Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southampton

Lovely character

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: In a beautiful country village. We only stayed one night so we just walked round the village and country lanes. Peace and quiet!
We only stayed one night wished we'd stayed longer. Absolutely beautiful place real character and quality. The food was exceptional but beware very large portions two of us could have shared the fish and chips! Cooked fresh and lovely and hot when it got to us. I would definitely go there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lingfield, Surrey

Very charming Inn in the heart of Dorset

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Good position as a centre for visiting the area and the Staff were excellent.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Excellent location to visit Blandford Forum, Shaftesbury, Poole and the general area.
Most enjoyable stay in a lovely part of England. The 'Crown's' Staff were absolutely superb, the food was very good and the 'Inn's position was very convenient to visit many places of interest in that area. I have no hesitation in recommending the 'Crown' to my friends and relations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Fantastic old English pub

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: everything. Service, room, food , facilities & staff were all excellent.
Cons: Nothing
Thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay. Room was lovely, very clean and spacious with a comfy bed. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Local patrons of the bar were very friendly & chatty, got to talk to bar regular Trevor. Food was great. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay & would recommend this place to all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grantham, Lincs

Great location for touring Dorset/Wilts

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: Old world charm, excellent food, friendly staff.
Cons: Triple glazed windows to further reduce traffic noise.
Location: As above
Visited all our planned attractions during our week stay, with Longleat, Kingston Lacey, Stourhead, Corfe Castle etc all being within 20-30miles. Super base to return to in the evening.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Exmoor

A night before a tri

Posted May 16, 2016
Absolutely fantastic staff-the girl behind the bar was particularly outstanding (sorry I forget your name). The facilities food and location were great. The only thing that could be improved was that the room we stayed in was a noisy - from the road, the fan and the upstairs and adjoining room. That said - a great stay - thanks
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worcester, UK

Excellent B&B

Posted May 4, 2016
What a lovely place! Can't fault The Crown. Friendly staff, lovely room, very well thought out in terms of furnishings and amenities. Sadly we were only there for one night and were meeting relatives for dinner, otherwise we would definitely have dined in. The menu looked great and if breakfast was anything to go by, dinner would be delicious. We will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Epsom

One night stay

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: N/A as we were only really passing through. Quiet country village.
Great room, great meal and friendly staff. Breakfast was one of the best I have had. Really set me up for the day. History of the building was interesting too. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.
5 out of 5
by Richard from London

Lovely country pub/inn

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff, lovely old inn, very quiet rural location, but great base for exploring the locality by car. Anyone who expects matching furnature in the room should stay in a big modern chain, not in a historic old village pub! Great selection of evening meals, served until 9pm. Very good value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kent England

Lovely Inn very old and quaint lots of history

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: All the history that it had
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to quaint villages. Not too far from Poole
Very friendly staff, good food, clean inviting rooms and beautiful old inn.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointed

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Cons: Wet room needs a thorough clean and the mould needs to br removed.
Location: Right on road noise kept us awake most of the night. Would not recommend
Appeared to be for one. Person, one bedside table only, Toiletries for one.