Ratings based on 1,489 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Friendly helpful staff, daily breakfast
Cons: as above suggest the name be reconsidered as it seemed to confuse many of the taxi and shuttle drivers we used.
Location: Great diner on Chestnut St by Van Ness, laundry on opposite corner
The naming of the hotel 'By the Bay' seemed to confuse numerous taxi and shuttle drivers, even though we stipulated the street address of 1450 Lombard several drivers either were late picking us up as they went to the wrong one or tried to drop us off or collect us from the other Travelodge. This caused us much anxiety when our shuttle to the airport did not arrive on time and kept us waiting for nearly an hour making us late to check in for our next international flight. That aside the name also implies that this is near the Bay area and to get to the activities on the bay it is a good 30 minute walk which is not that close. However our stay was comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly, for the reasonable rate charged it was a good choice for our week long stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by Allen, Hotel Management
JT, Thank you for your review. It can be confusing, but the moniker "a nice place to stay really really close to the bay was taken"....Joking aside, I appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, and staying with us as well...~Allen
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best part was it was convenient to the wharf

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Exploring SF for 2 days was The Best Time Of Our Lives Hotel was not the best in shape toilet sounded like he was going to break every time you sat on it not enough pillows nor air circulating spiders in the room as well creepy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Allen, Hotel Management
Warf, I'm glad you had a good time for your visit! We have extra pillows available upon request, and theres plenty of air, each room has an A/C unit with a "fan" mode, plus an open window in our area will always get a great bay breeze!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

pass

Posted Jul 5, 2017
No soundproofing between rooms. Nothing hot at breakfast. For what we paid, we expected more. Pass on this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Allen, Hotel Management
I'm sorry to see that you didn't have a good experience...Since you've posted anonymously, i have no way to contact you to help resolve these issues, although the breakfast does offer "hot" items", it is meant as a kickstart to the day, not a restuarant full style breakfast. ~Allen
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Paper thin walls

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Insulation, price, cleanliness, staff.
The walls were so thin that it felt like the neighbors were right in the room with us. Way over priced. Breakfast room was so crowded that you couldn't get in it. Staff didn't seem to have knowledge about the city to answer questions. We were with family and they separated us so that none of our rooms were together. We had 3 rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Allen, Hotel Management
Dot, I'm sorry to hear about your experience...We are actually a quite affordable property in San Francisco, which is why it surprises me to see your comment about the price..Our staff has a great knowledge of all areas of the city, which is why that also surprises me: at times when the front desk gets busy the staff may not have as much time to answer any questions as well as when it is quieter at the desk...We try to keep families together as much as possible: this is not always possible...And never promised....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice hotel.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: The staff was very outgoing in helping with requests about the surroundings.
Location: The location is great that is close to public transportation for getting around a major city. We were able to walk some of the significant locations.
The hotel accommodations met our expectations for a reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Allen, Hotel Management
Doug, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Super location!! Very pleasant staff! Filled to capacity!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Allen, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing, & we appreciate your review of us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to fisherman's wharf

Posted Jun 4, 2017
It is good location for tour of San Francisco. Close and convinient to fisherman's wharf.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Allen, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review! Our location makes seeing all the sights that much easier! ~Allen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Meriden, CT

Nice hotel, close to key San Francisco sites

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: I liked the location of this hotel, right on Lombard Street, within walking distance to many sites and the Muni bus stop.
Location: The location can't be beat., The following sites are within walking distance: Fishermans Wharf, cable cars, Ghirardelli Sq., Telegraph Hill, Ft. Mason
This hotel exceeded my expectations; it was clean and the staff was very friendly. The parking costs extra but it is worth having your car easily accessible. The free breakfast had a good selection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Allen, Hotel Management
Donna, Thank you for your review! And for sharing the information concerning location,etc. ~Allen
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing customer service! Carlos, the front desk personnel, was very attentive to our needs and extremely friendly. Good breakfast and great location! It couldn't be any better for what we needed.
5 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels