Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach, close to downtown. Very quiet.

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable, friendly staff. Good location.
Cons: Direction help. Not sure if other rooms can smell the firewood.
Location: Walking distance to everything.
Arrived on Christmas eve. Use Google map guided us through winding narrow road, because Christmas, not fun driving passing a lot of cars parking aside the road. Next time will take the main road. $20 parking. We stayed at cypress room next to the Reception, next to the main road. Glad not too noise from the road, neither from breakfast. The floor is wood, old furniture. Clean and nice bedding and bath room accessories. My hubby was allergic to the firewood which we can smell in our room. When he woke up, his nose totally blocked. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was simple, I like the boiling eggs. Thanks for staff working on Christmas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Worth, TX

Quaint and very Sausalito

Posted Dec 26, 2016
A quaint little Inn close to most everything. Very charming staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento

our go to place

Posted Dec 19, 2016
This was our 5th time staying. They always take good care of us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel with hidden extras

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Very convenient for harbourside, shops and restaurants
Extremely comfortable stay. Cheese and wine served pre-dinner where guests were encouraged to mingle. Excellent breakfast again allowing the opportunity to converse with fellow travellers. Nice touch. Nothing was too much trouble.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing start to our California holiday

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: It's location
Cons: Standard of room decor, sanitary fittings, and staff attitude.
Location: Sausalito is a beautiful seaside town opposite the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco.
We arrived after a long flight looking forward to a welcoming overnight stay but were met by a disinterested member of staff at the desk who seemed that he would rather be elsewhere. The room, which did have the lovely views of SF from the balcony looked very tired with a heavily stained carpet and the sink had a very noticeable stained crack in it. Hot water came from both taps and with only some delicate juggling did we manage to elicit lukewarm water from the cold tap. We had a bit of trouble sorting the tv out and the member of staff on the desk said he 'didn't know anything about them'. The bed was very comfortable but we were disappointed to find that the tea and coffee etc were not complementary. Next morning, at breakfast,we were totally ignored as we walked past the reception desk and no guidance was forthcoming on what was available. Although it was on display, it would've been nice to have received a little guided tour especially as some things arrived after we had nearly finished. It was however a good selection of continental dishes and the decor in the dining area was pleasant. All in all an overwhelming disappointment in the ambience and standard of room decor and facilities of The Gables Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston

charming B&B; great location

Posted Dec 3, 2016
This is a charming B&B at a great location just steps from Sausalito's boardwalk. Ask for one of the rooms with a view out over the bay. We loved watching the sun rise behind San Francisco in the early morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great place to rid yourself of any stress

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Location: Walk Walk Walk.....everything is great
Fabulous views of SFO .....Unbelievably FRIENDLY staff....and GREAT breakfast everyday...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful!

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Location: Many shops and restaurants to choose from only one back away.
Upon our arrival, our room was upgraded. the room we checked into was beautiful. Had a gorgeous view of the ocean, a balcony to sit out on and a fireplace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Charming hotel great location. Traveled alone and i was comfortable at wine and cheese time and breakfast chatting with other guests. Cozy homey feel. Updating could be done with recovering couches in room, carpet and shower, but liked cotton blankets with option to use down comforter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The room was comfortable without excellent view
Cons: One of our windows was missing a window covering. We could be fully relaxed in a room that was like a fishbowl no robes were provided. We were provided with those pod coffee makers but cups too small for the device.
Location: The great location in downtown Sausalito plenty of shops and restaurants. You're not far from the Marin headlands in Tiburon which are also great.