Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by maciek from oxford, uk

Great hotel. Can't be wrong on this one.

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Traditional riad, staff, breakfasts, located in the old town
Location: It's located in the old Marrakech, so basically where all you need to see is located.
Had a chance to stay a week in Riad Karim with my wife. We had a wonderful time together in the riad. The new manager is super friendly and very helpful. She's definitely more than a manager of the place. She helped us a lot - showed us around the city, told a bit of the history of the place, she helped when we had to talk to locals. And the rest of the staff is super friendly as well. Samra never stops laughing. Even thou we couldn't say a word in French we had a good time together. We strongly recommend this place to everyone! Maciek and Monika
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A home from home

Posted Jun 12, 2012
Pros: Comfy, colourful and hospitable.
Cons: Everything was good.
Location: Amongst the locals, the real Marrakech.
I have visited Marrakech 3 times now and the experience has always been different. This time I can say it has been the best so far. Riad Karim is situated in the Medina. It takes 7 minutes to walk to the Djemaa El Fna square and the Souks. Khalid who runs the hotel was very informative and helpful. He even came to meet us when we were a little lost in getting back to the hotel. Always with a warm smile. Then there is Samara who is a delightful lady that cleans the hotel and makes breakfast every morning. The beds were comfortable and the roof terrace was intimate. If you think staying in the Medina might be noisey at night but it wasn't at all. Somehow, it was sound proof and very peaceful day and night. By the end of our trip Khalid and Samara became more like friends. We will definitely go back!
4 out of 5
by Paul

Riad Karim met my expectations

Posted May 26, 2012 on Hotels
For what we paid, Riad Karim certainly met our expectations. The staff far exceeded expectations. The manager and cook/chamber maid were fantastic; very professional and incredibly welcoming. The neighbourhood can look a little 'dodgy' but we experienced no problems whatsoever during our stay and so I’m sure it isn’t at all ‘dodgy’. Indeed, the 'dodgy looking lads' that congregate near Riad Karim on several occasions wished us good morning/good night. Two things stand out as negatives: there are no windows in the bedrooms opening outwards (they open into the inner courtyard; and the beds aren't particularly comfortable. WE ARRANGED TO BE PICKED UP AT THE AIRPORT...DESPITE IT BEING MORE EXPENSIVE THAN A TAXI I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND DOING THIS AS FINDING RIAD KARIM FOR THE FIRST TIME WOULD BE NEAR IMPOSSIBLE WITHOUT STAFF HELP.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lovely riad, not so great location

Posted May 21, 2012
Pros: Staff were very friendly and helpful. Provided excellent service and advice about tours/what to see etc.
Cons: Definitely location.
Location: Very difficult to find. Wont find it on a map as the roads are very small, and narrow (cars cant drive there). Even some locals dont know where it is.
Very difficult to locate this Riad as it was in an area with lots of windy streets which didn't feel too safe - lots of locals approached us to give us directions/harassed for money etc. Walking at night felt particularly dangerous. However, the deco and interior was great, felt very traditional and not too far a walk from the centre. The service staff were excellent and really made a great effort to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Lavinia

Marvelous Marrakech

Posted Apr 11, 2012 on Ebookers
I had a fantastic stay at Riad Karim. Our hosts Khalid and Samra couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Khalid was so kind and came to meet me in Jemaa el Fna and bring me to the riad, which I would never have found on my own. He even organised a taxi to collect my friend who was arriving later from the airport. Khalid speaks great French, Spanish and English and even gives spontanious arabic lessions! The Riad was an oasis of peace and tranquility, and the hustle and bustle of the kasbah was left behind the minute you closed the front door. We looked forward to Samra's breakfasts every morning which were very filling and set us up for a day of touring. I would highly recommend the riad
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trollhättan

Riyad Karim - a glimpse of the moroccan life

Posted Mar 18, 2012 on Hotels
We just got back home from a really nice vacation in Marrakech. We stayed at the hotel Riad Karim in the Medina, not far from Jema el Fnaa. It was a small and beautiful riad with friendly staff that gave us a lot of good advice on what to see and do, which made our vacation full of experiences. We really enjoyed the rooftop terrace at the riad and the delicious food that Samara made! The location of the riad gives you a glimpse of the authentic life in the narrow alleys of the Medina. We truly recommend this riad! /Mikaela and Ibrahim from Sweden
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annie from London, UK

Great Stay at Riad Karim

Posted Mar 8, 2012
Pros: Where it was located, walking distance to main square and the souks, Clean, comfortable and quiet
Cons: The staff were great but it would be best to negotiate on prices if you used their taxi service!
Location: In the Medina close to Spice Souk and walking distance to the main square. Very much in the more traditional area of Marrakech.
Riad Karim had 4 rooms, all ensuite. Myself and my friends had 3 of them. We found the Riad was clean, comfortable and with hot showers etc. The Riad was was the Medina and away from the more touristy places which helped give a feel for the real Marrakech. Felt safe when walking the streets. The Owner and the staff at the Riad were great and the breakfast all fresh and very filling. Also a sunny roof terrace with views of the Atlas mountains. Would go back again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Hidden gem

Posted Nov 20, 2011
The Riad itself is wonderful. It is a traditional house, with four rooms off a balcony level. The room we stayed in was small but very comfortable and also very safe - lockable cupboard provided. The bed was comfortable and warm (we stayed in November) but there is also air conditioning for the hotter months. The bathroom was spacious with great facilities, and plenty of towels. The cleaning of the room was second to none, and the hospitality offered by our hosts was fantastic - we were always offered a cup of mint tea in our room, and although we didn't take them up there were plenty of offers to arrange tours and visits for us. We were even given gifts as souvenirs when we left. Breakfast was delicious and traditional - pancakes and fresh bread, jams, coffee and mint tea. Its true that the Riad is difficult to find - but only 20 mins walking from the square. Best way - get taxi to the Kasbah Mosque, then take first left on the Rue de la Kasbah, follow it round to the right, through a market and on to what appears to be a dead end, but where the riad can be found in a drive on right. Late at night the walk can feel intimidating through the back streets and this would be the main negative, but we didn't have any actual problems - some reviews have mentioned drugs but we saw nothing like this. The people we did speak to (to find the riad) were friendly and helpful. Also during the day it is an opportunity to see some real Marrakech life in the market.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2011 on Hotels
Bit of a walk through the alley ways to get to the medina, however it was great to be able to walk through and see every day Moroccan life away from the medina. Breakfast was great, staff friendly. You will not be able to find this place by yourself, organize an airport pickup with the Riad (they speak English). Bed was very uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, United Kingdom

Impossible to find!!!

Posted Mar 17, 2011
Difficult to find, drug deals on the doorstep and an additional tax of 200 dirhams on arrival. Every noise echos throughout the building at all hours of the night and day