Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Far From Lake to be called Lakeside!

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Other than the staff, almost everything could use improvement, especially the name - it is not lakeside!
Location: It's located back a ways from busy 4-lane highway 41, about 5 minutes out of Marquette. Marquette, biking, and sightseeing are the main things to do.
We were traveling from Mackinac, along Lake Superior, to Marquette, Michigan. We booked reservations at this motel, called Econo Lodge Lakeside, which certainly would lead one to believe that the place was by the lake. This older motel has no elevator, which meant dragging baggage up the steps. The motel is not on Lake Superior - it is certainly not lakeside. Yes, you can see the lake in the distance across a long parking lot, a 4-lane busy highway, and a wide bike trail. It was not what we expected and would not stay there again. Gabby at the front desk was super, very helpful. The cleaning staff was also friendly and helpful. The place needs some updating and a name change!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Trista, Hotel Management
Thank you for your reply. We are directly across from Lake Superior with a nice scenic view. There are no impeding buildings from us to the lake. Yes there is a highway and bike trail. We do not have lake access nor do we advertise. We recently completed renovations including granite counters, new carpeting in rooms and new bedding. There are 12 steps to get up to the second floor and we are happy to help with luggage or move anyone to a first floor room if the stairs are an issue. Thank you for your kind words about Gabby and the rest of our staff. We do appreciate to hear the friendliness of our staff as we take great pride in our business and great service. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Trista Houle Econo Lodge GM
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mt. Pleasant, MI

Wow, what a view!

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: The view! Excellent location and setting. Marquette was fun to visit and this hotel was well located.
Cons: It was a little noisy, but considering the price, that is to be expected.
Location: Wonderful location! Minutes from downtown and lots of activity, but set right on the lake. Can't beat the location.
Enjoyable stay at this hotel in Marquette. The location is stunning; just across the street from Lake Superior and a very well maintained bicycle/jogging/rollerblading/walking trail that must run for miles in either direction. The view is the main reason you book this hotel. Aside from that it is unremarkable (not that it's bad, but the view is the only exceptional thing about it).
3 out of 5
by Lauren

Safe and comfortable

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
I felt safe and comfortable at this hotel which is really the most important. The hotel was nicely located near scenic sights and restaurants (within driving distance.)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Thomas Ewen

Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
It was not in good condition. The front desk tried to be helpful, but failed to accomplish whatever was asked of them.
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

significantly overpriced for a budget motel

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: see complaints.
Location: On lakeshore and short drive to downtown,
Room smaller than expected despite single queen-sized bed. Threadbare towels. Blanket torn. Cobweb in corner of ceiling. Exhaust fan/light not working. Breakfast offerings poor and unappetizing. Orange juice a powder mix I am sure. Room ac/heater noisy. It was February and driveway should have been better cleared. Walkway icy in patches. And, finally, access card needed to be recharged although its failure to work might have been due to operator error to be sure. This accommodation was not worth the 225$ price for a two night stay. And finally, there was a power outage Saturday night but not Econo's fault. Just made the stay more miserable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Clean and was what expected for the price.

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Was clean and staff was very friendly. We had an issue with the pilot light going out on the water heater so one morning we had no hot water. They were quick to resolve the problem. We are going back over the summer so they gave us a credit towards our next stay. I would recommend this hotel to others.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What is that smell?

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
The first room I was given had a broken chain lock and the door was loose in the frame. Both rooms had a strange smell (stale alchohol?).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warren, MI

Everything, but.......

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: The hotel was very clean and updated. The view of Lake Superior right across the street was beautiful.
Cons: The comfort of the beds.
Location: We were there to visit our daughter at NMU but there are lots of great activities to do in Marquette.
My husband and I found the hotel very nice, but the bed we found very uncomfortable.