Ratings based on 415 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Family Hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Loved the bbq & seating areas! Felt safe & relaxing! Rooms were very spacious & really liked the option of gas BBQing or cooking in the kitchen in our room! Will definitely come back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We realize you have choices when selecting a hotel and we are thankful in having the opportunity to be your lodging partner. We look forward to seeing you again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Close to town

Posted Nov 21, 2016
We really were surprised by our room. We were happy to see a full size fridge and beautiful shower! The shower was either super hot or super cold though. Also there was a very dirty towel left behind the door housekeeping did not get. Other than that this was a beautiful place to stay! There was a pool, hot tub, outdoor furniture and hang out spots. We were close to San Fran and Muir Woods. We will definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. The housekeeping department will be copied on your review. All our rooms should exceed our guest standards. Unfortunately, we did not meet yours. We realize you have choices when selecting a hotel and we are thankful in having the opportunity to be your lodging partner. We look forward to seeing you again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

unusual location

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Entrance to property difficult; had to request functional room keys three times; loud freeway noise; elevator barely functioning
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The room was as advertised and clean.
It is not the Four Seasons but it is a great place to stay. The rooms are clean, the property is well kept and the free breakfast is good. for the price we paid I will stay here every time we visit San Francisco. It is only about 15 minutes from the Golden Gate bridge and has easy access to the freeway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We realize you have choices when selecting a hotel and we are thankful in having the opportunity to be your lodging partner. We look forward to seeing you again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cortes Madera

Needs a lot of updating

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: It was quiet and had a nice courtyard in the middle of the facility.
Cons: When you advertise a hot breakfast, it should include hot entries. The portable AC unit did not cool down the room and was stifling hot.
No central air, poor breakfast options, rundown, no elevator, nonworking hot tub.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Matthew, Hotel Management
We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. The spa and elevator were out of order and regret any inconvenience it may have cause you. The spa is in the process of being plastered and the elevator is waiting on a part. Our breakfast is complimentary and we try to have something for everyone. We do not advertise a hot breakfast or that we cook to order, We apologize that you felt mislead. We realize you have choices when selecting a hotel and we are thankful in having the opportunity to be your lodging partner.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Wonderful stay

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Extremely comfortable room. Super nice staff. Walkable to bookstore and a restaurant. Portable fans in room, one an a/c combo. Hot tub not working, nor was elevator. Good breakfast. Need signage to lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Our spa is being plastered and we are replacing the cylinder of the elevator. We apologize for any inconvenience. We realize you have choices when selecting a hotel and we are thankful in having the opportunity to be your lodging partner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Rooms Are Not Airconditioned!!

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Nice hotel with a green space in the central courtyard. Room was clean. Comfortable bed. First rate breakfast included. Free parking on site. My only complaint is that the rooms are not air conditioned. They had some sort of fan in the room with a water reservoir that was supposed to cool the air. It didn't work. Phoned the front desk and she told us to put ice cubes in the water reservoir. We did that. No change. Got up to 35C that day. Room was very uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Yes, without having air conditioning on hot days can become a little uncomfortable. We should had made sure your portable cooler was on and we had your room blacked out. We realize you have choices when selecting a hotel. We enjoy having the opportunity to be your lodging partner. We hope that you will give us another try.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Big rooms,clean,and nice staff
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Good shopping and restaurants.
We loved the location because there were lots of walking paths close to the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We realize you have choices when selecting a hotel. We enjoy having the opportunity to be your lodging partner.
4 out of 5
by Christopher

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
We got a free upgrade to a suite....it was a great room. We were looking for an inexpensive place for a quick trip to Mill Valley to visit with some old friends at dinner. The Marin Suites was a great fit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! We realize you have choices when selecting a hotel. We enjoy having the opportunity to be your lodging partner. We look forward to seeing you again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Nice hotel with a relaxing hot tub and a pool. A lot of space in the suite with a kitchen, dining room, living room and 2 bedrooms. Perfect for a family of 5.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! We realize you have choices when selecting a hotel. We enjoy having the opportunity to be your lodging partner. We look forward to seeing you again!