Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's a 400 Year Old Pub Afterall!

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: You can't beat the atmosphere and the fabulous staff that will make you feel right at home.
Cons: The bed wasn't terrible and is probably expensive to replace. However, pillows are cheap. IF it were me, I'd spring for it and replace them. :D
Location: The little village is absolutely adorable! Just walk around and check it out.
When you stay at a place like this you don't count on Frette linens and turndown service. It's all about the people and history of the place. We had a fabulous time in the pub, talking with new friends, while watching the owner gleefully raffle off big chunks of meat from the local grocer. Now, where can you do that? The beer was excellent, the staff was wonderful and the place is super old and full of character. The rooms are...well...old. The floor slope in all sorts of ways. Our room was reasonably clean and kind of cute. The bed and pillows could have used replacing and the shower was incredibly small, but we didn't mind. We had a wonderful stay!
3 out of 5
by Sean

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sean

A popular village pub

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
A clean comfortable room.
1 out of 5
by Achilleas

Fawlty Towers level of rude

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Staff made us feel very unwelcome. We joked if we could check in slightly more privately than the middle of the pub whilst being stared at. No reply. Continued to be stared at. Wifi did not work. There was no body wash or shampoo. They also managed to not tell us how to get back in once the pub closed. Luckily a lady walked past who was finishing and let us back in. All of this whilst holding a sleeping baby. On checkout was told that I could not pay as the manager had taken the dog for a walk. I left a note saying that I would call with a credit card. Got a notification shortly afterwards that my card had been charged for the full amount. Will never go back there again and would guess that this pub was the basis of Fawlty Towers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
great food & room - bathroom & shower let the stay down - not so clean
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Olde Pub in Olde Village But!!!

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Pros: The welcome by the young girl on arrival was really pleasant and was a credit to her.
Cons: The unhappy Landlord and the grubby breakfast cooks appearance and hygine.
Location: Beautiful village green and church to walk around.
The Crown Inn was our choice of a overnight stay so that we could visit family in Swindon, it is easy to get to from M4 is set in the centre of the village, the pub was busy with locals but a young girl who was serving at the bar was really pleasant and took us to our room which was room 3. It was a quirky room with a slightly sloping floor but clean and had all we really wanted. We ate in the pub that evening and the food was served quickly and was well presented. Breakfast next day was served up by the Landlord who was looking rather sullen and fed up he really made no effort to even smile so we completed our meal and on leaving our table the cook that morning came out of the kitchen and to our shock he was wearing a really dirty apron covered in stains and he himself looked quite grubby. My wife nearly fainted !!! If i ran that pub he would have not been employed in the kitchen. There are health and safety food standards to be followed by all in the catering industry but this person failed and really so did the Landlord in allowing him to even enter the kitchen at all. Shame really as it put us of staying again.
3 out of 5
by paul from chester

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
food very good ,room had no wardrobe for clothes, I thought the shower required a good cleaning and very poor flow. Found out the fire door was lock and we could not check out early no one to let us out of building.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A bit odd

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Just found the staff a bit odd and not very friendly Room fine Breakfast fine
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Modi from Huddersfield

Great location, hotel full of historic charn

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels
Aldbourne is a lovely village in great countryside if you want to get away from it all. As you might expect from a property this age its charm and character outweigh any modern expectations. If you want a typical 'production line' hotel room, stay in Swindon. If you are happy with sloping floors, low ceilings and dodgy TV reception - ie a room with personality - stay here. :) I know what I prefer. .. I will happily go back.