Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Great hotel at a great price . Only negative is a little bit of freeway noise but there are plenty of positives that make up for that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cold shower

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Small room. There was no hot water in the shower, but was in the sink. Very dirty outside. I would not rate it a 3 star at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
This is a motel, not a hotel. This was not apparently to us from the description we read. Car noise was heard from three sides sides of the room because we were on an "end" unit. The room was clean and that was the only good thing. The cleaning staff was very anxious to get in the room in the morning and began knocking on our door at 8:00 am on Sunday morning and continued to come back every few minutes ( no privacy hangers for doorknobs).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Convenient to freeway

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Had a nice quiet room in back. Love the decor and wood floors. Only thing sub par were the flat hard pillows
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Overall its ok

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Overall appearance
Location: Nothing to do in Novato, keep driving!
Overall its ok but not for the price. Dont be fooled with the free breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A hidden gem

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Great value for the money. Clean. Convenient. Great room service (limited hours) and a nice continental breakfast in the morning. Lovely gardens.
Cons: Freeway noise was a bit loud for my tastes. Next time, I'll bring earplugs. Also, a second choice of coffee for the in-room Keurig would be great.
Location: Close to Freeway and downtown Novato. Close to 24-hr Safeway.
I was pleasantly surprised by my recent stay at Inn Marin. Though I've driven by for more than twenty years, I never had a reason to stay here until recently. All I can say is this quickly became one of my favorite local hotels. My room was charming, spotless, and comfortable. It had two doors to the outside and parking right outside one of them --a great boon for anyone traveling with a lot of luggage. The bathroom--though small--was also spotless. The beds were comfortable and clean. I stayed here with my puppy and the pet fee was only $20 per night and rules for what would incur additional costs were clearly spelled out and very easy to follow. The place is a little older, but well maintained. I ordered room service from the restaurant and had the salmon with potatoes. My dish was excellent and just the right amount of food. As a woman traveling alone, I felt comfortable staying here and even though it is right off of the freeway, I felt like I was in a different world. A 24-hour Safeway is just on the other side of the freeway for any sundries needed. In the morning, when I went in for breakfast, I saw the other, more elegant side of the property and it is beautiful, with well tended gardens, a fountain, and a pool. For dog owners the pluses include several places to walk your dog and hardwood floors which are much easier to clean quickly in the event of an accident. I definitely plan to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good Marin location

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: The weird shower, there was no holder for the hand held shower, it made it tough to wash my hair😞
Location: I went to Rancho Nicasio to hear music.
An easy place to find in Marin County. It is close to the freeway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nice, refurbished, older motel

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Convenient location; clean rooms.
Cons: Staff needs to be able to give good, clear directions to the location.
Location: Near downtown Novato, a picturesque town with great restaurants. About 20 minutes from Sausalito, which is on the water and has superb restaurants.
This is a very nice refurbished motel. It was originally built in the late 1940s, but the rooms have been entirely updated with wooden floors, redone baths, etc. It has a nice grassy area near the pool and between the buildings where your pets can run. It is pet friendly and has pet walking areas. While smoke free, it has a smoking pavilion outside. The rooms were spotless and the beds were comfortable. The free continental breakfast is fine. We did not eat dinner in Rickey's, the attached restaurant, but you can check it out on Yelp or Trip Advisor. My only complaint was the staff could not tell me how to get there when I got lost coming from the South out of San Francisco. I expect they will take care of this as I informed the manager of this fact when I left and she said she would take care of it. My wife and I and our two sons were there for a wedding in Marin County and all enjoyed our stay. It is expensive, but not as expensive as most other places in Marin County, which is one of the more expensive counties in the country. We would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

2 night stay...

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Clean well presented rooms, good shower, comfy beds, all value for money. Lovely pool area. Breakfast very disappointing, not my idea of a continental breakfast. But would definitely stay again. Reception staff would benefit from from customer service training, and tourist knowledge of the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2016
Room was comfortable and pleasing. Older property and the grounds were lovely.