Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by zayed from uae

bad experience

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
Not good service
1 out of 5
by Michele from Norfolk, UK

Dreadful place - may have been OK once but not now

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Pros: Leaving it
Cons: too many to cover but top ones are - tatty dirty place, dreadful bedding, lousy service and being kept awake all night
Location: Middle of nowhere - means you can't even escape to somewhere decent
If you are thinking of going to this hotel proceed with care. I read a lot of reviews first and the only downside appeared to be that the staff spoke French - I thought that would be fine. However these reviews must have been produced many years ago. The whole experience was awful and we left after one night even though we had paid for three. So what was so dreadful. Here are the highlights 1. The hotel is very down at heel with unfinished construction barely sreened off and rooms that are tatty at best and filthy at worse. We changed rooms but even in the second room (supposedly an upgrade to a princess suite) the door to the shared lounge would not lock (we blocked it with a chair0, the bathroom was filthy and the bedding had cigarette burns in it and it was very tatty. 2. The service here makes Fawlty towers look fantastic! We had to wait for 30 minutes (and chase people - yes in broken french) just to check in - forget any help with luggage! We could not source dinner or white wine on the first evening and staff seemed more intent on chatting to each other or feeding themselves than looking after guests. 3. The final straw came at night when there was a party in a nearby room which started at just after tem at night on and finished after six the next morning with music so loud it was impossible to sleep. Management suggested it was other guests and they they had been asked to stop but we were visited that night by one of the bar staff looking for the party!
1 out of 5
by Kim from Essex

worst hotel iv even stayed in

Posted Jun 3, 2013
this hotel was so awful that we left on the 2nd day, and checked in to a new hotel. which meant losing the money for 4 nights stay but it was worth as we did not have to stay at this place. the location is aful. it felt scary at the hotel no one else was staying there. i dont even know where to begin! i would not rate this at a 1 star let alone 5 star
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here!

Posted Mar 7, 2013
Location: Too far from attractions
Service was absolutely appalling. Took 3 hours from when we arrived to be given the correct room as staff would not accept that we had upgraded even though we showed them our itinerary. They charged 300 dirhams for a 'taxi' into Marrakech city as their minibus service was not provided. We were driven by a staff member in his car and the driving was horrendous. The jacuzzi was not in use, nether did they have much alcohol on the premises due to no other 'European' visitors at the hotel. Breakfast was not served at the times requested, although this was requested the night before. We generally received breakfast about an hour after requested time. All in all I would not recommend this hotel. They provided no tourist information such as local attractions or events and the service was definitely not what you would expect from a 5 star hotel.
3 out of 5
by Pierre from Brighton, The City of Brighton and Hove, UK

good hotel if you stay there

Posted Aug 17, 2012
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Swimming pool
Location: Too far from the center
The hotel itself is good i would say but he is clearly too far from the city. We had 30min car each time. The food is good but not too much choice. The breakfast is lovely. The swimming pool is good too.
1 out of 5
by David from Dallas, TX

Be Careful Staying Here

Posted May 4, 2012
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: Refused to provide water in the room when their water is not safe to drink. Hotel is middle of nowhere. Unadvertised costs that they surprise you with
Location: Middle of nowhere. You are reliant on their shuttle or to get a taxi to leave the gated area.
The hotel at first glance seems very nice and the staff is very friendly, but it does not take long to unveil the truth. I visually noticed bugs in the bathroom, after talking to other guests at the hotel they all stated they had this issue. 2 days into my stay I noticed welts from bug bites on my body. In my 3 night stay I had a total of 12 bites...although I don't think they were from beg bugs if this is any consolation prize. The staff is friendly to your face, but reveal themselves to be very shady. I sent them emails before arriving asking to assist me in finding tours of the city. The manager kept suggesting tours for astronomical prices, later I was told by another employee that he recommends his friends to perform the tours at the large prices in return for a kickback. I ended up booking the same tour the manager suggested for the Atlas Mountains through a company for 1000Dhs cheaper than his price. The hotel shuttle that is advertised on their website as an amenity and no price is mentioned when you use it has a hidden cost. After using it, the receptionist promptly requests 50Dhs. The cost for the shuttle is fair, but would be nice if it was advertised. The hotel seemed like it was struggling to find its identity, and definitely could list prices up front, as well as get a cleaning for the bugs. Definitely ask for prices up front and do not count on them to assist you in booking tours.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peterborough, uk

