Ratings based on 1,315 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from occidental ca

hotel front desk was very accomodating.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Very good customer service by front desk. He accomodated my request to give us a room with a nice view of civic center.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel is outdated

Posted Feb 1, 2017
The hotel is in need of updating and does not compare to the other Embassy Suites I have stayed in around the West. The mattresses were extremely hard, the maid service did not clean old coffee cups and plates from the room. The pillows also need to be upgraded. Compared to other Embassy Suites this experience was horrible. The breakfast was however good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

Ok but needs work

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Great location and parking. Room was dated....and floor not swept when we arrived. Good breakfast. Second time I stayed here....not sure worth the money to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet stay

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: It was quiet. Except for the waterfall in the atrium. We went down for happy hour and the sound was deafening, so we left.
Cons: Turn down the water flow on your waterfall. It's loud, we could hear it in our room.
Location: Location is great. Close to fine dining in San Rafael and San Anselmo. Short drive to wine country.
We were in the area to celebrate our nieces 50th birthday. In the past, before retirement, the company my husband worked for, Save Mart Supermarkets, would put us up at this hotel. We always enjoyed our stay there. Unfortunately, it looks as though it hasn't been updated since we first stayed there, many years ago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Perfect family hotel a short drive out of SF.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Everything worked well.
Cons: Maybe some fresh carpeting, tile, etc. While well-maintained and clean, it's clearly out of date by a couple of decades.
Location: Only a quick drive to San Francisco and all the wonderful things to do there.
Although from the decor it's clear the hotel was probably build in the late 1980s, they have kept it in immaculate shape and it functions really, really well. The staff was friendly, the layout was solid and the kids loved the indoor pool, complementary smorgasbord breakfast, etc. Perfect for kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento

Off the Freeway & not far from S.F.!

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Stayed here before & great place! Manager reception was great along with the free breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from folsom, ca

Easy access to so many places.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Our family loves staying here. The atrium is beautiful. The bed is so comfy! The sofa bed is not that comfy. You can feel rhe wires poking through. The happy hour is a really nice feature. The breakfast food is awesome but area is super crowded and food runs out quick. Maybe extend rhe breakfast time a little.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Extremely Cold

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Cons: Major Updating
We were given a room that had rust in the bath tub. The air conditioner went totally out. We had to move to another room. The air conditioner went out there. We had to move to a third room. All the hotel did was one night off. The hotel is very outdated and itt is very cold. I would not recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Rafael, CA

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pleasant room off the atrium, but a little dark. Good breakfast. Had to ask to have a prior occupant's dinner tray removed from outside the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by Izzy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that the experience did not meet your expectations and I would like to apologize for this. Please note that your comment has been passed on to our housekeeping management. Despite this, we hope to able to welcome you back on a return visit to Marin County.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lake tahoe

Check in and breakfast

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Checking in was overly slow as I watched clerk struggling with computer There was only person Working the front desk and other customers were also showing signs of impatience The complimentary breakfast could of been good except for the deadline of closing. We received our food at five minutes to ten, as we went to get condiments and drinks the whole kitchen shut down We could not even get a glass of water or a pack of ketchup That policy we found to be very unpleasant for our stay The rooms seem to be a little outdated then the quality we had seen previously in years past Overall c-
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by Izzy, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such candid feedback of our stay. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. We hope you can give us another chance and see you in the near future!