Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by les 2ML

Un plongeon dans la médina

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: accueil , propreté , literie , terrasse
Cons: aucun
Location: nous ne sommes resté qu'une nuit dans ce Riad avant de partir pour Essaouira. Même si il peut semblé excentré , il est facilement accessible
L'accès à l'hotel a été un peu difficile le taxi ne connaissant pas très bien l'adresse du Riad. Il faut indiquer que c'est proche de l'école SMARA porte de la Médina Bab El Jnane Bel Abbès. Très bon accueil , chambre impeccable , repas du soir sympa ( barbecue et salade maroccaine ). C’était une première expérience de loger à l'intèrieure de la Médina , son emplacement proche de la sortie de celle ci permet de se familiariser sans problème à la vie de la Médina.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Riad dans la médina mais éloigné de Jemaa el Fna

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Nous avons récemment séjourné dans cet Riad situé dans la médina à 45 minutes à pied de la place Jemaa el fna. Nous avons prit le service de la navette à notre arrivée à l'aéroport proposé par le Riad. L'accueil est chaleureux mais le prix du service beaucoup moins. Prix trop élevé par rapport aux prix pratiqués par les taxis marocain. Tout au long de notre séjour nous avons pu profiter d'un bon service (repas le soir et le petit déjeuner bon rapport qualité/prix), le personnel est attentif aux clients (surclassement en suite plutôt qu'une chambre standard, service de nettoyage de la chambre tous les jours). Cependant la qualité de la literie est décevante. Le matelas est très dur, par ailleurs des travaux ont lieu en ce moment au riad ce qui provoque une nuisance sonore cassant un peu notre repos. Attention également au taxi marocain ne connaissant pas les alentours du riad même avec les indications données par le riad. Nous avons du finir à pied pour rejoindre le riad (10 minutes de marche entre le riad et la place ou l'on peut trouver les premiers taxis). Nous aurions également été intéressé et preneur de quelques conseils ou suggestions sur des visites ou excursions à réaliser à Marrakech. En terme de rapport/qualité prix ce Riad est un bonne solution d'hébergement.
3 out of 5
by Aw from Essex

Potentially lovely hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels
Location - terrible location, extremely run down area, hard to find and easily get lost in minutes. Not many attractions nearby. Very easy to be intimidated locals seem to hover near hotels waiting for unsuspecting tourists under the guise of helping them find their way out of the maze who then promptly walk them through a maze of alleyways and tunnels so totally disorientated and having no idea where you are ultimely ending up at a run down carpet shop near what can only be described as close to a slum area. If you refuse to go in then they get quite aggressive and demand money from you to let you leave. Locals seem to prey on tourists who seem unsure of where to go and then latch onto you again and demand money. Currency/money - can't take currency into country so reliant on getting it on arrival. Very limited places to get money and no where including hotel take any type of card which not aware of until too late. End up having to carry large amount of cash around which is very intimidating. Due to the above hardly left the safety of the hotel after nearly changing our flights and coming straight home . Have to say the hotel owner and staff couldn't do enough for us while we were there to make dure we were comfortable. They made a very terrible holiday slightly more bearable. However, I would say that currently they don't cater too much for English would like to see menus etc in English which would of been easier for us to understand. Seemingly more of a French speaking hotel. The food served was generally of a good standard but would of liked to see a bit more choice and variation. Would also be nice to have tea/coffee facilities in the rooms. The jacuzzi wasn't working very often which was disappointing. However, the hotel has great potential if modernized a bit without losing its character and existing staff. Just a shame about the location
2 out of 5
by ina from norway

Nice place, but cold rooms

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels
The "hotel" was not a hotel, but a "Riad"-it was nice to live in a old mosk for boys. The rooms where big and looked ok, but where very cold. The breakfast was ok, not fresh juice but fresh bread. A bit to expensive, but ok for 1 or 2 nights.
5 out of 5
by Lars Hallstrøm Eriksen from Mandal, Norway

