Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We will be back.

Posted Dec 20, 2015 on Hotels
Travelling From Basingstoke to the wirral, we needed a place to stay, this was about an hour away from destination. Good pub, with good beer and food. Breakfast was freshly cooked and well presented. Will try to find a reason to stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great food,great beer.

Posted Jun 2, 2015
A hotel in a beautiful village,in beautiful Shropshire countryside. It combines fantastic chef-cooked food with really well-presented hand-pulled beer. The staff were young,friendly, and enthusiastic. The Hodnet Hall gardens are well worth a visit. These are only open on a Sunday ; the Bear stop serving food at 4 pm on a Sunday. This is ( to be fair to them ) mentioned on their website,but it's easy to miss ! Breakfast is at 9 am if you want a cooked breakfast. This was a little disappointing, as was the early food finish on Sundays. The rooms are clean and functional. The en suite is quite small.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great village location

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
Great location very friendly hotel staff great food fantastic rooms clean and tidy.
3 out of 5
by John from Wiltshire

work

Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
My room was very basic TV very small limited channels, although the locals would congregate under my window smoking and swearing/drinking as the window was still the old wooden type not able to be open and starting to rot Meals good but a bit over priced for portion
5 out of 5
by jimbod from Cumbria

Would stay again!

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels
This was a stay for business purposes but will definitely bring my wife here for a weekend break! 6 x 5's or 10 out of 10!
5 out of 5
by Taffymarine from exmouth

excellent service

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels
This is a typical english pub with excellent food and service. The room although small was very comfortable and peaceful. The landlord and staff are extreamly friendly and served a cacking full english breakfast. Would definatley stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MANCHESTER

ON THE WAY

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: OUTSIDE AREA VERY CLEAN
Cons: ROOM
Location: EXCELLENT LOCATION FOR MIDLANDS
ONLY THING THAT STOPPED 5/5 WAS THE ROOM NEEDED A LITTLE BIT OF TLC THE PUB AND OUTSIDE AREAS VERY GOOD IF NOT EXCELLENT FOOD GREAT AND LOVELY RURAL SETTING VERY RELAXING
5 out of 5
by Gea from Oxford

Great atmosphere

Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels
Good staff and good food. Would book again no problem.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wedding trip

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Food, staff
Cons: Hot water, water pressure
Location: Hodnet hall gardens, market drayton
Stayed here for two nights, May 2014. Recently refurbished room, nice ensuite although quite small. Hot water was intermittent. The food is really great, very helpful staff, full english breakfast. In a great spot for visiting Hodnet hall gardens (Walking distance). Of the hotels in the area this is without doubt the best.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels
Fantastic traditional British pub. Great food, although not cheap end. Rooms comfy and bathrooms look new. All employees really friendly. I will stop here again. The only thing I would say is the rooms are above the pub so expect some noise if you like early nights.