Ratings based on 626 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Comfortable and quiet with updated rooms

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Easy to use, quiet, capable staff.
Nicely updated room which was quiet at night and conveniently located to the car-related events in Monterey. Nice staff and fast service. I would stay again as it was smooth, easy, fast to the freeway, and better than I had expected. Breakfast with fresh fruit and cereal included - a pleasant upgrade from the usual packaged pastries.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S Calif

Close to beach

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Rooms old seemed dated. Peeling paint in BR and did not seem clean towels very worn for the 300+ a night charged during the busy Monterey weekend definitely not worth it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clovis, CA

Weekend in the Monterey area

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The check in process was easy and the person at the desk was nice. The motel was sold out which may have been the reason there was no maid service on the second day. Knowing the room rate was more than two times the normal there should have been better service. Upon check out I found that other people were complaining about the lack of maid service and the motel staff seemed surprised but not to concerned about it. This location is close to the beach and with some work it could be a nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CAthedral City CA

Great Location

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Great location, handy to Hwy. 1 (the coast route) and, a bit farther, to Hwy 101. We loved the dunes and the nearby beach.
Location: Monterey is the main attraction, with its Cannery Row and Fishermans Wharf, but Salinas and Santa Cruz are also an easy drive. The famous aquarium.
We wanted to visit Monterey area without staying right in the hubbub of summertime Monterey. This Best Western Beach Dunes Inn suited us perfectly. Just a ten-minute drive north of Monterey, situated just a few minutes walk through beautiful sand dunes to a long, peaceful beach and the ocean. The room was comfortable, though lacking the microwave and refrigerator we had expected. Very comfy bed. Not much on the TV lineup. The included breakfast was quite good, with lots of choices. The staff was friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mascorro

Beautiful clean rooms and attentive staff

Posted Jul 18, 2017
rooms are beautiful, clean and comfortable. Staff is attentive and helpful. all at a great price and great location. thank you
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highway noise

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Room was fine. Power went out for quite a while and front desk had no answers. Able to walk to state beach, which was nice. However the highway noise was constant. If you are not sensitive to that then it's a good place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crows Landing

Amazing! Hotel Close To The Beach

Posted Jul 17, 2017
The Breakfast Was Great! The Room's Were Cleaned And Comfortable. The Staff Was Very Friendly And Polite I Would Highly Recommend Staying Here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from monterey ca

Posted Jul 17, 2017
fine, enjoyed the location and continnental breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern california

Not what I expect from best western

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We would like to say that the room did the job but the hotel did not meet the standards of other best westerns I've stayed in. The photos on the website made it appear to have a pool but when we got there it was just a hot tub that had beer cans and a beach ball swirling in it with the tub in poor repair with loose and missing tiles. There was no fridge or microwave in the rooms and there was still trash in our bathroom when we arrived. The staff was great though and the hotel did the job I suppose.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Good experience. Attentive staff. The room had a funny smell at first but went away. Would've liked checkout to be at 12. Breakfast was really good, always a plus.