Ratings based on 462 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Loved the location! Very welcoming atmosphere!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Enjoyed the location for running and exercise plus easy walk to a variety of restaurants. Staff and other guests were very considerate and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I would love to stay there again!

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Close to restraints and stores and bay. Great to walk everywhere!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Cozy hotel with views and lots of character.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Great little hotel, close to everything in Sausalito. We stayed in the willow Room which was quaint and comfortable. Nice little deck with views of the bay by day and San Francisco skyline by night. Nice continental breakfast, private parking, comfortable lobby and courtyard. Happy hour in the afternoon but we were at dinner and missed it. As far as drawbacks, the beds could have been more comfortable but were adequate. Staff was cordial but not very engaging for the hospitality industry. Because the hotel is smaller, old and quaint there is some loss of privacy such as on the balcony deck. You can literally be six feet from others staying in adjoining rooms. Overall very nice place and well maintained. 50 yards from Starbucks, shopping and well know restaurants. Nice for a romantic stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Posted Apr 4, 2017
I had a low price room but still enjoyed the location And facility. My room was a bit worn out. Staff was friendly and breakfast was fresh and delicious. I would stay again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location & comfy, but some shortcomings

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Nice lobby and pretty outdoor spaces, clean, comfy bed
Cons: The bathroom in the Juniper Room needs adjustments
Location: The Barrel House restaurant was lovely, cocktails not he patio at the Trident at dusk was delightful.
We stayed in the Juniper room. Getting to the room was a bit awkward, steep stairs had to be navigated. The charming young woman at the front desk offered to carry our luggage. Room was lovely: very comfortable bed & luxurious linens. Bathroom was not as comfortable. A very bright light turned on automatically when you entered, rather blinding late at night. The shower was another experience. It had a rounded claw footed tub, pretty and ok for a bath, but taking a shower in it was outright dangerous! Hot water was very touchy to adjust, and no place to put soap or shampoo. In the morning we entered the lovely lobby for breakfast, to find no one there and empty coffee for quite a long time until my husband finally went downstairs to request coffee. The buffet was fairly nice aside from that. I called the front desk several times to ask what time checkout was as it was not posted in the room, but no one ever answered,.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Torquay

Beautiful guest house in great position.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Convenient position. Staff very helpful
Cons: New bed.
Location: Close to ferry terminal, restaurants and shops.
Central position; great staff; breakfast fresh and sumptuous; cheese and wine a lovely touch. Bed , while beautifully presented, had a wear hole in the middle - to which you rolled!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Good staff and 2nd time I have stayed. We will be back for another visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Broken Thermostat equals bad night sleep

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Upon check in staff was nice, accommodating, and helped with our parking challenges. (we have a large truck) Breakfast the next day was excellent.
Hotel was nice, breakfast was great, but the room's thermostat did not work correctly. Heater was stuck on for much of the night, room was 83 degrees according to the thermostat and the heater wouldn't turn off. We had to open all windows and the front door to attempt to cool down the room and sleep. This was in March. We called the emergency number in the middle of the night but nobody was able to help. We ended up sleeping some when the room cooled off - but were very disappointed considering the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very nice suprise

Posted Feb 28, 2017
We altered the last day of our trip to stay in Sausalito so we didn't do a lot of research and trusted the ratings and we were well rewarded. The Gables Inn is what would happen if a nice hotel and a great B&B had a kid :-). Also in a perfect location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant, but a few drawbacks

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Pleasant ambience, and quiet and well located. Extremely comfortable bed!
Cons: Staff attention at breakfast. Pad the protruding bed frame!
Property was well maintained and pleasant. Nice evening wine and hors d'oevres. Bed had a wooden frame that stuck out in a tight corner of the room and caused middle of the night shin damage! Shower in the tub was very difficult to use safely. Staff at breakfast stayed behind the desk and made no attempt to help clear tables, and we had to bus dishes and clean a table in order to eat.