Ratings based on 926 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A diamond in the ruff!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Great staff, great location, clean rooms. We enjoyed our stay a little skeptical because it was a no name hotel but it exceeded our expectations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by JH, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It is so great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! The entire staff takes pride in providing the best possible experience for visitors to the Marina del Rey Hotel and we appreciate the feedback. We will look forward to seeing you next time! Warm regards, Jose
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Views, Nice Rooms & Not So Friendly Staff

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Great views! Upon checking in, the staff seemed very hurried and almost annoyed to answer any questions. We were pleasantly surprised by the rooms. Loved the colors used for the remodeled bathrooms. The beds were super comfy. We decided to hang out by the pool for a few drinks and dinner the night of the arrival. The hotel restaurant, Salt, came highly recommended by the hotel staff. The food was not very good and over priced. Service was non existent. We had to walk up to the bar to place our orders. The bartender seemed like he was in the "weeds" the entire night, but the restaurant was not super busy. It took him four times to get our bill correct and then eventuality apologized and offered a drink on the house due to all the errors and chaos. Best thing about the hotel was the views of the marina and the comfortable beds, just not enough to have me stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Kayla Luskin, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience. The entire staff takes pride in providing the best possible experience for our guests and I regret deeply that you did not have the pleasure of enjoying our staff's service. I certainly hope that we can invite you back in the future to truly enjoy the five-star service our guests have come expect. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marina del Rey

Perhaps the best hotel location in LA

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Right on the water, nice sized balcony, impeccably clean and modern, comfy bed, nicely decorated, great marina view, strong shower & very open feel.
Cons: The restaurant (SALT) is hideous. Service is some of the worst we've ever encountered. There is no sundries shop.
Location: Luckily, a short walk takes you to a small, very upscale shopping center. A little further takes you to the quaint Fisherman's Village and the jetty.
Moving back to Marina del Rey after several years in Northern CA. Stayed here while looking for an apartment. Being a former local, I already knew that this was a good place to stay, and that I should get a "Marina View" room. The hotel sits on the tip of a jetty at the central hub of the largest man-made, marina in the world. It is truly, Disneyland for water people. Lots to do and see. Two basins over is a great company that rents everything from sailboats to paddle-boards to jet skis to Duffy electric boats.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Kayla Luskin, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! It's so great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we certainly hope to welcome you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Beautiful views, close to great restaurants

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Private decks with a great view. Nice pool area and comfortable outdoor bar.
Location: Venice beach, Santa Monica Pier and great restaurants nearby. Great biking trails.
Enjoyed the bike rentals....Easy biking paths that "go" forever. Awesome views every where and fun restaurants along the ride !
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by JH, Hotel Management
Dear John, It is so great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us!  The entire staff takes pride in providing the best possible experience for visitors to the Marina del Rey Hotel and we appreciate the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great Hotel, but...

Posted Jul 7, 2017
This Hotel has a lot of positives- great location, really attentive staff, nice pool. One thing to take note of: they do open their pool area up to paying patrons every Sunday, and the pool and adjacent area gets crowded and can be loud.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by JH, Hotel Management
Dear A.B, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marina del Rey Hotel.  The entire staff takes pride in providing the best possible experience for our guests. We are happy to hear that your stay was pleasant and appreciate your feedback concerning our Sunday Pool Party. Please know that we value your feedback that will allow us to improve for our future guest. We look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, Jose
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T.I., FL

Great Hotel close to the Airport!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Everything! The food was fabulous, and the bed super comfortable!
Everything was perfect! From the Hotel staff, the view from our room, the pool, the bedding, the food in the restaurant and it was super clean and updated!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Kayla Luskin, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here and hope to welcome you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beutiful view right on the marina

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Amenities withing walking distance Free shuttle to beach, Abott Kenny blvd., Venice Beach
The view was fantastic as was the staff Free shuttle to beach and Abott Kenny blvd. Amenities within walking distance Great Pool and hot tub Spacious rooms c/w safe and bar fridge
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Kayla Luskin, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful hotel, great staff

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Location, decor, staff
Location: venice beach, biking, strolling, amusement park, restaurants
All around great experience - couldn't have been more pleased
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Kayla Luskin, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay! Hope to welcome you back again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Nice hotel and great staff but...

Posted May 28, 2017
Cons: Food
Hotel staff are very friendly and attentive. The facility and rooms were excellent. The food quality did not match the quality of the hotel. We stayed 4 days and ate 4 different meals and they were all average. The hotel hosted an event which ran till 11:00pm outdoors with very very loud music. We were shocked that the hotel would hold an event like that while hosting many other guests unassociated to the event. I will never go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Kayla Luskin, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I apologize that the food was not to your liking. SALT is very well known and loved by many, I regret that your experience was not to this level. As for the pool event, this does only take place over the summer (late May-early September) from 11am-6pm. I will absolutely share your feedback with our team to aid in improvement and better management of outside guests during this time. If you should wish to return, I remain at your service to assist in any way we can!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Hotel

Posted May 23, 2017
Easy 4 to 5 stars, the hotel staff is extremely friendly and the valet is quick and easy to use.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay! We hope to welcome you back again soon!