Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ambassador hotel needs to be renovated

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: location is good, staff are ok, although some of them are not professionals. Good breakfast.
Cons: A lot has to be done as this hotel needs complete makeover.
Location: Close to Churchgate station, Marine drive, Eros Cinema, Colaba shopping etc.
The hotel is at an excellent location, but it needs a complete makeover to continue giving value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings from The Ambassador - Mumbai ! Thank you for choosing The Ambassador - Mumbai as your preferred choice of accommodation during your recent visit to Mumbai and for taking time to post your valuable feedback. We are glad to know that you had a nice and comfortable stay with us. However we will continue to add more values and comfort to your future stays with us. It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we eagerly await the opportunity of welcoming you once again at The Ambassador - Mumbai. Regards, Management Team
3 out of 5
by Dushyant

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
Too old a hotel....so has its own set of problems.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Pramod Kulkarni, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Dushyant, Greetings from The Ambassador - Mumbai! Thank you for choosing The Ambassador - Mumbai and for taking time to post your valuable feedback. We regret and apologize for the unpleasant experience you had during your stay with us. However, you would appreciate to know that the hotel is going through a major up-gradation in timely phased manner. We promise to offer much better service than this in future and will appreciate if you can give us another opportunity to serve you better. We will continue to add more values and comfort to your future stays with us. It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we eagerly await the opportunity of welcoming you once again at The Ambassador - Mumbai. Regards, Management Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

worst hotel stay

Posted Aug 22, 2017
The room was extremely small, the size of a match box. I have stayed in much bigger rooms than this in the tariff charged. Its an old hotel so all the fittings and furniture are old and disappointing. The washroom was old fashioned. On top of that, the hotel charged me for two people whereas i had stayed alone. No amount of reasoning could make the person at the front desk understand that the room was for single occupancy. Overall an extremely disappointing and terrible experience. Never going back...
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by fom, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings from The Ambassador - Mumbai ! Thank you for choosing The Ambassador - Mumbai as your preferred choice of accommodation during your recent visit to Mumbai and for taking time to post your valuable feedback. We regret and apologize for the unpleasant experience you had during your stay with us. This was one of case wherein things didn't turn up as per your expectation. We would like to inform you that we are undergoing up-gradations to our property in a timely phased manner. However we promise to offer much better service than this in future and will appreciate if you can give us another opportunity to serve you better. We will continue to add more values and comfort to your future stays with us. It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we eagerly await the opportunity of welcoming you once again at The Ambassador - Mumbai. Regards, Management Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful beds-did not sleep all night.

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel has the worst and most uncomfortable beds. I was surprised to see other reviewers liked these beds. I could hardly sleep all night. Hotel is in good location though. Other than that, nothing great about this place for the price. I would not stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by Pramod Kulkarni, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback. We truly value your opinion. I want to apologize for the experience you had with our hotel. We value feedback like yours as it allows us to improve further. Your areas of concern have been worked upon. You will certainly see improvement during your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to experience positive change. Warm Regards, Management Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UAE

Not as expected and heard the name of this hotel.

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Location and staff mutual understanding was good.
Cons: Hotel to be considered for sleeping and use of toilet which should be good and comfortable. We were three people, it became difficult to move inside
Toilet very small including room with bed linen seems exhausted and bad shape.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by afom, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Kumar, Thank you so much for your feedback. We truly value your opinion.I am glad that you appreciated the understanding of the staff. I want to apologize for the experience you had with our hotel. We value feedback like yours as it allows us to improve further. Your areas of concern have been worked upon. You will certainly see improvement during your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to experience positive change. Warm regards, Management Team
5 out of 5
by Rick

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Pramod Kulkarni, Hotel Management
Dear Mr.Rick, Greetings of the Day! We would like to thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are glad to know that you had a wonderful stay experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. ManagementTeam
4 out of 5
by Vivekananthan

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Pramod Kulkarni, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings of the day!!! At the outset let me thank you for sparing your time to post the review about your experiences at The Ambassador Hotel, Mumbai. It was a pleasure for us to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you again soon at The Ambassador Hotel, Mumbai. Warm regards, VARSHA KODE Assistant Manager Front office
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic and good location but far from perfect

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Historic and old-school fancy, it has an appeal. But considering the rates, the building could use a little bit of upgrades. Shower spray was really erratic and unpleasant, for example. Outlets had too many things plugged into them and were hard to reach. I think some didn't work. Some staff seemed to be expecting tips every time they moved your bag from one inch to another when checking in/out. I was also a bit soured that they wouldn't offer the 50% rate for checking out before 6pm because I booked though a third-party (hotels.com). They claimed that because they were fully booked, they couldn't offer refunds. But I didn't have to tell them I was checking out, I could have just left and they wouldn't have been able to fill that room, so if anything I was helping them out and they should have upheld the policy regardless of how I booked. They also wouldn't provide a receipt since I booked on hotels.com. Overall it was fine but definitely look at other options in the area- I unfortunately can't compare it with any others neaby, but I also stayed at a big international hotel Westin Garden City in Guragon (which is not a good location if your primary purpose is tourism or sightseeing) but that hotel is among the highest standard hotels in the world and per night rate is not that much higher than it is at this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by Pramod Kulkarni, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Greetings of the day !!! At the outset let me thank you for sparing your time to post the review about your experiences at The Ambassador Hotel, Mumbai. We agree that the usual high standards of our Products/ services were not met in the instance and we understand how disappointing it can be when your expectations are not met. We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences faced by you. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disturbances caused to you during your stay. We have noted your concerns and have discussed them with the team members and corrective action has been taken to avoid future recurrence. Please give us an opportunity to recover your confidence in us during your next visit to The Ambassador Hotel. Warm Regards Amita Kurte
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, VA

Central location, near the sea

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Its location. In the heart of Mumbai.
Cons: The room's furnishings, the bathrooms, the lobby, the restaurant.
The hotel's best point is that it's on Marine drive. The staff is friendly and professional. However, the rooms are old and small. The toilet in my room leaked. The lobby is pretty shabby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by AFOM, Hotel Management
Dear Anil, Greetings of the day !!! At the outset let me thank you for sparing your time to post the review about your experiences at The Ambassador Hotel, Mumbai. We agree that the usual high standards of our Product were not met in the instance and we understand how disappointing it can be when your expectations are not met. We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences faced by you. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disturbances caused to you during your stay. We have noted your concerns and have discussed them with the team members and corrective action has been taken to avoid future recurrence. Also, we are pleased to know that you were very happy with the overall facilities, Staff and the hospitality. Your kind words have been shared with the hotel staff and it is feedback like this that motivates us to serve you better. Please give us an opportunity to recover your confidence in us during your next visit to The Ambassador Hotel. Warm regards, Varsha Kode Assistant Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017
terrible, terrible, terrible, terrible, terrible, terrible, terrible, terrible
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by AFOM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings of the day !!! At the outset let me thank you for sparing your time to post the review about your experiences at The Ambassador Hotel, Mumbai. We agree that the usual high standards of our Products/ services were not met in the instance and we understand how disappointing it can be when your expectations are not met. We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences faced by you. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disturbances caused to you during your stay. We have noted your concerns and have discussed them with the team members and corrective action has been taken to avoid future recurrence. Please give us an opportunity to recover your confidence in us during your next visit to The Ambassador Hotel. Warm regards, Varsha Kode Assistant Front Office Manager