Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: see above
I like where it is, you can see the lake from your window. Quiet, clean and a value for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good experience overall and helpful. During dark

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: 2 beds, ground level.
Cons: N/a
Location: N/a
Good service,even brought ice for us when it was dark outside!.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midland, MI

Comfortable older motel on lakeshore.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: It was a good value and comfortable with a nice location. We had a view of Lake Superior and were far enough from the highway to avoid traffic noise.
Cons: It is an older motel with that shows its wear in scuffed paint and well-used carpets. Some redecorating is in order. Breakfast is motel-average.
Location: Away from the busy shopping area but within easy access. Nice view of the lake. Villa Capri restaurant and Touch of Finland shop are must stops.
This is an older motel that shows its age, but our room was clean, and provided the overnight rest we wanted. To get to the lakeshore bike & hike trail requires crossing a busy four-lane highway. There is a plethora of shopping and eating places within a few miles, but it provides the quiet of being away from the bustle of the city. We were greeted warmly and the one light bulb replacement needed was done promptly after we reported the need and was accomplished by a warm and personable staff person. This was our first stay here, but it is a good stop about half way to a frequently visited destination from our home, so we will likely use it again during the next several months. It is a good value and we will recommend it to friends.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Walked into lobby and noticed a musty smell. Our room was in a different building but smelt as bad. Bad first impression. Room seemed better after air conditioning ran for a while
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. As we talked about prior to you checking out, it was extremely humid in the building. It did end up raining for two days which explains the high humidity. I am glad though that you did say you enjoyed everything else about your stay when we talked at check out. As I did discuss with you; all of our carpet, in every guest room, including the pad has been replaced so the rooms aren't the issue. We will be exploring options for better humidity control in our common areas this coming year. We had a couple of days where the heat and humidity were extremely high this year. Unfortunately we cannot predict Mother Nature. Thank you again for staying with us and letting us know about your stay. Also, if there is ever an issue let us know about it right away so we can try to remedy it before you leave. We certainly appreciate the opportunity to make things right for you but can't do it if we don't know about it. We appreciate your business and comments and look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Trista Houle - Owner and GM Econo Lodge Marquette
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Far From Lake to be called Lakeside!

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Other than the staff, almost everything could use improvement, especially the name - it is not lakeside!
Location: It's located back a ways from busy 4-lane highway 41, about 5 minutes out of Marquette. Marquette, biking, and sightseeing are the main things to do.
We were traveling from Mackinac, along Lake Superior, to Marquette, Michigan. We booked reservations at this motel, called Econo Lodge Lakeside, which certainly would lead one to believe that the place was by the lake. This older motel has no elevator, which meant dragging baggage up the steps. The motel is not on Lake Superior - it is certainly not lakeside. Yes, you can see the lake in the distance across a long parking lot, a 4-lane busy highway, and a wide bike trail. It was not what we expected and would not stay there again. Gabby at the front desk was super, very helpful. The cleaning staff was also friendly and helpful. The place needs some updating and a name change!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Trista, Hotel Management
Thank you for your reply. We are directly across from Lake Superior with a nice scenic view. There are no impeding buildings from us to the lake. Yes there is a highway and bike trail. We do not have lake access nor do we advertise. We recently completed renovations including granite counters, new carpeting in rooms and new bedding. There are 12 steps to get up to the second floor and we are happy to help with luggage or move anyone to a first floor room if the stairs are an issue. Thank you for your kind words about Gabby and the rest of our staff. We do appreciate to hear the friendliness of our staff as we take great pride in our business and great service. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Trista Houle Econo Lodge GM
3 out of 5
by Joseph from Grand Rapids

Disappointing

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
OK. Not a lakefront hotel and our room did not have the promised lakeview.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
Never did find an ice machine anywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
The ice machine is located in the main building. Please do not hesitate to call the Front Desk or stop in for any information needed while you are at our property. Thank you so much for staying and for the nice review. We sincerely appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind Regards, Trista Houle Econo Lodge, GM
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mt. Pleasant, MI

Wow, what a view!

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: The view! Excellent location and setting. Marquette was fun to visit and this hotel was well located.
Cons: It was a little noisy, but considering the price, that is to be expected.
Location: Wonderful location! Minutes from downtown and lots of activity, but set right on the lake. Can't beat the location.
Enjoyable stay at this hotel in Marquette. The location is stunning; just across the street from Lake Superior and a very well maintained bicycle/jogging/rollerblading/walking trail that must run for miles in either direction. The view is the main reason you book this hotel. Aside from that it is unremarkable (not that it's bad, but the view is the only exceptional thing about it).
4 out of 5
by Rodney from Smithville, TN

A nice get away!

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was OK! No frills but it was decently clean and had decent space in the room as we needed a rollaway bed and there was plenty of room for it. I would stay there again. The price was pretty fair and it had a nice view of the lake. There was a very good restaurant called the Vierling in town with excellent pizza. I can just imagine the rest of the food there is good there too.
3 out of 5
by Lauren

Safe and comfortable

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
I felt safe and comfortable at this hotel which is really the most important. The hotel was nicely located near scenic sights and restaurants (within driving distance.)