Ratings based on 1,097 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sf bay area

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Our card let mysteriously demagnetized and in going to the office after noon to get it fixed didn't work out as the office was closed until 3pm ??????
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nirthern California

Close to beach but you get what you pay for.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Main disappointment was that advertised pool was really a hot tub, with no morning hours so kid couldn't swim before check out. Room not terribly clean, including cobwebs and spiders. Staff very friendly and nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn, CA

Room and facility clean

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Clean room, clean facility, good stay overall, walking distance to beach
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Stunk

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: close to beach but not worth it in the long run
Cons: The way complaints are handled by management
We chose this for it's proximity to the beach but as soon as we opened the room door I regretted the decision. The room smelled awful to the point of feeling nauseous. I debated about asking for a different room but decided to tough it out. We went to bed and around 2AM we were awoken by shouting coming from the adjoining room. Apparently a disgruntle man was kicked out of his home and was ranting VERY LOUD and using profanity. It reached a point where he was shouting about taking his own life. This went on for several hours. I reported the incident to the manager and she kindly stated to me that had I called the front desk promptly they would have done something but also stated it wasn't their place to judge patrons. Needless to say, we won't ever be staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Turlock, CA

Great location, nice staff, free spacious parking

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, parking.
Cons: The coffee maker in my room was a bit dirty which deterred me from enjoying my morning tea - but I had tea in the breakfast room just fine regardless.
Location: Right by Marina State beach, just an 8-minute drive to Monterey/Cannery Row area, close to Target/REI/movie theater/Old Navy/a pizza place.
The gentleman who checked us in was polite + conversational (way to rep Merced Ryan); he had a good understanding of the hotel layout/policy. We got to our room (a bit smaller than we'd hoped but it was okay for our trip as we weren't planning on staying in the room too long) and enjoyed a hot shower. Breakfast was a nice variety type of spread. Excellent location. Bed was kinda comfy (I have ridiculously high standards - like Princess & the Pea type of non-sense) and blankets were warm. I'd stay again! Also, a good amount of free parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chowchilla, CA

Great motel with an excellent breakfast included.

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Good sized rooms and great price
Location: Go to beach, kayaking
Great rooms and staff worked to accommodate my request.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Charles, MO

Great location that is close to the beach

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Great location that is close to beach and only a short drive to town and restaurants Many items in room were beyond replacement being needed. The carpeting in room was badly stained and damaged. The A/C unit control knob is broken and couldn't adjust temperature Shower temp changed constantly so very uncomfortable Room window didn't latch concerned about leaving room unattended. Won't stay here again even though we loved the location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Just an average place

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Nothing special with regards to the facility, the main plus is you are close to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Hotel room could use some improvements. Shower water flow is weak
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose, Ca

Horrible

Posted Aug 6, 2017
The night stay was a nightmare, first they did not honir expedia price, said yhey di not work with 3rd parties, i ended up paying alot more , i wiuld have left but no area homtel or motel was available, after waiting to ger booked in, it toi 49 min to get my room door opened up, i had 2 rooms reserved, i requested them as close togerher , they put our rooms on opposite ends of hotel, when the one of the locks didnt work, the manager said i will give you another room which hapopened to be next to the other room i rented, She said I'm doing you a favor, we were so upset, not one time did staff, manager come iut to assist us with our doior not opening, she got in my daughters face ,tbreating her, after my daughter went to office for help, the manager Theresa Machado , saying what were we going to do about it, my daughter got her phine out to video tape her, so we actually got her on video. We finally got room opened from owner of hotel, he appologized, when ee got in room, the beds were broken leaning downwards at headboard, the rug was dirty, chair was broken, left over soap in bathroom from previous guests i guess, the 2nd room air conditioning unit didnt work, both rooms smelled so bad, i can go on and on, This was the worst experience i have ever had.