Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Fantastic room with warm and sincere staff

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: - World-class staff - Amazing rooms - Great location
Cons: Nothing, you can't go wrong here.
Location: It can be a little difficult to find, but if you approach from the east entrance to the old city it should be pretty easy.
When I first walked in, I was amazed by the open courtyard with ornate columns and palm trees. A water fountain in the middle really gives the feel of an oasis in the desert . Birds were flying about high in the trees and I was served a mint tea with biscuits to get a chance to relax before seeing my room. There is also a rooftop garden that was a great place to sit on a couch and read, quiet above the chaos of the streets. Everyone I met at the riad was incredibly friendly and helpful and you can really tell they truly care about the guests. My room was well-appointed with interesting paintings, furniture and antiques. It was very comfortable with a lot of personal touches and ornate carvings. The morning breakfasts were excellent and I loved the room they are served in. I can't recommend this place enough. I guarantee you will be happy here. If you are worried about finding it, don't be...that's part of the fun. However, if you really don't like exploring (why are you going to Marrakesh?) use google maps to search for this address: "Mouassine, 54 Derb Snane, Marrakesh, Marrakesh-Tensift-El Haouz, Morocco". Once you're close and have found Derb Snane (look for the mustache-like graffiti or small metal sign), just follow the map attached. You'll be able to walk right to it.
5 out of 5
by Helena from Stockholm

Mycket trevligt hotel med trevlig personal

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
Ett trevligt Riad med en familjär känsla. Mycket trevlig personal som verkligen ansträngde sig för att få oss att trivas. Nära det mesta men ändå tyst och lugnt.
5 out of 5
by Ali from Sydney

Dar al Kounouz a beautiful haven

Posted Dec 30, 2015 on Hotels
Zac and the staff at Riad Dar al Kounouz were fantastic. They were always more than happy to help with questions or requests. We had never been to Marrakech before and only speak english, but Zac answered all of our questions about Marocco and the neighborhood. From the rooftop you can hear the calls to prayer from surrounding mosques - a magical and exotic experience. The riad itself is beautifully set out, superbly clean and peaceful. An amazing display of Maroccan craftsmanship and a haven within the crazy bustle of the Marrakech markets. The Riad will be difficult to find on your own - hire one of the handy barrow men to take you there.
4 out of 5
by John from New York

Charming Riad

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
While this Riad is difficult to find (even if you're right outside), the reward is great once you do get inside. Upon arrival, you are immediately served steaming host mint tea and biscuits in the open-air courtyard. It is one of the most charming and quaint places I've ever stayed. Don't forget to visit the patio on the roof! The breakfast was better than most hotel "continental breakfasts", with more than enough to eat. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly, even getting up at 5:00AM to carry our bags down and see us off.
5 out of 5
by James from Cypress, CA

Excellent Riad

Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent riad, close to square, helpful owners, free tea and cookies whenever we returned, and delicious breakfast. we requested eggs and the owner went out to get them. They went out of their way to make us feel at home.
3 out of 5
by Gary&Ing from Sydney

Gary&Ing

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels
Having stayed in Marrakech some time ago at another Riad, I've benchmarked against that memory and location. The staff here are friendly, however a couple of items left me a not let down: not being at the Riad and having to waiting outside in the heat for 25mins; happened a 2nd time but only for 1min as the guy was out getting breakfast and we had a quicker than normal dinner. Surprised no TV, but same as several years ago. In hindsight I would hv choose. A Raid 3-4mjns closer to the main square; might not sound a lot but I think it can count for those trips back thru the day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leicester uk

Home from home

Posted Aug 12, 2014
We were a family of six and booked the jade suit..it was ideal for our family..the rooms are well decorated and spacious.and well located near jame al finah square.the staff yusuf and zakaria i cant praise them enough..they went out if there way to make ourvstay wondrrful.
5 out of 5
by Margrit&John from Bristol

Wonderful cooking

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels
We were made to feel very welcome; the service and Jemina's cooking were outstanding. The riad is beautifully restored with a great roof terrace giving views over the city and the royal palace next door. Some rooms are a bit small but are designed with great care. The route to the riad might be a little off-putting for some travellers but the location in the medina is ideal for the souk's etc and they organise an efficient collection service. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic service

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels
Most enjoyable. Friendly efficient staff, Excellent food.Slight complaint: our room was on ground floor facing on to an internal courtyard with no external windows. It smelt of unpleasantly of damp.
4 out of 5
by brandee v from v

Great location and Moroccan feel

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Loved this little riad. Loved the decore and great location. Walking distance to everything. Staff was great especially yoseph. Had supper when we got in and it was amazing. The negatives are that it can be loud as windows and doors face courtyard and that if you go in winter it's cold. Furnsce didn't work in both rooms we had. Otherwise loved it.