Ratings based on 687 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017
I stayed here during a work trip. I thought the room was very cute, the bed was comfy, and the little patio was an extra touch. I did however get bitten by something while I was there, not sure what. Breakfast was okay, but considering the place, not disappointing. I got at the breakfast room at about 9:20. I ate a couple things and planned on taking a coffee to go. They had just ran out so I asked for coffee, since I asked right at 9:30 (the time breakfast ends) the morning lady said no and that breakfast is over at 9:30. I thought that was just lazy and unnecessary. The guy working on the office in the evening was very helpful and pleasent to deal with, which is very refreshing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Nice Hotel, Good Price, Close To Monterey Bay.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
The hotel is nice, includes free breakfast, wifi and parking. The room was clean & staff were nice. Will be coming back in the future because the price was right and close enough to Monterey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Fine for an evening.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Convenient and was easy to find.
Cons: Nothing really, but there is a gas station on the property.
Location: Near Fort Ord and close to Salinas.
A pleasant stay with a good breakfast. Friendly staff in a convenient location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Nice , clean room. Very comfortable bed. Only problem was that our 2nd night there we could hear our neighbors arguing throigh the wall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Nice place

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Nice motel. Only thing I didn't like was the lights outside were very bright and lit up the room at night. Even with the shades pulled. Staff was extremely friendly and breakfast was better than expected.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic, way overpriced, clean, excellent service.

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Semi updated, a weird combo of newer flooring with a bunch of rugs and outdated furniture. Waaaay overpriced for such an old and basic motel. Lots of traffic noise but not as bad as we expected for being right on a main road. Clean and great service. The manager was very kind and accommodating when we had to change the length of our stay.
4 out of 5
by John

Whale watching

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Was a little disappointed with the location as we thought we were going to be close to an actual marina which we wasn't . However it was only a 15 minute drive to Moss landing where we saw a lot of whales. Overall it was a great overnight stay
5 out of 5
by Giovanni

Dont judge a book by its cover!

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
When we pulled up we were kind of worried.. the area isnt the best, and the hotel from the outside isnt eye friendly lol we actually left and drove up the street to check out the Ramada, Comfort Inn, and Holiday inn.. they were out of 2 bed rooms, so we decided to take a chance and go back to Howard J.. upon walking into the lobby, I was pleasantly suprised! It was clean, and had recently been remodeled. The guy at the front desk was VERY NICE; he offered us bottles of water, and fresh cookies, and showed us where the free morning continental breakfast will be. We then went to our room, and again were pleasantly surprised! It was modern, very clean and comfortable! Dont get me wrong, this hotel was great for us and what we needed for 1 night (we were there for our sons baseball tournament) this isnt a hotel you would want to book a week vacation in or a weekend romantic getaway. There is a gas station in the hotel parking lot that was also very convenient to get drinks and snacks for the kids and a fill up before we hit the road. Would definitely stay there again!
4 out of 5
by Choongkwon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lisa

Nice stay

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Staff very friendly and very quiet. Not best part of town but facility very safe. Rooms large and clean