Beautiful riad with friendly service

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels
This riad has very nice arabic style rooms centred around a beautifully decorated arabic courtyard, with a roof terrace on top. Inside the riad it's calm and relaxed, outside is the medina (old city), albeit near the northern end where it's somewhat calmer than the central parts of the medina around the main souk (covered market). The nearby mosque is fortunately not loud enough to wake up anyone inside the riad who might want to sleep through the early-morning prayer... The owners, who took over the riad two months ago, are very friendly and service-minded and speak fluent English (and French and Arabic); other staff are also very friendly and service-minded and speak a few words of English and otherwise French (and Arabic). Our room had a nice bathroom with shower with hot and cold running water. Riads, like many hotels in 'hot' countries, tend to be cold during winter, and so was this one (in December), including the room, courtyard and restaurant (the roof terrace was nice and warm in in the sunshine). Our room had a combined air conditioner and heater which only managed to heat the room a little. The beds are hard, but that seems to be the norm in this country, including the five-star hotel we later stayed at in Essaouira. The restaurant has a selection of good Moroccan and international dishes (must be pre-ordered in the afternoon) at acceptable prices, and also serves alcohol.
1 out of 5
by J Gordon from Australia

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels
Well this is the third attempt to post this- previous cancelled being too long. Obviously you don't want to hear . Terrible booking confirmed by you3 days before- no joy when we arrived- didn't know about booking. Manager rude, dismissive, no phone at premises, your endorsement is unbelievable, check previous complaint already lodged regarding this establishment, I will not be endorsing your services.
5 out of 5
by Daniel Picard from Côte d'Azur

Satisfaits, nous y sommes revenus !

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels
Le responsable ( un belge ) est prêt à tout pour votre satisfaction. Y étant venus pour notre première nuit au Maroc ( voyage itinérant ) nous avons réservé pour notre dernière nuit . Il semble que les clients louent pour la semaine avec repas ( moyen) à réserver dès le matin , Nous avons donc eu deux suites différentes qui nous ont donné pleine satisfaction La première fois que vous y allez demandez au Taxi de vous conduire à Dar Bar chou sinon c'est galère !!! Les conseils et la gentillesse du "patron" sont un plus insestimable
5 out of 5
by Wendy from Oisterwijk

Sfeervol hotel met geweldige service

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels
We hebben erg genoten van ons verblijf in Les Clefs du Sud. De service was geweldig en het personeel enorm vriendelijk en gastvrij. Een fijne jacuzzi op een riant dakterras, een mooie binnenplaats met palm- en bananenboom (!) en alles - van de wastafels tot en met de tegels - prachtig afgewerkt met mozaïeken. In dit riat wordt zelfs alcohol geserveerd - iets wat in Marokko een zeldzaamheid is. Ook de locatie van het riat (midden in de Medina en vlakbij veel taxistandplaatsen) is super. Enige minpuntje: het bed op de hotelkamer was aan de harde kant.
5 out of 5
by anne from belfort

très bon accueil, chambre agréable et confortables

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels
Oasis dans la fournaise de Marrakech au mois d'août
5 out of 5
by Dominique from Le Cannet

Posted May 18, 2013 on Hotels
Pour ma compagne et moi c'était une première à Marrakech et au Riad Les Clés du Sud situé dans le nord de la Médina. Nous avons apprécié une équipe formidable, tout en gentillesse, attentions et discrétion dans un très bel endroit, havre de fraicheur, de propreté et de douceur au milieu du tumulte de cette belle ville. Une mention spéciale à Rachid, le coordonnateur de l'équipe, qui nous a toujours donné les bons conseils et a su dans la bonne humeur répondre à toutes nos demandes. Bravo aussi à Khadija qui nous a régalés de couscous et autres tajines fait maison. En fait nous nous sommes complétement ressourcés, alternant les moments de farniente sur la terrasse en profitant du Jacuzzi et les promenades dans le dédale des ruelles de la Médina si foisonnantes de vie et de découvertes surprenantes. Nous avons pu faire également des petites excursions organisée par Rachid dans l' Ourika et à Essaouira. De retour à la maison, l'ambiance du Riad nous manque déjà, en particulier les petits déjeuners pris dans la cour, devant notre chambre, en écoutant le chant des oiseaux. En résumé nous recommandons vivement cet endroit où nous nous sommes promis de revenir rapidement