Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night in Blenheim at start of South NZ tour

Posted Nov 9, 2016
After crossing from Wellington it was nice to have somewhere easily accessible to go to which had been recommended to us. We had a great one night stopover in this hotel which has a lot of history and character. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and everything was ready for us. The hotel is a former Trust Depository and the rooms reflect this heritage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel in boring town

Posted Mar 12, 2016
Hotel converted from a bank retaining some of the character. Our room was comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly.continental breakfast was fine. Dinner was excellent although the dining room a bit empty. The worst thing about this hotel is the WIFI which is awful. The hotel told us it's being replaced. The sooner the better!!! If WIFI is fixed this is a very nice place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Helpful

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Had to check in after hours but someone waited for us. Unique room setup and comfortanle but some of the ceilings were a little low for my 6'2" husband.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from te aroha

nice hotel, in the centre of town.

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Visited for our honeymoon, would highly recommend. Really nice room, great location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Cons: Our room was close to reception and the main road so there was a bit of noise. It was also split into two levels, which was a slightly awkward set-up.
Location: Perfect base for exploring the wine country!
Well located, lots of character, friendly staff. Spacious rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N Yorkshire

Comfy bed and air conditioning!

Posted Mar 3, 2015
We only stayed here one night, but our room was large, air-conditioned and the bed was the most comfortable we had in New Zealand!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great option in Marlborough

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Restaurant is first class
We used the hotel as a base to explore Marlborough
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Central location, comfortable, clean and well serviced rooms. Friendly staff. Would recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, England

Historic and central

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: History and location
Cons: The training of the breakfast server
Location: We took an afternoon wine tour (with Bubbly Grape) which was good. The town is pleasant with a couple of art galleries, churches and shops to visit.
We stayed 2 nights while travelling from Christchurch to Picton. Arrived on a public holiday and were welcomed by, and served at dinner by, the only front-of-house person on duty (Jetti). He gave excellent service. The food was generally good, and the special lamb rack with pumpkin mash was the best lamb dish I can recall. On our second night the chef came out to have a long conversation with us at the end of service. A complementary glass of port was available on an upstairs table. Breakfast was quite good, though the service was a bit random, starting with "you won't be wanting cooked breakfast, will you?" Our bedroom, the d'Urville room, and the corridors were furnished with many pictures of the French explorer's voyages and a model of his ship. The former use of the building was evident from the very heavy doors. We experienced a small earth tremor at 5:15 in the morning; no damage!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve from Auckland

Great central location, quirky room character

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Quirky rooms; location
Cons: Nil of note
Location: Wine tours!
The hotel is really well located in the centre of town. The food at the restaurant is definitely worth it. Don't forget to take Mac up on his offer of Drambuie! The only oddity was the lack of hotel-provided shower gel and ill fitting shower curtains.