Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Delightful!

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: We were tired from having flown in from Newark, and wanted a seafood restaurant that we could walk to. The same young woman suggested The Trident.
The young woman at reception was most pleasant and helped us downstairs with our bags. She told us to be sure to come up to the lobby for wine & cheese at 5pm, which we did. The room was delightful, with a comfortable bed, a fireplace and plenty of closet space and hangars. Complimentary breakfast the next morning was excellent; 3 kind of cereal, hard-boiled eggs,fresh pineapple, mango and cantaloupe,bagels,yoghurt and very good coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location for a wonderful stay

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: The Gables is very easy to find and is steps away from the waterfront and all the restaurants and shops. It has a great history and the layout is amusing, it is not for people afraid of some stairs. Charming! The breakfast is perfect in the lobby and the wine & cheese in the early evening is a wonderful touch.
Cons: Everything was perfect - although air conditioning is not usually needed in this area, it did get a bit warm,. The floor fan made sleeping on the comfy beds very easy!
Location: Everything in Sausalito is within walking distance: the restaurants, shops, galleries and the marina where the ferry lands and where tours leave from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Excellent location and wonderful, kind, staff.
Cons: The shower in the claw footed bath should go - very challenging to get in and out, and not real safe, as there was nothing to hold on to.
Location: Right in the heart of Sausalito.
We ended up staying in 3 different rooms during our stay. If you go, choose an upper level room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pleasant place with wine provided as a welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in Sausalito

Posted Oct 21, 2016
We stayed here one night on a rainy weekend and had a great time. We were able to walk everywhere we needed to go day and night...breakfast, coffee, hiking, lunch, ferry to SF, dinner, and drinks, without ever putting on a seat belt. We look forward to staying here again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location, breakfast, room size
Cons: Better customer knowledge and service
We stayed two nights at the Gables. I always choose this hotel for the value relative to location. Every time I have been there, I am greeted with a new staff. They say the right words but it is evident that they are inexperienced in hotel customer service as the first item of any day is to make ME feel welcomed and at home. The front office staff never looks up to smile, greet, or engage I requested two nights in the same room as I had to book separately. The reservations were made 3 wks in advance and no one bothered to link nor make this happen. I consider this failure on managements part to know their bookings and how to accommodate their guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charlotte, nc

It makes you feel at home!!

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: It is very cozy! The location is great and you can walk around Sausalito!
Cons: I liked everything about this hotel
Location: You can walk around Sausalito and visit all the art galleries!
The location is great! The rooms are big and very comfortable. You feel right at home! Everything is clean and eell equiped!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New love

Posted Oct 15, 2016
I have never stayed the night in Sausalito but previously passed through. My boyfriend and I decided to stay a night before a trip to the city. We were pleasantly surprised by the charm and price. I was in love with the view and ambiance of the hotel. Upon check in we got upgraded to a larger room with a view. The hotel staff were knowledge about the area and recommend a good restaurant for dinner. The complimentary wine and cheese and continental breakfast were just as good as on the website. I would like to stay again for a few more night with better weather next time. This was my best experience on Expedia.com. Highly recommended it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Had a very nice welcome with a cheese and wine bar
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location, but needs updating

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Location is great
Cons: The facilities are dated and thread-bare. The carpet was very dirty and stained, the lamp shades were torn, the shades did not work well.
Great location, but over-priced considering the 'worn out' look of the hotel and room.