Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A haven amongst the mayhem

Posted Jun 27, 2014
lovely riad in a quiet but interesting location a 10-15 minute walk from the mayhem of the main square. Thought we'd never find it again in the maze of alleyways but once you've done it once it's ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely people and nice hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Lovely people and nice hotel, strange not to have locks on doors when you leave but the people were friendly and warm
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from London, UK

Brilliant Riad in a quiet part of town!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The staff were exceptionally welcoming and friendly.
Cons: Navigating the maze of the Kasbah is almost impossible - but there's nothing that can be done about that.
We arrived at Riad Aliya the morning after we were due to arrive and we greeted by one of the lovely members of staff who checked us in and made us a lovely Moroccan breakfast. The riad is only about a 10 - 15 minute walk away from Jamaa el Fnaa square and a 5 minute walk from the Saadian Tombs. For us it felt like a real sanctuary from the chaos that is Marrakech and so could not recommend it enough. We were only there for 3 nights and had a wonderful time including a day tour to the Atlas mountains and waterfalls. I would recommend a day trip to escape the madness of the city.
4 out of 5
by Happy_Traveller from London

Amazing service

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels
Located close to the airport and a short (10-15min) walk to the main square/souks. It looks recently renovated so everything is fresh and in good order. The staff were all so welcoming and always available to help. I can't compliment them enough for making our stay so enjoyable. Rooms were good sized, clean and comfortable. There is no TV in the rooms (which wasn't a surprise as I've stayed in riads before) but it would have been nice on a handful of occasions when you come back from being out and just want some downtime in your room. The breakfast was tasty and prepared fresh each morning. We didn't book an airport pickup. Upon arrival there is a taxi stand and the fares are all listed on a large board and the prices are fixed and reasonable. To get around during our stay, walking was fine, but for longer trips taxis are plentiful and cheap from the main street outside the medina. We decided to book an airport transfer from the riad for departure for the convenience of not having to carry our bags to the street where the taxis are. Unfortunately our ‘driver’ walked us from the riad through the medina back to the main street where he had parked his taxi (the same place we could have just walked ourselves and got our own taxi for a fraction of the price). It's not a big thing but we felt a little cheated right at the end by that experience. Don't let this put you off though. Overall we had a great time here and the staff were amazing.
4 out of 5
by P Smith from London

Hospitality at it's best

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels
I booked the transfer service from the airport which was a blessing as many locations in the Medina are difficult to find at night. Upon arriving the Riad was quiet. there was no rush to check in the focus was to have me settled and relaxed in my new environment. They entire time stayed I felt that the Riad was a home away from home. I would definitely recommend this Riad to any travellers.
4 out of 5
by Explorers from Herefordshire

great service good location good room,

Posted Feb 15, 2014 on Hotels
Very pleased as it was our first time in Marocco. Water in the hotel could be warmer. Excellent staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Not worth staying at this hotel.

Posted Jan 21, 2014
We stayed here the night prior to a two day hike in the mountains due to very positive comments we had seen on this sight. However though the staff were initially friendly and engaging we were left disappointed by our stay at this Riad. The morning of our departure, the water had been turned off due to a leakage of some sort. This was done without informing us, apologizing or making other arrangements. We were left without any water for showering and all the staff could say was it was not their fault and hoped we would not write a bad review. There was no attempt at trying to assist in helping make other arrangements, offering a discount or some compensation or added benefit or to help with the situation. eg making arrangements to allow us to bath in another Riad close by. In addition internet access was intermittent and only minimally accessible in the rooms. So while this has several positive points-it was clean and ordered; customer service, with the desire to help with an unexpected problem wasn't there. Definitely not worth the money to stay in this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for women.

Posted Aug 3, 2013
Absolutely amazing. Beautiful, clean, super relaxing. An added bonus is that the hotel is run by women, which was great, especially when it came to taking a dip in the plunge pool in my bikini. Great food, very comfortable, a nice part of town and I would certainly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kylie from Australia

Excellent

Posted Jun 1, 2013
Pros: Offered transfers which delivered you to the front door!!! We would not have found our way without, awesome service.
Friendly staff,great position, amazing top courtyard to relax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An oasis of calm

Posted Apr 29, 2013
The Riad was a lovely oasis of calm, perfect to come back to after a day exploring Marrakech. The staff were all very friendly and we would recommend having dinner at the riad.