Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winston-salem,nc

The carpet need cleaning or replacing

Posted Sep 23, 2017
The carpet needed cleaning or replacing.The food was good and they needed more refrigerators and microwaves in rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

pleasant stay

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Staff very pleasant A sense of going back in time and history. Enjoyable stay. Yummy waffles. Quiet stay.
Cons: Cook can make over easy eggs, not just scrambled.
Location: Stayed here as a stopover to Asheville. Located in a calm, charming, mainstreet town area
Welcoming mainstreet location. Clean interior, Fairly quiet atmosphere, not many guests in the area at the time. Parking was adequate, although we covered lot right behind the main lot Felt safe and loved the interior of the room with the comfortable bed and charming bathroom. Breakfast made to order.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Well maintained motel. Convenient to many local restaurants and attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, NC

Perfect!

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: The Lincoln Theatre is one building away--less than half a block. There wasn't a show the night we were there, but we hope to visit again.
We only stayed one night. Arrived late and desk clerk made dinner recommendations outside the hotel because their restaurant was closed. On a Friday night, two nearby places were open until midnight. Got up a little late and breakfast lady made waffles and fresh eggs for us in hotel dining room--included with room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from westchester county ny

Nice Hotel in a small town

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Great hotel and staf. We were very early for our reservations and although we couldn't check unless we paid extra they made sure we ate breakfast. They also allowed us to get ready for a graduation utilizing their bathrooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Nothing like advertised.

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Very small room. No view from the window. Towels shredded. Totally unfriendly single staff person. Lots of steps. Poor breakfast. Over priced!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Albans, WV

Boutique Hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Appearance Comfort Free on-site parking
Location: Close to one of VA's State Parks Close to Civil War landmarks
The building is on the historical landmark registry. In the not to distant past the building underwent major renovations, keeping in mind the historical aspect. I was very favorably impressed. The door to all rooms are originals. The colors & furnishings in my room created a quaint, comfortable, & lovely experience. The hotel has a restaurant & cocktail lounge which I did not have an opportunity to visit but did observe both & found them to be in keeping with the historical theme & warm & inviting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Not as represented

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: At least it was clean.
Cons: Total rennovation
Location: The town had only one other restaurant on Main Street. The Army surplus store was probably the town's highpoint.
I selected this hotel specifically because it had a restaurant (it was really snowing outside). The restaurant (and accompanying room service) were closed on Mondays. The standard room was incredibly small (not even a closet) and dated all the way to the '80s TV. We had a view of an air shaft. I've stayed in basic Motels that were appointed nicer than this "Hotel". Not worth what they charged.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice historic hotel with many original features.

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Very friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast better than expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Medina, Ohio

Great Boutique Hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Coziness and décor.
Cons: Cooling system.
Location: Nice location in downtown Marion. Had lunch and dinner at Wolf BBQ across the street. Great food at a good price.
We stayed one night at this cozy, beautiful hotel. The room we had was small, but adequate for our needs. Very clean and comfortable. Felt historic, but not old or rundown. Did not like the cooling system however. The air conditioning system did not seem to work properly and very noisy.