Terra resort & spa

Posted Jan 9, 2012 on Hotels
Service is very poor staff are very accommodative but their hands are tied there were no shampoo no hair dryer repeatedly asking provided shampoo on the last day food was ok ambiance is good rooms were very spacious but only thing you have to keep on asking they do not maintain time very laid back no one picks up phone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Leicester, UK

Hire a car!!!!

Posted Jan 1, 2012
Pros: The service
Cons: Lack of things to do
Very nice hotel that has unique moroccan decor. The rooms were very nice, large and laid out well. Could have been better with tea making facilities in the room, but I guess when they charge 60 dirhams (£4.50) for two cups of tea, it all becomes clear. The breakfast is ok but changes gradually everyday, as in things get slightly worse. After 7 days it is almost inedible. I would strongly recommend eating breakfast in the city. We had a hire car which turned out to be crucial as after 3 days in marakech you WILL become bored rigid as there really isnt much to do. The hotel has a shuttle service that only runs into the city (7 miles away) at 9.30 and 3.30, but this costs 25 dirhams (£1.87) per person per way. So a family of four staying for a week, it will set you back £104.72, which is only £18 short for what we paid for a hire car! With the shuttle being very limited you are almost held prisoner at the hotel. This is fine if all you want to do is sit by the pool all day and do absolutely nothing, as there really is absolutely nothing else to do there...except drink tea! Having said all of this, it really is a very nice hotel and excellent staff, as long as you have a car then you will really enjoy your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ockham, Surrey GU23, UK

worth a visit

Posted Dec 4, 2011
Location: The Medina and the souks therein must be visited, of course, but we much preferred to be outside the city itself at the Terre.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Terre. There were a couple of minor glitches, but these were dealt with efficiently and generously by the hotel's management, which seems intent on improving what's perceived as wrong and truly offering a good experience to guests. The room was comfortable and roomy, the hotel's food was decent, the pools are clean and inviting, and the gardens/grounds are beautiful and immaculately kept. we had an issue with transfers and shuttles to town, but these were addressed by the hotel and, whilst I've rated the "convenience" of the hotel's location and the surrounding neighbourhood as only middle rankings, we much, much preferred to be out of the true hustle and bustle of Marrakech, which would have tired and irritated us quickly. The location is superb for peace, quiet, and relaxation with good service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good for couples, but much better out there

Posted Mar 9, 2011
The hotel is nice and the staff are very friendly and helpful. However, this hotel is absolutely not five stars, though this can be deduced from the price. It is 3.5 at the very most. The hotel itself is in the middle of nowhere. Although we chose a hotel out of the city based on friends' comments, we didn't really appreciate how isolated it is. It is c. 20-30 minute drive into the city centre (dependent on traffic), but most importantly it is a good 10 minute walk to the nearest proper road (which isn't a "main" road by any stretch but more of a dirt track) from where you can hail a cab. The track leading to this road isn't lit so you presumably wouldn't enjoy walking there at night. As a result you are dependent on the hotel's own taxi, which although comfortable and much better than the 'petit' taxis that whizz around the city, you obviously pay a premium for. The hotel does offer a shuttle bus into the city, but the final bus back from the city is a 7.30pm, which isn't late to enjoy dinner in town. You will spend a lot on taxis staying here. The hotel also feels half finished. The outdoor jacuzzi was broken and cold for the entirety of our stay and the outdoor pool was freezing (though this is because it is not a heated pool that is offered by some of the more luxurious hotels). Breakfast is extremely poor. Dinner is good, though very expensive. Overall: very average and wouldn't return.