Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Oasis in the chaos

Posted Dec 31, 2016
We spent Christmas week at the beautiful Riad Zara and loved it! Monique is a fantastic host and cook! Quiet and calm after a day in the souks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

What a find!

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Beautiful, clean interior. Friendly staff who went out of their way to assist. Great meals.
Location: Located right in the medina, it is a twenty minute walk to Jemaa el-Fna. The neighborhood is authentic. Walking it was my favorite part of my stay.
I cannot recommend Riad Zara highly enough! A beautiful building with a rooftop to look out over the medina. Monique and her staff were friendly and helpful, cooking delicious meals, providing directions, even calling cabs. My time in Marrakesh was so much better for having spent it here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Moroccan style courtyard house

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Monica was a wonderful hostess and provided us with invaluable advice .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

lovely traditional riad w helpful landlady

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The landlady (Monique) is very helpful in giving you guidance on what to (not) do, how to be safe etc. Lovely hot shower. Responsive (e.g. I got extra blanket when I said I was cold after first night).
Cons: Can't think of anything much I didn't like. As I need to add more text, perhaps mention of basic breakfast (though as long as it's edible and reasonable - which it was -, I'm not too fussed).
Location: It's in the less touristy side of the medina, somewhat easy to get lost and you need to have your wits about. Easy walk to main square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A little bit of paradise in the Medina

Posted Oct 24, 2016
We had a truly happy time staying at Riad Zara. Monique unfortunately wasn't there when we stayed but had left the Riad in the care of her friends Kim and Michel, who were the best of hosts. Although our inbound flight was delayed for around an hour, they stayed up to welcome us and provide a light meal. Throughout our stay, they did everything possible to make our stay comfortable, from booking taxis to warning the drivers not to rip us off and giving us advice on how to walk through the busy lanes of the Medina or fend off hasslers. They made us feel like family. Riad Zara is situated at the eastern edge of the old town and therefore about a 20/25 minute walk from the main square, Place Jemaa el Fna. It is very much a place for the locals and walking along the lanes nearby is probably much the same as it was in medieval times (barring the mopeds and motorbikes you need to beware of!) with everything being sold from fridges to live chicks! Monique left us wIth a guidebook of notes on how to negotiate the roads, helpful tips for getting about Marrakech and coping with a very different culture. There is a variety of excursions available which can be booked via the Riad management and they have a driver who will come to the door and escort you to the meeting point as the road is inaccessible by cars. The Riad itself is charming, every bit as pretty as the photos and kept very clean and neat by the young housekeeper Jamila who also served the light breakfasts with a smile ever
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, USA

Perfect Accommodations!

Posted Dec 31, 2015
We LOVED Riad Zara! Monique, the proprietess, is hospitable, knowledgeable, warm and wonderful. The Riad is beyond beautiful, tucked away inside the old city with easy access to everything. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by Jill from Honolulu

An oasis

Posted Jun 9, 2015 on Hotels
Monique and Hassan are beyond accommodating and can answer any question you have about Marrakech. They helped us plan a day trip to the Atlas Mountains which was the best part of our short trip. It was a great experience from begininng to end. Their place is oasis in the middle of an overwhelming city. I definately recommend staying there if you are ever in Marrakech.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing stay

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Comfortable, clean, relaxed.
Myself and 3 girlfriends stayed here over a weekend trip in Marrakesh. We were very well looked after by Hassan as Monique was away, and it was definitely a refuge from the craziness of the souk and rest of the Medina! Would definitely recommend to all who stay, to have dinner at 'home' one evening - the food is amazing and such a lovely setting. It is a bit of a walk from the souk but probably good to walk off all that food & wine!
4 out of 5
by Devin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michael from Whistler

Best Riad of my stay with awesome terrace

Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
Riad Zara is a coloruful, stunningly decorated Riad in a quiet area about a 15 minute walk from the main square of the Marrakech Medina. The courtyard and terrace are beautiful places to relax and recharge. Hassan was a great host offering top notch service. I highly recommend finding time to enjoy the terrace!