Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Walter from Dublin

You wont find much better than this!

Posted Dec 7, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was fantastic, very accommodating, friendly and always smiling. They went out of their way for us at all times to the points to even show me around the city one of the nights on their own vehicle and take me to a local Shisha Bar, cook me any food I want and recommend us a restaurant (which was sincerely, very upscale and fun). The day before me and my friends arrived we asked to have beers bought for us and "voila!" when we arrived they had bought a 48 pack. The atmosphere was fantastic as we literally had the whole place for ourselves (the terrace is amazing) and in the morning you wake up with the birds singing just outside your window. The decoration is impeccable and really gives you the feel that you are in Morocco. Of course it was not perfect, but nothing is. My room had not "hot" water, it was just body temperature, which was fine by me. The neighborhood looked a bit rough, but then again, we decided to stay at the "real" side of town (Medina) where we could see a bit of the real Marrakech. If you want to go to a really nice restaurant go to "Le Comptoir Darna" I swear you wont regret! If I ever go back to Marrakech I would not think twice, I would stay there again in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Very quiet and traditional Riad

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Situated perfectly a short 10-15 mins from Jenna el fna square. Nearby to amazing street food vendors in Kasbah area, healthy, fresh and most importantly cheap food (compared to tourist sections). Staff at Riad Alma are so welcoming and friendly and so easygoing. Breakfast is fresh and personally prepared by the staff. We were fortunate to have the Riad to ourselves and felt so homely watching some late night TV in the lounge surrounded by rustic morroccan furniture.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MAIDSTONE

an Oasis

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Definitely the staff and the individually decorated and layout of the rooms
Cons: The owner, George No mention of the spa or roof terrace we asked if he could organise a spa and camel trip but we only saw him once!
Location: We went to the local La Sultana hotel ( a must if you fancy 5 star treatment)
Don't be put off by its location and the route you have to take to find Riad Alma, it's all part of the experiance. The Riad it's self is full of tradition and individuality. We booked the airport transfers well in advance and independently as no one answered the hotel phone in the weeks before our arrival. We were greeted by 'George' who tried to tell us about the Riad and how to get about in marrakech, unfortunately we didn't speak much french and he didn't speak much English. That said we asked for a snack due to long journey and were amazed how quickly the staff rustled something up. We never saw George again throughout our 5 day stay! We found that we were left to sort things out, which wasn't a problem to us but may be if you're used to being pampered. This is the sort of place that if you want something, you have to go and find the staff and ask. Don't wait to be asked as it will never come. The staff were the best thing about this experience. They 'jazzed' up the continental breakfast, they kept the place immaculate and were always willing to help. Be sure to ask for the roof terrace, if it wasn't for the guest photos we would never have known that it was there (another George forgot to mention ). Enjoy the Souks and NEVER listen to people willing to help you. They will send you to there shop telling you 'its this way to the big square ) we found that you used the map and the compass on the iPhone we could head in a rough direction until we found a landmark
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fürth

Hübsches Hotel (Riad) mit Stiel

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Unser Zimmer mit der Dachterrasse
Wie haben uns im Hotel sehr wohlgefühlt. Stielvoll eingerichtetes Zimmer mit Dachterrasse. Innenhof ist sehr schön. Lage ok ca. 15 Min. Spaziergang bis zur Innenstadt
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Posted Mar 27, 2015
The hotel served as an oasis on the otherwise hectic streets of Casbah. Great location to explore the old parts of Marrakesh.
4 out of 5
by melanie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 26, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Peaceful diamond in the vibrant medina

Posted Mar 23, 2015
This hotel is conveniently located in the more quiet southern part of the medina. There are a couple of nice and cosy restaurants within 2 minutes walking distance and the big square is about 15 minutes away by foot. The staff makes you feel at home the minute you arrive with a nice cup of Moroccan green tea. The feeling of being at home didn't fade away with fantastic Moroccan breakfast being served when you wanted, a nice fireplace lit when coming home during the chilly March evenings and fantastic advice from the staff. The only negative point might be that the pressure and the temperature of the water was not high enough, but during warm weather that shouldn't be a problem. I would definitely recommend this boutique hotel to anyone visiting Marrakech without a doubt!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Darlington

Gorgeous Riad! Delightful Staff! Amazing Area!

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Location. Friendly staff. Beauty & cleanliness. Room with balcony overlooking the courtyard. Airport pickup (~£11). Please do take them up on it!
Cons: Nothing... It really is perfect. I can not overemphasise that!
Location: Rue de la Kasbah with all its life going on, Saadian tombs, Jemaa al Fna, Palace de la Bahia (gorgeous), La Mamounia Hotel, Koutoubia Gardens & Mosque
Concerned about the Riads location before we arrived, imagining a warren of narrow, unlit streets & being difficult to find. Not so! Simple as anything, believe me, using the map of Marrakech which Mourad kindly supplies. He even writes directions to & from the Riad on it. Located in the most amazing working area of Marrakech. The tiny 3m x 3m "shop units" had everything going on in them... hairdressers, motorcycle repairs, woodworking, a mechanical rabbit skinner (or chicken plucker - I didn't get too close a look!), 2nd hand tap seller, patisserie, fresh eggs - from chickens at the rear! A real treasure trove if you want to see the true Marrakech. Oh! Brochette stalls aplenty too! Try them, we did they were lovely... The people in the streets around the Riad were as friendly as can be. As they were in the whole of the Medina. Breakfast, ok it's not a full English, get over it! It is lovely though (in our opinion), yoghurt, fruit, marmalade, sweet cake, small toasts, pancakes or filo pastry with jam and gorgeous mint tea (to die for!). The Riad is beautifully kept and decorated and truly welcoming. I really can not praise the staff enough. Elodie manages it along with Mourad superbly catering for your every need. We came home to a blazing log fire each night (February). Staff are discreet but attentive, and so welcoming, we didn't eat there but everyone said the food was unbelievable. Oh there's a lovely roof terrace & 'small' pool too! A truly fantastic experience!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Mourad and his team where just great, helping us out with every question we had. We really felt at home! The only minor disadvantage: I would have prefered a breakfast-buffet.
5 out of 5
by Lene from Danmark

Vender gerne tilbage

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
Riad Alma er et et smukt indrettet hotel med dejlige store værelser og fællesfaciliteter, herunder tagterasse. Venligt og flersproget personale. Ligger i et stille område på kanten af Mediaen. Skønt værelse, der dog kunne bruge lidt mere lys, hvilket er den eneste indvending. Vender gerne tilbage.