Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dedham, United States of America

A calm and beautiful oasis of hospitality.

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Beautiful common areas, immaculate, delicious food, comfortable rooms, great staff. Worth coming to Marrakech just to be pampered by Michele.
Cons: Wouldn't change the experience.
Location: Inexpensive taxis are nearby and open the whole city to you. Shopping is fun if you know how to bargain. The main square at night is a sight to see.
Marrakech hustles and bustles. There is no shortage of people seeking to take advantage of a tourist. All that ceases at the door to beautiful Riad Al Kadar. You enter and are transported. Within you find a perfect fusion of old time Moroccan style with modern European amenities. Tile and stone work are beautiful. There are roses and citrus in abundance. Rooms surround the courtyard each one spacious, well appointed with excellent bathroom and shower. Breakfasts are feasts that change a bit each day. The wonder of the Riad is your host, Michele (mee-KEH-leh) an Italian gentleman with an unsurpassed gift for hospitality. He does not know the word "no." He will fulfill your every wish. Meals, transportation, advice, but also far beyond the standard. He found us a color printed banner for a presentation and a paper shredder (don't ask). We ate in various fun Marrakech restaurants. Our best meals were prepared by Michele himself. "We don't have time to go get lunch, Michele," "don't worry" 20 minutes later we're eating a beautiful Italian pasta with bread, wine, cheese in honey, salad, snacks, the works. In Marrakech don't do anything without first asking the price. With Michele, abandon all caution and place yourself in his hands. Ask for anything, let him deliver and depend that the bill for the extras will be beyond fair and reasonable. We travel extensively and have never been treated to a higher, better yet totally affordable oasis of hospitality..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good atmosphere, long distance

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Decoration style, Morocco objects, cleanless.
Cons: Be more service oriented with guesses, more informative specially with ones staying by first time in Marrakech.
Location: 10 minutes walking to the Medina, where you can find anything you need, food, places to visit, souvenirs, merchandase, cultural life, lots of people
It was our first time in Marrakech with my brother. I choose this Riad because of comments on Expedia. Good decoration related to Morocco culture with italian touch (his owner is italian). Great welcome with mint tea served by a berber women. As per expedia advise us that Riad had some problems with water, they solved, and put us in three different rooms each day, this let us to know different rooms. The room in firs floor has the problem that during morning other guests stayed at the living room in front of the bedrooom talking, if you want to sleep more, that would be unconfortable. Michelle (owner) was kind, however, he could be more customer service oriented to give recommendations to first time guesses, about right prices for taxis (for example he helped us to take a taxi that charge us 50 dhr (5 euros) to go to the Medina (that was around 10 minutes walking, but in the night it's hard to find a taxi. After we find that in the villa a taxi charge 15 dhr. Other thing was that he offered us to have dinner, and we paid the more expensive dinner that we had paid in Marrakech, 20 dhr (20Euros) by person, it was beef balls with sausage, tomatoe and olives salade, orange caramelized dessert. In general we ate for 6dhr each one. My mistake was not asked him before, but I would expected to pay at most 10dhr for the dinner. Lesson learned. When you travel thinking in stay in a Riad better choose to eat on the street restaurants close to the Medina. I felt deceived
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything with Excellence

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
When you arrive, you feel you just arrived at a friends place, Michelle made us feel very welcome and does everything with excellence. We have never seen such a clean hotel. Michelle also walked us to the main square in Marrakech so we wouldn't get lost, which was really helpful. Thank you again for having us :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Riad Al kadar

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: On a bus route would be handy. Couple of chairs in the room and a heater.
Location: Nothing to do and you can't 'pop back to the hotel' for a cuppa or to collect something.
Beautiful interior, the renovation is faultless, with attention to period detail which gives the feeling of stepping back in time. Michele obviously loves his home and is a charming host. The breakfasts were delicious and varied, the cook (and her daughter) both very skilled and accommodating. The only problems were that, in March, it was a little chilly in the room at night, plus there is a mosque just across the street which has the most unmusical muezzin we have ever heard - and amplified! Woken up at 5 and again around 7, every morning. The location is in a pretty dumpy neighbourhood, full of mechanics' shops and dust roads. Also it is ONLY JUST inside the Medina and it's a good 45 mins walk to the Jamaa el Fna, not 15 as someone claimed. As a lot of road building was going on it's not a pretty or easy walk, either. We enjoyed our stay there but would find a place nearer the centre if we went back to Marrakech.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A beautiful and calm Riad

Posted Oct 13, 2015
We had five days exploring Marrakech staying in the Riad al Kadar. It was the perfect option for us. A beautiful hotel on the edge of the Medina its ideal for those who want to stay a little bit away from the tourist bustle. Michele was our wonderful host ensuring that everything ran smoothly for our stay, providing us with recommendations for day trips and first hand tips on everything from buying spices to garden visits and endless supplies of mint tea! The Riad's food is delicious and beautifully presented. We especially liked the rooftop terrace for end of the day relaxation watching the sun set and the storks fly overhead. Cant wait for our next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Riad in the old Marrakech

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Las habitaciones
Location: Old Marrakeck
the owners are very nice and the rooms very nice, The Riad is in the old Marrakech. The breakfast is excellent. From the Riad to the principal place jemma el fna is around 15 minutes walking.
4 out of 5
by Stephanie from Rochester, Michigan, USA

Beautiful Oasis in the old City

Posted Apr 13, 2015 on Hotels
My husband, daughter, and I stayed at the Riad Al Kadar for four nights. Our host was wonderful and very accommodating. The Riad itself is very warm and beautiful. They prepared a delicious dinner for us one evening -- one of the best meals we've had. Please arrange for reliable transportation from the airport to the Riad -- ask Michele (host) to arrange for you. We can't stress that enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, UK

Feast for the senses in the Medina of Marrakech

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: The length of time that I was allowed to stay!
Riad al Kadar is a delightful small riad in the medina of Marrakech, with 4 guest rooms arranged, in traditional style around a small courtyard. In a city of contrasts, the riad offers calm, comfort and luxury. Italian owner Michel is a model of hospitality, and nothing is too much trouble, whether its organising excursions, airport transfers, or a rendezvous with the hammam. The beauty and craftsmanship of the building and furnishings are mirrored by the delicious home-cooked food, which we would absolutely recommend. Lets just say that it wasn't enough just to eat the dishes prepared for us...we felt we had to photograph everything first too! Truly a jewel of a place- after a crazy day in the chaos of Marrakech, you will be very pleased to sink into a sofa and sip mint tea to the sound of the little fountain...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton UK

Home away from home

Posted Oct 25, 2014
I took my mum here for a small getaway and this Riad couldnt have been better. Mikel the owner was absolutly amazing. He did everything he possibly could to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. Beautiful Riad that was incredably clean and well looked after. We ate dinner every night which was plentiful. 3 courses for dinner which was home cooked traditional morroccan food. Our rooms were cleaned and tidied every morning and breakfast was always different every morning. (And lots of it!) We wod definitely be returning! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachel

Wonderful Riad

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: The position, the cleanliness and the friendliness of the staff who were also very professional and helpful.
Cons: My friend and I were expecting a twin bedded room, which Expedia had asked for but none were available.
Location: Within a 20 minute walk we were in the middle of the city.
We stayed in Riad al Kadah for the Easter weekend and though it is out of the centre, the walk back through local streets was easy once learnt. The Riad itself was very attractive and the service was excellent. It is next door to a mosque and the Call for Prayer can clearly be heard in the early hours however it was easy to get back to sleep!