Ratings based on 2,135 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok hotel but over priced for what you get,

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: convenient to what marine district and what we needed easy access to golden gate bridge
Cons: most everything
Location: golden gate bridge, fishermans warf, presidio, marina district,cow hollow,pacific heights
tv did not work the whole stay. asked for assistance several times each day but was ignored or made promices that were not kept. Parking is limited, so you take your car out hoping there will be a space when you return. cars were parked s close to ours that we could not get in to the car. had to wait for them to have owners move cars
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Although we are pleased that you enjoyed our location we are sorry that there were some elements of your stay that you were so unhappy with. We apologize that your TV was not working and we are very sorry that our team was not able to take care of this for you. We have since fixed the problem, and we are so sorry that this was an inconvenience for you. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Good Location

Posted Jun 24, 2017
We stayed at the Buena Vista three nights while in San Francisco. The location was great...hotel not so great. It was pretty outdated and was even missing a smoke detector with only wires showing. The outdoor sitting area is about the only thing that was a bonus here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently. We do occupy an older building, but we work very hard to maintain and clean it to the very highest possible standard, and we trust that you found your room to be clean. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we really appreciate it. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Nice hotel. Free Parking.

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: free parking
Cons: our room did not have refrigerator
Location: We enjoyed walking for exercise to Pier 39. We could also take the Hop On & OFF Tour Bus which stops at the hotel.
We stayed 3 nights. We typically left our SUV in its free parking spot in the garage. The Tour Bus stops in front of hotel. We walked to Pier 39, restaurants, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and found its location so convenient for your trip. It is a fantastic base from which to explore the city! We do hope you will stay with us again next time you are in San Francisco. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Was dirty, had alcohol bottles under the beds etc. Slightly updated, breakfast was decent with muffins and fruit. Free parking was a nice change and was relatively close to most attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We pleased to read that you enjoyed aspects of your stay - our breakfast, our location, and our parking facility. Our staff is very good at preparing the room thoroughly before the guests arrive, so it is strange that we overlooked underneath your bed. Please accept my sincere apologies. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to give you a wonderful stay here. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy and clean

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Small hotel, very clean small rooms, bed were comfortable, extra for mini fridege and no microwave. Big TV. Limited parking but staff did offered to give up their parking space. Did Uber undead. Staff very nice. Not really walking distance to attractions but still in safe tourist area. Small continental breakfast. We had a good experience specially it was quiet. A lot of tourists and not party people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, and thank you for your review! We are delighted that we provided you with such suitable accommodation for your stay in the city, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We are always delighted to receive positive feedback in relation to our staff, so thank you very much for that! We hope that you will contact us to reserve a room when you are next visiting the city. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

Posted May 30, 2017
The facilities are old. But the breakfast and the parking space is a plus. The sun room and the patio is also very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Whilst we do have an older building, we trust that you found our hotel to be clean, and well maintained, and it's good to hear that you made some time to enjoy relaxing in the sunroom and our patio. We appreciate your business, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future. Best wishes, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
3rd stay here.. Still a great location and price.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review, we are delighted to hear from our repeat customers and are thrilled to hear that you were, once again, pleased with our services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2017
Great location. Clean. Very unprofessional uninviting young female when checking in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your review; we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and our clean and well-maintained facilities. We are, however, disappointed to note that you did not find all of our staff to be polite and friendly and we will discuss this with our front desk team to ensure it does not happen again. We hope this will not deter you from staying with us again. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good location

Posted May 20, 2017
We had an ok time staying at the Buena Vista Motor Inn. Some of the staff were really friendly and others not so much. The room was spacious, shower had no pressure, comfortable bed, room and hotel had a strange smell. Our room was right next to the elevator and stairs, which means we were woken up with guests talking so loud at 12am and then again at 5am, I would recommend a room as far away from the elavator as possible.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your detailed review; we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and comfortable beds.We are very sorry that you were inconvenienced by noise from guests coming from our elevator, next time you stay, please do request a room away from the elevator and we would be happy to oblige. Thank you so much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel the next time you are in the area. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Nice hotel in walking distance to the wharf area.

Posted May 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The free parking. Nice that breakfast is included. The location is good.
Cons: The sink for some reason was very low to the ground.
I have stayed here twice. I like the location. The price is reasonable. The best feature is the free parking. The staff is friendly enough, but nothing remarkable. They offer free breakfast. Cereal, fruit, yogurt, donuts. Rooms are older, but have been updated and are clean.