, decks, carpets, windows, landscaping, concrete... all need repair and for the price should be better taken care of.