Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

25th anniversary trip

Posted May 15, 2017 on Orbitz
Everything about this hotel is wonderful. We spent 7 days in pampered bliss. I can't say enough good things about the service. The only thing was the food. While perfectly prepared, it was a little too gourmet for us. A lot of menu items that I didn't know what they were. No fault of the hotel just not our tastes. We would definitely return!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Does not show attention to deals

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location
Cons: Service, attention to detail. Called for coffee packets to make coffee the next morning - never received them.
Location: did not leave the resort
Facility nice and location was great. Do not show attention to detail. Did not remove room service dishes outside room for 4 days after calling 3 times. Food servers were not attentive at Mio. Loved Carribean grill - food and service. Rooms very large.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicafo, 8@

Beach paradise with gourmet food!

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Hotel had excellent food and staff. Rooms were nice and had great views. My husband and I have nothing but good things to say about our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Place to Relax and Refresh

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Its was quiet and the resort was small!
Location: Close to the city Playa Del Carmen
My husband and I stayed at the El Dorado Maroma for 4 nights and wished we would have stayed longer!!! It's a wonderful place! Every person that worked there greeted us each day with a smile and a Oh La. Service was exceptional! The food was also spectacular! No complaints at all. The beach area was relaxing and quiet. No wild partying! Loved every minute of it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

5 Day Beach Getaway

Posted Mar 24, 2016 on Orbitz
Great vacation! Food is above the norm for an all inclusive. Definitely try Lima limon (Peruvian restaurant on site). Staff members are extremely friendly. Grounds are immaculate. Quiet after 9-10 pm... 35 minutes from airport, an hour to Tulum ruins and numerous cenotes (both a must see). Easiest to pay with pesos... Conversion to USD seems to vary by establishment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Very welcoming resort.

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Pros: How friendly the staff was and how if you needed anything you got it. I wanted Mt. Dew and the concierge went to town and picked some up for me!
Cons: Taking the man made island out. Did not like that the waves did not crash on the beach for the full effect.
Location: The resort was very secure and safe. Playa del Carmen was not very far away, about 15 minutes for shopping and Tulum was about an hour.
This resort was amazing. Everywhere you turned, there was a staff member asking if you needed anything and was super nice. Did not like the travel agent on site. He was very pushy. Food was good, but not amazing. It is more about appearance that quantity. Make sure you order lots to get filled up! The man made island in front of the resort needs to be take out. My hat goes out the the gentlemen that had to constantly remove the seaweed! Shout out to Elere, the bartender at the main pool! He was amazing. Another shout out to Aurturo! The best waiter you could ask for! Thank you EDM for making my Anniversary amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by BECKY S.

Absolutely wonderful place. Loved it.

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Orbitz
Excellent experience. Staff the best ever and u travel quite a lot do no complaints.
3 out of 5
by Steve

Just ok.

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
It was pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Not a bad hotel, just didn't live up to expectations or price. Service was a bit spotty, rooms weren't that nice, food was middling. Never been to an all inclusive before, so can't compare from that perspective.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous resort!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: The staff was super friendly! And the food was delicious!
Location: Maroma Adventures is right next door with tons of excursions!
Just returned from a 20th anniversary celebration! This resort is wonderful! It's small, quaint, quiet and beautiful!