Ratings based on 437 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant, but a few drawbacks

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Pleasant ambience, and quiet and well located. Extremely comfortable bed!
Cons: Staff attention at breakfast. Pad the protruding bed frame!
Property was well maintained and pleasant. Nice evening wine and hors d'oevres. Bed had a wooden frame that stuck out in a tight corner of the room and caused middle of the night shin damage! Shower in the tub was very difficult to use safely. Staff at breakfast stayed behind the desk and made no attempt to help clear tables, and we had to bus dishes and clean a table in order to eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

Central location with easy walks.

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The shower valve needs to be replaced. It was a good thing that I married to a plumbers daughter
Location: Muir Woods, Stinson Beach easy trip to San Francisco
Spacious rooms. Ours had a private patio where we enjoyed a game of cribbage and a cocktail before dinner. Wine, and assorted cheeses where offered in the early evening. While parking was available, it was however a little snug. We are sort of local people living 40 miles away but enjoyed our 2 days away. A great mini vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Nice cozy little hotel. Excellent location.

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Great overall experience if what you want is a small b&b style hotel. Staff was very nice. Our room (upper level w/fireplace) was excellent. Only problem is that the mattress was old style and squeaky.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach, close to downtown. Very quiet.

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable, friendly staff. Good location.
Cons: Direction help. Not sure if other rooms can smell the firewood.
Location: Walking distance to everything.
Arrived on Christmas eve. Use Google map guided us through winding narrow road, because Christmas, not fun driving passing a lot of cars parking aside the road. Next time will take the main road. $20 parking. We stayed at cypress room next to the Reception, next to the main road. Glad not too noise from the road, neither from breakfast. The floor is wood, old furniture. Clean and nice bedding and bath room accessories. My hubby was allergic to the firewood which we can smell in our room. When he woke up, his nose totally blocked. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was simple, I like the boiling eggs. Thanks for staff working on Christmas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Worth, TX

Quaint and very Sausalito

Posted Dec 26, 2016
A quaint little Inn close to most everything. Very charming staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento

our go to place

Posted Dec 19, 2016
This was our 5th time staying. They always take good care of us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel with hidden extras

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Very convenient for harbourside, shops and restaurants
Extremely comfortable stay. Cheese and wine served pre-dinner where guests were encouraged to mingle. Excellent breakfast again allowing the opportunity to converse with fellow travellers. Nice touch. Nothing was too much trouble.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing start to our California holiday

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: It's location
Cons: Standard of room decor, sanitary fittings, and staff attitude.
Location: Sausalito is a beautiful seaside town opposite the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco.
We arrived after a long flight looking forward to a welcoming overnight stay but were met by a disinterested member of staff at the desk who seemed that he would rather be elsewhere. The room, which did have the lovely views of SF from the balcony looked very tired with a heavily stained carpet and the sink had a very noticeable stained crack in it. Hot water came from both taps and with only some delicate juggling did we manage to elicit lukewarm water from the cold tap. We had a bit of trouble sorting the tv out and the member of staff on the desk said he 'didn't know anything about them'. The bed was very comfortable but we were disappointed to find that the tea and coffee etc were not complementary. Next morning, at breakfast,we were totally ignored as we walked past the reception desk and no guidance was forthcoming on what was available. Although it was on display, it would've been nice to have received a little guided tour especially as some things arrived after we had nearly finished. It was however a good selection of continental dishes and the decor in the dining area was pleasant. All in all an overwhelming disappointment in the ambience and standard of room decor and facilities of The Gables Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston

charming B&B; great location

Posted Dec 3, 2016
This is a charming B&B at a great location just steps from Sausalito's boardwalk. Ask for one of the rooms with a view out over the bay. We loved watching the sun rise behind San Francisco in the early morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Perfect location in Sausalito

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Staff, location, and wine/cheese and breakfast
Cons: Our tub didn't work properly
Location: Biking and hiking
The gentleman who greeted us was helpful and friendly. He helped us plan our bike in SF. Loved the wine and cheese in the evening and breakfast in the morning. Sausalito is a wonderful town!