Ratings based on 1,654 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from modesto

Gorgeous but...

Posted Dec 14, 2017
We loved the resort from bonfires to the courtesy stafff but ocean view is less then partial ocean view so you want to ask for ocean front but Wow just beautiful! Restaurant is not good so eat somewhere else... perfect location! Extra $20 a night for environmental fees we had no idea about so just heads up!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, Ca

Tranquil Beach Oasis

Posted Dec 8, 2017
A place to go if you need to get away and relax. Also a great romantic spot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Miserable experience

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Overall we had a pretty miserable experience. We were immediately greeted by rude, unhelpful, and highly incompetent front desk staff. There was no warm welcome, review of grounds, or explanation of services - just “what’s your last name?” “what credit card are you using?” and “you will be charged these extra fees per night.” Other issues: They claim to have ocean views from all of their rooms. We were in a suite and I could barely see the ocean. They claim to have a “spa”. What they really have are two treatment rooms in the small, main building. They seem to contract out their massage therapists. Have a question about your spa appointment? Don’t ask the front desk staff! They will rudely direct you to call a random number that no one will answer. At most “nice” hotels I’ve stayed at the front desk staff have offered to make such calls on my behalf - especially if they were just sitting around doing absolutely nothing. If you are hungry, either bring your own food or plan to trek to Marina. The on-site restaurant is only open for dinner and seems to book up quickly. You can hear EVERYTHING going on in the rooms around you. Every time the people in the suite above us came or went we heard them - sounded like a herd of buffalo. Every time they flushed the toilet we heard it. Every word they spoke, we heard. The only good thing this place has going for it is the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Agoura Hills, CA

Beautiful private cottages

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Private patios and the proximity to the beach.
Cons: The people at the front desk didn't offer us our Expedia Gold Reward of a bottle of wine. We had to ask for it.
Location: On the beach, Cannery row and the pier is only a 10 minute drive, Carmel is only about 20 minutes away.
Clean, well-appointed rooms with a private patio, fireplace, kitchenette, double sinks in the bathroom, spa robes and everything is within steps of the sand. They have a wine and cheese reception in the afternoon, however we never did this as we had everything in our room. We did have breakfast room service every morning, with a wide array of items to choose from. They also have a fantastic restaurant on premises. You can literally arrive at the Sanctuary Beach hotel, park your car and stay the entire weekend. We went into town 1 day and it's only about a 10 minute drive to Cannery row. We loved our stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bloomington

Nice resort on the beach

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Nested between 2 state parks away from the city, This resort provides a serenity and tranquility in a comfortable and beautiful setting. The on site restaurant Wood and salt is a very nice addition. Their afternoon wine and cheese get together is a nice way to meet other vacationers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Did not know dogs were aloud. Heard dogs barking most of the night. Also some of the rooms have rooms above, didn’t expect that, running upstairs. And you’re at the mercy to get anywhere, cars not aloud at your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Enjoyed the stay. Beautiful location. Excellent service and dinner at on site restaurant. We will return, hopefully for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent customer service, view, & experience !

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Enjoyed every moment there!! Best getaway ever! I would go back every year
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great Location

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Sit on the balcony and watch the sunset. Take a walk on the beach, swim in the heated pool and enjoy a drink in front of the fire place.
Cons: I did not like the blinds. Did not seem that they provided perfect privacy.
Location: It is on the beach which is great. It is about 15 to 20 minutes drive to Monterrey, Carmel and a 10 minute drive to the huge strip mall in Sea Side.
This is nestled between the sand dunes up the coast from Monterrey. Many of the room had a direct beach view. Those that don't are on the lower level in the back. All rooms have balconies and thy have fire pits at night. We were there on a Sunday night, and they lit up one near the ocean. They have direct access to the beach. The pool is heated and there is a Jacuzzi. The room had a gas fire place activated by the thermostat and a fridge. The room is stocked with snack, wine bottles drink for a price. They have a restaurant on site for dinner, and breakfast is room service to the room at $19 pp + $6 deliver + whatever you tip - expensive for what you get. They have a Keurig in the room. Great place to bring you own cheese wine salmon for dinner; smores for the fire pits, and OJ, milk and pastries for breakfast. Price is much lower on a Sunday night (a bargain for Monterrey). A really unique place in the area and I have stayed in a lot of hotels here. I would come back. BTW The iHome clock radio is Iphone lightning ready.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Beautiful. Will go back again in the future! Staff were fantastic!