Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely road, very special atmosphere

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: lovely building. Great room. Very quiet.
Location: its in a residential part of Marrkesh, 20min to the main square but because of that, you see an area of the medina that is a bitaway from the tourists
We loved the architecture of this riad. its not luxury by any means but that suited us fine. The room was lovely with lots of cushions and carpets. The owner was really helpful too although staff were not always available and there was no opportunity to get a snack or drink. Breakfast was very nice too.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Dublin

Great local charm

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels
We only stayed one night, but the place is lovely and the staff and management were very friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Faduma from Phoenix, AZ

Beautiful Riad

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros-The Riad was very beautiful, the rooms breathtaking and friendly staff. Cons- The riad could use a little TLC (paint jobs, better dusting) some of the rooms were very cold at night (we stayed in December) the heater in the room was not sufficient. Location was also a little far from the Jemaa El Fna. My biggest problem with this stay was every thing that was recommended to us from this riad was super expensive for Moroccan standards. We now know we could have done the same things (restaurants, day tours, taxis...etc.) for a lot cheaper. Something to keep in mind when you ask the riad for excursion recommendations or arrangements, also remember to ask about the prices, specially if you are on a budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Family of 4

Family with teenage boys Xmas 2013

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Really quiet (until we got there with 13 & 14 year old boys!). Well positioned for easy access to souks and the main square (20-30 min walk)
Cons: Our room, although gorgeous, was very dark.
Location: Good location (as above). Taxis, cafes and shops nearby
Karim was really helpful, he couldn't do enough for us. He showed us around the area and how to get to the souks. He gave us his telephone no. on a card in case we needed him at any time and also phoned our car hire company to confirm arrangements. All of this free of charge. The breakfasts were gorgeous and plentiful.....there was even enough to fill up two teenage boys and the food kept on coming. The riad is really quirky and very atmospheric. It feels really exotic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sara from Brussels

Wonderful retreat in the medina

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: Great staff Beautiful rooms Quiet location The surprise of having all our dirty clothes washed (included in the service)
Location: The Medina, Yves St. Laurent garden was wonderful, atlas mountains.
Wonderful stay in Dar Abiad. The staff were friendly and welcoming, ensuring that we would know our way around and even taking us to some local places to eat. The entire place was beautiful and wonderfully clean, breakfast was when you were ready and so made for a very relaxing experience. We had two small children who loved exploring the place and were made to feel welcome. We didn't eat dinner or lunch there but I can imagine it would be very good. Wifi worked well in the main courtyard but wouldn't go through the thick walls to the rooms. This wasn't an issue as it was so nice to sit in the main courtyard and the little rooms running off it. I'd recommend getting the hotel to pick and drop you from the airport, as well as arranging a driver to take you around for the day. It is probably easier than haggling individually each taxi. It was the first time taking my partner and children to a non-western location and it was nice to get a good intro to where we were and the reassurance that we could always call if we were lost. Although we had enough information not to get lost.
5 out of 5
by Jill from Chicago

Comfortable home in exotic site

Posted Mar 30, 2013 on Hotels
Karin was very helpful and welcoming. From the mint tea and cakes when we arrived, to taking me to a bank on his motor cycle he was a full service host! He even upgraded our room at no extra charge, to a beautiful suite. The building is ancient, with all the conveniences of home. Ask him to arrange a ride from the airport when you arrive- its worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Katie from London, UKO

Great family hotel or romantic for couples

Posted Sep 7, 2012
Pros: Fantastic decor
Cons: The staff and breakfast
Location: 15 min walk to big square
Very Moroccan hotel great vibe, Karim and Jamel the managers are so keen and eager to please really nice. We stayed and it was 47 degrees the air con and fans didn't really cut the heat, the breakfast was nice and served at anytime. it was a little tricky to find on first approach but was soon easy. Where the taxi drops you you have to walk through a few little cinnamon streets of locals. Would def stay again but would never go in August again!,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dar Abiad

Posted Apr 12, 2012
We couldn't have been happier that we chose to stay at Dar Abiad for our trip to Morocco. The staff were amazing- Karim and Jamal, the owners, were extremely helpful and did everything possible to make our stay a happy and comfortable one. The road was a real oasis of tranquility in amongst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The breakfasts were amazing, there was endless cups of mint tea, and we enjoyed sunbathing on the roof terrace!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pas recommandé

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Le Riad est situé dans la médina, je savais que les Riad étaient parfois bien cachés dans des quartiers peu avenant mais là... Que des ruelles, étant partie entre copines impossible de rentrée en se sentant en sécurité une fois le soleil couché Le Riad n'était pas entrenu du tout, 1cm de poussières et poils de chat! Pas tout les équipement mentionner. Le points positifs était le petit déjeuner et le contact avec le personnel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Séjour marrakech

Posted Apr 13, 2015 on Hotels
Hôtes très accueillants, toujours là pour nous servir. Le riad manque de rafraîchissement... Dommage de vouloir faire des économies en coupant l'eau chaude ou en enlevabt des ampoules: chambre tres sombre! La piscine est en fait un petit bassin toujours à l'ombre. La cuisine est succulente!! Le quartier est calme mais perdu au nord de la médina et assez risqué en terme de fréquentation. C'est très dommage car le personnel est vraiment aux petits soins pour ses clients