Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Retreat

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Beautiful, quiet resort nestled in the heart of Marrakech. Service, rooms and food was exceptional. Alcohol available.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Incredible Service and a Beautiful Hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay due but a combination of the incredibly high-level of helpful, service and the physical space itself. Marrakech is a very hectic and, at times, overwhelming place, but having the team here at Sultana offer suggestions, perks like tickets through them and after hours access to places, arranging tours/excursions, and a relaxing reprieve from the city were a winning combination
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

Stunning decor & ambience

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: An oasis of calm in the chaos that is the kasbah of Marrakech. Only about 10 minutes walk to the J'maa el Fna. Close to the palaces & Saadian tombs.
Beautiful room with huge bed (two four foot mattresses pushed together which did give a slight hump in the middle otherwise perfect). Lovely roof terrace with bar, comfortable seating, tables for eating at & a sunbathing area with loungers & unheated splash pool to cool down in. Sun loungers were very low to the ground & rather difficult to get up from for the less nimble! Also a roof top restaurant for fair weather dining. A beautiful heated pool on the ground floor & tables & chairs next to pool for eating if weather not perfect & in the winter months. Food & service very good but some items on menu rather small portions. Food is fairly expensive as you would expect in a hotel of this standard. A good choice of restaurants nearby. Overall a very pleasant & relaxing week in stunning surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Amazing service

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: The customer service
Cons: more security outside the hotel.
Location: restaurants, jemaa elfena
Amazing hotel architecture and in the middle of the hustle and bustle. (This may be a good and bad thing). Everything is in walking distance but it get's a little frustrating as you walk out of the hotel, a lot of merchants try to get you to enter their shops. But other then that, the staff have incredible customer service. We loved spending time in the pool and on the roof top terrace where you could enjoy the restaurant or simply relax.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel right in the city center
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Authentic feeling!

Posted Jun 18, 2016
While in Marrakech I visited the nicest five stars hotels for dinner and they were nice, but they could have been any where in the World. In la Sultana you feel like you actually are in Morocco right next to the saadian tombs and a great mosque. The staff got out their way to accommodate my dietary restrictions. Everyday they made me fresh almond milk for my cappuccino and many other things I requested. Many of the rooms have themes like zebra, lion, or elephant, and they are fancy decorated. My family and I really enjoyed our stay a this hotel!
5 out of 5
by Maria from Santa Cruz, CA

Magic! A gem in the heart of Marrakech

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
No photographs and no words can do justice to this gorgeous riad. La Sultana is by far the most gorgeous place I've ever stayed in - it feels like a fairy tale, a magical palace that is also your cozy home. It was an absolute highlight of our travel through Europe and Africa. The location is excellent – you are in the very heart of the medina, yet completely quiet, private and secluded. The rooms are the work of art; the swimming pool and the spa are breath-takingly beautiful. Their interior design unbelievable, with masterfully selected art. The staff - Ilyass, Rachida, Khalid and Saida treated us like family every minute of the stay. In one of our rooms, we had a minor technical glitch, that most hotels wouldn't even consider an issue. Folks at La Sultana surprised us with an upgrade to a luxurious two story suite with a balcony, and to spare us the inconvenience of moving (!) offered to keep our suitcases in the original room. We were speechless. The only tough part of the stay was that we had to leave… Oh, and the food in the restaurant is delectable. And the spa is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Beautiful hotel in the middle of the old city

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Pros: I loved the architecture and the decor, statues everywhere. Hotel staf is excellent, very helpful and genuinely interested in your comfort.
Cons: The first room I stayed although was beautiful was very dark inside. Better lighting.
Location: City is very interesting and nearby square with many hand crafts and shops are full of interesting merchandise.
I had a great experience with this hotel. It's like no other hotel in the world. Each room is different.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel convenient location.

Posted Dec 30, 2015
The hotel was beautifully decorated and good location for access to sites. There was no elevator to our room and it was up a somewhat treacherous staircase for senior citizens. We were cold at night without sufficient heating in the room and bathroom. We found it somewhat hard to get complete information about some prices, available services and conditions of use of the Spa. The staff was very pleasant. The restaurant food was excellent, although rather pricey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

a beautiful oasis central to the main city area

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pros: Amazed by the charm and character of the hotel and it was tucked away from the city but in a very convenient and quiet spot.
Cons: The bath was difficult to enjoy, a bad design although looked amazing
Location: Great location, central but quiet and tucked away from the noise and bustle of the city. Very central to many of the major sites
We were made to feel most welcome and we enjoyed our stay immensly. Avery tranquil atmosphere and peace from the hustle bustle of the city. Staff were most courteous and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed the roof top terrace. Lovely and clean everywhere and beautiful decor.