Ratings based on 361 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Nice Place

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Porch view, large comfy room.
Cons: Parking, but not sure you can really do anything about that.
Location: Location was very accessible to shopping and restaurants.
Very comfortable room with nice porch with view of bay and San Fran. Room was large and quite comfy. The porch was a wonderful place to sip morning coffee and enjoy the cool mornings. Great place to stay. The only down side was no elevator, but we were not inconvenienced....the staff gladly carried our bags to the room. Parking is at a premium......small lot, and it's $20/day. Very convenient to all shopping and restaurants. Gables Inn is a keeper!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room with patio.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, and amenities.
Cons: Windows work better.
Location: Shopping, site seeing, easy jaunts to beaches, Golden Gate and hiking in Marin.
Great location for walking to shops, restaurants, and site seeing. Nice breakfast and wine and cheese hour. Quiet at night. Only thing I missed is a pool, but space does not allow. Quaint and comfy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Paid twice as much as I should have!

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Beautiful view, nice clean room
Cons: Make clients feel happy with their choice, and eager to return on future visits - I will not.
Location: Fantastic location - that is why I chose this hotel
I booked through expedia, due to a error, the dates were booked one week ahead of my scheduled trip. Obviously, I didn't know until after the fact. I called Expedia, and the hotel would make no accommodations or discount when I rebooked for the correct date. So then I had to pay for a higher priced room, resulting in double charges. Was this hotel worth over $600 for one night? Certainly not...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice bed & breakfast - near everything

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Proximity to everything in town of Sausalito. Staff was very helpful. Continental breakfast.
Location: Since they are right in the town of Sausalito you are just steps away from the shops and food. The ferry to SF is just steps away as well.
Enjoyed staying at the Gables. The staff was extremely helpful and cooperative. The rooms were clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very nice hotel located in the heart of downtown

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Room was beautiful, staff was excellent, customer service was superb!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely inn set in the heart of everything

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Loved taking our coffee and croissants out onto our patio each morning. Walked to loads of unique shops and lovely restaurants (plus Starbucks and ice cream) or just along the boardwalk to admire the beautiful San Francisco skyline across the bay... Sailboats and fishermen. Just exactly they way we wanted to spend the weekend. Plus Muir Woods and the Marine Mammal Rescue center were a short drive away. Staff was gracious, helpful and always easy to find. Would gladly return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Romantic hotel right in the middle of everything.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was my favorite part. Lots of fresh options to choose from.
Cons: Bellhop or a tour of the room would have been great, I was pretty claustrophobic until I figured out how to get the windows open, thermo not working.
Location: Right in the middle of things; the ferry, the marina, restaurants and adorable shops all within easy walking distance.
Staff was welcoming and friendly, room was quite stuffy and cavelike due to it's cling-to-the-hill-sort-of-underground location but was decorated nicely and very clean, I never could figure out how to make the air work and ended up forcing open the windows which was much better. Breakfast was outstanding. Romantic but not overly frilly, I think I'll bring the husband along next time. The $20 parking fee was rather offensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Ca

Quaint inn, but noise is serious issue.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Charming, close to shops and restaurants.
Cons: Parking, NOISE!
Location: Near Marin Headlands.
This is a cute, quaint looking inn. Lobby and room are nice looking. My wife loved the fireplace in the room. Very close to shops and restaurants. Front desk staff is pleasant. But the inn needs some maintenance. Carpets are stained throughout and our shower faucet was not working properly and needed repair. Had to figure out how to get the water to turn off. Not what I expect from a $300 per night "inn". The inn doesn't have enough parking for their guests so we had to park in someone else's garage down the block that the inn directed us to. They also charge $20 per night for parking. This is ridiculous when you are parking on their property. Breakfast is just continental but they have good nightly wine and cheese. But the big problem we had is the noise in the room. During the night it was quite loud from the room above us. It sounded like a herd of elephants every time someone walked in the room above us. Even worse is from about 7am until 8:30am the staff is extremely loud setting up the breakfast. It sounded like they were dropping plates all over and making A LOT of noise constantly during that time. I can't imagine what could make that much noise. It was impossible to sleep during that time. I found this extremely disrespectful of their guests. I'd like to give this place a positive review but with that kind of noise I just can't. Maybe other rooms are better? I won't stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grass Valley

What a great place!

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, first class breakfast and wine and cheese.
Location: The hotel is located about 100 feet from the shops of Sausalito and the waterfront. Very shot walk to the ferry to SF.
Spent 2 nights there for my wife's birthday. Lady who checked us in was so nice, got in around 9pm, tired from traffic, and since we missed wine and cheese hour, she poured us 2 glasses of wine so we could unwind. Then I discovered I had forgot my phone charger, so she lent us her own charger for the 2 days. She, being born and raised in Sausalito, gave us great tips on what to see and where to eat. And did I mention the great breakfast spread, all first class. The wine and cheese was also first class with many other things to munch on. If you want a great experience in a first class hotel, this is the place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful little hotel, just off the beaten path.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Comfortable and spacious rooms. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful.