Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful oasis of calm

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Absolutely wonderful experience. The staff was fantastic (welcoming, friendly, helpful, etc) in every respect. The place itself was conveniently located and perfect for enjoyment and relaxation. Will definitely return anytime I'm in Marrakech.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely boutique riad, great location

Posted Mar 22, 2017
This is a charming riad located next to the Badi Palace, and within 15 minutes' walk to the Jemaa el Fna and the souks. The staff at Dar Les Cigognes are wonderfully hospitable and did everything to accommodate our needs. Our suite was spacious and well-decorated and the lovely argan oil toiletries were replenished every day of our 6-night stay. Breakfast on the terrace was fulsome --- the petit dejeuner complet has everything you could possibly want (fruit, selection of breads, Moroccan crepes, pancakes, cake, omelette, yoghurt, coffee, tea and orange juice) --- and the Salt Restaurant offers an excellent 5-course set menu every night that provides a Moroccan gourmet experience without requiring you to set foot outside of the riad. Perfect for those evenings when the bustle of the souks become too much. We would recommend this riad to Marrakech visitors wanting a boutique hotel experience at reasonable prices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect location. We really liked the place.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: rooms clean, very cozy and lovely terrace.
Cons: Free breakfast would be nice and jacuzzi facilities included. Tv in the room would be nice:)
Location: nice location. easy to walk and close to the main square.
Excellent experience and very nice staff and specially manager she was very helpful and super friendly. However breakfast was not included I' m afraid and jacuzzi facilities was extra. Even tho we been told it's free.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not good experience

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Very noisy day and night. Not what o expected by reading the reviews. Not 5 star more like a 3 star if lucky
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by EL, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Please do drop us a line and provide us direct feedback so that we can address your concerns for future guests. info at lescigognes dot com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super friendly

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Incredibly friendly team, dedicated to your wellbeing and satisfaction. Charming hotel in the heart of Marrakesh. Would definitely recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by EL, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

disappointing

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: roof top
Cons: staff hospitality training and room update
Location: palais badii, tombs, palais bahia
read about the Expedia 2015 excellence prize etc... but was not what we though: Staff is not well trained.. they did not answer phone as we called for 30min looking for directions since there was construction nearby.. service was overall not 5* level at all.. rooms need some face lifts.. At least the one we stayed in ( red)....however greta roof top.. and very convenient location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

disappointing

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: roof top, its plants and views is amazing ... wide open views over the palace ! Also proximity to Badi and Bahia palaces are a big plus
Cons: face lift for the riad , less funiture, , training staff ..otherwise this is not a luxury riad anymore ..perhaps it was once
Location: awesome location.. not in the souks but close to major palaces.. a big plus
based on reviews, other luxury riads we stayed in and Expedia prize award from 2015, we were disappointed : first there was construction and we got lost and we called for 20min on their landline, no pick up... Second: Some rooms need a face lift.. Third, , Staff watched us leave carrying bags and didn't offer help.. the front desk lady did not know where the toilets were! breakfast's Staff blouses were not spotless... and finally, every riad I stayed in, had breakfast included, here we had to pay about $40 extra for bfast.. we recommend including it in the listed price like the vast majority of riads...so prospective clients have full disclosure
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by EL, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We have found that most guests prefer to have the choice for breakfast and other meals, which is why we have had a la carte options as well as various board packages.
5 out of 5
by Robert

Lovely visit! Perfect place all around.

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely!! Too many up sides to mention!
5 out of 5
by John from Sydney

Oasis

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Not so easy to find at night but once there it was an oasis in amongst wonderful chaos outside. Wi-fi not so good in the rooms and our room had some mould on the ceiling but otherwise comfortable. Not the cheapest Riad in town but well run. Menu excellent but pricey and breakfast not so cheap but nice on the rooftop overlooking the city and the nearby stork nests
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Easter Break at Dar les Cigognes

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
Had an amazing Easter stay at Dar les Cigognes. It is a 5 minute walk from the main street that leads to Jemaa el Fna. The Riad is gorgeous and very well taken care of. Service is truly impeccable. Lovely roof terrace where you can relax during breakfast or a mid-day or sunset rest after a day out exploring. One piece of advice is to make sure that your room has a window if you are not a fan of dark rooms. Some of the rooms (including the suites) only face the courtyard so they are quite dark, although still gorgeous.