Ratings based on 1,611 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
We were disappointed that private parties prevented us from using portions of the facility. Also, our key cards kept deactivating and we were locked out a few times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

4 star service,secluded getaway

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: 1. Customer service is 4 star from the start.Snack for your pets,wind&cheese,upgraded room for free,super friendly and professional staff and manager
Cons: 1.Provide better parking.Its part of time share×hare owners take all the closer parking.Nothing they can do about this but parking inconvenience
Location: It's off the beaten path in the beach dune reserve in Marina, about 10 minutes from Monterey&Carmel,CA.Its quiet and secluded getaway.
From the outside it did not look like a four star facility but the service was excellent from check in to super friendly,professional staff.The manager was on-site to greet the guest.They were very accommodating and will upgrade your room for free if they are available to do so.There were snacks for your dogs and cats are welcome to the hotel for added fee.There was wine,cheese,cracker,fruits,and water.This was a nice touch.The room was very comfortable with higher end bedding linens.When we were there, it was extremely quiet and the walls were thick and the bed very comfortable.There was a nice bar area with beverage,liquor&quality glassware.We had the Suite w/extra seating area.They focused on amenities&services.Workers and managers walking the grounds would greet you and stop to give you service even when not asked for.All this added touch is what you find in a 4 star hotel.This place is on the sandy ocean beach with some rooms being beachfront.This place is surrounded by natural dune reserve&secluded.The only down side for us was that there are no parking by the hotel rooms.You have to be shuttled in a golf cart to your room every time you need to leave the hotel or come back.You have to call the front desk for pick up.If you leave often this can be inconvenience.However,they are quick to pick you up and drop you off.You can choose to walk to your room but it is a bit far.Tipping is optional.We did tip.We were not able to use their pool and spa because the spa was broken.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ben Lomond, CA

Peaceful Hideaway

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: the beach, the solitude
Excellent venue for calming the mind and soothing the soul. Breakfast served in a picnic basket. Bagel wasn't that great, but the coffee, hard boiled eggs and fruit cup were a perfect way to start the day. Sitting on a sand dune at the edge of the ocean watching the sunset was the perfect ending to a wonderful day. I can't recommend the on site restaurant, Salt Wood, because I didn't eat there. I did go in and was seated at a very small table next to a very loud man in the bar area in of two TVs turned up full blast to a baseball. After waiting about 10 minutes for a server, I left and retreated to the quiet ambiance of the patio of my room, which looked out over the ocean, only to realized I wasn't even hungry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Peaceful & natural beauty

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Very quiet, peaceful environment ideal for get away from our busy work schedules and city life. Take food with you to enjoy watching the sunset. Clean rooms and professional staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland ca

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Beautiful and peaceful. Restaurant under renovation so food gets 2.5/5
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south pasadena, ca

Nice... romantic

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice little getaway but close enough to Monterey, Carmel , pacific grove... dining. The message was the best I've ever had :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlingame Ca

YES PLEASE!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Great staff!!!! Stunning setting. Our room was literally on the sand. We will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

I absolutely loved the sanctuary resort and I cann

Posted Aug 19, 2017
The resort is absolutely medicine to your soul the ocean is right in front of your Room and you can hear the pounding waves at night and you can take a beautiful walk on the beach in the morning the air is so fresh it is a magnificent hotel I have been sharing and telling people about this hotel since I'd been back the only problem is it was very expensive I've never paid $450 for a Room but I know it was due to the car auction next time I go I will watch the prices and pay less than half I'm sure
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2017
We had a beach front suite which was well equipped and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had an excellent view of the beach and ocean - you could easily hear the waves breaking if you left the balcony door open. Only disappointment was that the restaurant was closed (being redeveloped?) and the food available from room service was poor especially for the price charged.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesterfield, UK

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Lovely setting. Sitting by the fire watching the sunset is fantastic