Ratings based on 1,797 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Nice hotel for a quick trip

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Small refrigerator in room.
Location: Many small restaurants and clothing shops within walking distance. Good area for walking during the day hours to Marina and Presidio areas
Hotel on main busy street with a beer garden and bars near by. I was on top floor but sound proofing in the rooms muffled the sounds. Not totally quiet but slight sound did not keep me from sleeping. I had a nice room. It was very clean and comfortable and perfect location for my activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Good value

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Size of room and location.
Cons: All was good. Maybe a room not facing Fillmore.
Our room had 2 queen beds and was spacious and comfortable with updated decor. I was initially concerned about the noise from the huge lively bar across from our room but ear plugs solved that. For SF, it was an excellent bargain and included free parking - the first for us after many stays in SF. My husband said he would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Noisy but convenient

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Ideal if you are in a road trip and need somewhere with good free parking. Rooms are very clean furnished in an old fashioned style. Plenty of hot water. Good WiFi. The only drawback for us was the traffic noise as it is in the corner of Lombard and Fillmore. Recommend Mel's diner just along the street for breakfast and Eastwest a bar one block up on Fillmore.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great hotel!

Posted Oct 8, 2017
My group spent three nights at the Chelsea Inn. It was a great choice for us; very nice rooms, super clean, affordable, and a terrific location. The location is in the Marina District and very central. We used Uber to get around and everything was just a short ride away. Chestnut Street, which is a block away, is filled with restaurants and great shops. When we come back to San Francisco, we will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

Recommended

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Easy access. Free parking. Clean, updated rooms. It is on Lombard, so there will be traffic noise and music from nearby bars. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from japan

Clean, comfortable, good location.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros Clean room, bathroom, enough amenities and towels. There are many plugs so I could charge iPhone, MacBook, Apple Watch,,, at the same time. And there are also many lights like stand light and desk light. So you can control them as you are confortable. Security box and iron was also good. I could work on the comfortable desk and chair. Cons There is no fridge. But it doesn't matter because there are many cafe or restaurants arround there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prince George, BC, Canada

Great place to stay!

Posted Oct 5, 2017
The hotel was great! The location was excellent. Just a 15 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and to Crissy Beach. The hotel was located close to lots of restaurants. I would highly recommend staying here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles.

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Comfort and cleanness. .
Cons: Refrigerator and microwave.
Location: Center of San Francisco. Easy access to most interesting places.
Close to most interesting places in San Francisco. Good public transportation in the neighborhood. Easy access to the hotel. Room spacious and cozy. Bathroom very nice and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glendale Arizona

Celebrating our 33 rd wedding anniversary

Posted Sep 28, 2017
At first i thought i was nervous when we arrived to Chelsea because this was our first time in San Francisco, but when being greeted by the front desk everything changed. Every time we asked for assistance staff were always eager to help. We would definitely return and recommend Chelsea Inn as where to stay while in San Francisco. It was perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Very clean, spacious room. Good facilities. Friendly, helpful staff.