Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Flower Mound ,Tx

Close to beach and marina

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Staff friendly and helpful service is good. Food is average the room was run down and could be cleaner .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hefzi

The staff at the pool were so nice

Posted May 22, 2017
Ricardo Sajidth were very very nice and kind, Coco was so good in intertainment and he even showed everyone how to dance . Mr Victor was a gentleman at the lobby counter, Carlos was so nice Oscar the cook was so nice totally all the staff were amazing the only bad thing was the Italian Resturant and the resturant at the beach were very bad and bad service. But we loved it so much that we already planning the next trip. My special thanks to Ricky, Sajidth and Coco for making our trip so special😍😍😍😍😍😍
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Below expectations

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Food was ok, housekeeping not good, went without having room cleaned on the second day had to call and ask by that time had run out of towels and toilet paper, staff not that friendly, informative or knowledgeable on where things were, the only that was attentive and personable was Manuel, if you like sleeping soundly be prepared not to as either unruly resort guests or staff being to loud at all hours of the night. Also be aware there is no top shelf liquor if you like a good cocktail.
4 out of 5
by Ruthann

One night in the Marina of Puerto Vallarta

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
Was a nice property. We were there for just one night and the restaurant was closed, so had to do the buffet for several meals. Not the greatest. Had to walk across the street and thru some condo's to get to the beach pool. Room was very nice. Staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
by David

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
My wife, daughter, and I stayed for 3 nights in Feb and thought the place was well worth the money! The food was good and we really enjoyed the shallow kids pool area attached to the main pool. My wife and I could relax pool side and let our daughter (2 yo) go and play in the pool and not worry about her. The staff was friendly. The only issue was that we needed a change of linen after our first night and the maid didn't get to our room until after 4 pm and with the language barrier she just left the linen and I ended up changing all my sheets myself, not a huge deal. We definitely enjoyed ourselves enough to consider a repeat visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Benefit of having both Marina and Ocean

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Food, drink, tennis and location were of value to us. Beautiful grounds that were well kept. Very nice staff!
Cons: Rooms are large & clean but a little worn. Beds could be better. Housekeeping did a nice job of answering requests.
Location: Bus is easily accessible. The walk around the Marina is very pleasant. It was nice to be able to choose between the Marina and Beach side each day
We had never booked a all inclusive resort before so were a little concerned but the Vamar is a beautiful resort and a great value! Friendly and helpful staff, different choices of food, quality drinks and great location. On the Marina side you have two pools, bars and restaurant. You can walk around the Marina and visit shops and restaurants. There is bus transportation right outside the door for a trip to Old Puerto Vallarta. On the ocean side, you enjoy two pools, two restaurants and bar service. It was a very relaxing trip!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would Not Go Again!

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
The negative reviews you read are pretty accurate. As I have been to Mexico many times, I did not think I would mind "Mexican" food at the buffet and "spanish speaking staff." However, the food in my opinion was barely edible. We ate almost all of our meals out. Communication with the staff was very challenging. Only one person, Fernanda, at the front desk was able to communicate on anything other than room check in. Our maid, LUCY, who we absolutely loved, spoke more English than anyone else at the hotel! I was unable to communicate with my son who was in a different room on several occasions. Very frustrating!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashland, Ohio

Love having the Marina side and the ocean side!

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Cost, location, staff!
Cons: Rooms could be updated. Also would be helpful if we were given a list/calendar of the events or activities that were offered everyday.
Location: Walked in the Marina a lot, Farmers Market is at the Marina every Thursday evening - let your guests know, it's awesome. Love having bus pick up there
Staff is great! Love the pools, some days we'd stay at the pools by the marina, other days we'd go to the pools by the ocean. Food is ok, big variety. Rooms are clean.
5 out of 5
by Larry

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
I had paid for two rooms but my colleague did not make the trip. I understand I Have to pay for one day of the second room but am waiting for the refund for days 2 through 5 for the second room. The hotel assured me that they did not charge for those days and that the refund would have to come from you. Thanks for resolving this matter as soon as possible.
2 out of 5
by norma

Never going back!

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
We chose to not believe previous reviews and went anyways. Unfortunately, the reviews are correct. We ate 90% of our meals away from the hotel as the food was horrible. Only two of the staff spoke enough english to communicate properly. While we were there I was only able to call my son's room once and get through. At one point someone said pesos and i decided to just hang up if they were going to charge me to call my son! Our maid, however, was exceptional! I got a very bad infection while I was there and she kept our room spotless including wiping the entire bathroom down with clorox after we told her the toilet leaked.