Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel!

Posted Feb 4, 2017
5 stars all around will defo visit again ..................
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Atrocious treatment of guests

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Very slow check in process, rooms were far away from lobby, staff members were impersonal and aloof, facilities had a corporate feel, and the crowning insult was when a friend of ours stopped by to say hello at the pool he was approached by 4 staff people who questioned him and told him he could not be there b/c he wasn't staying at the hotel. Our friend was black and was with his white girlfriend. When I reported this to the hotel mgr she denied any wrongdoing. I know it was discriminatory because just a few days before, my sister, who was staying at the hotel, had 7 friends visit her at the pool and they swam and laid on chaises and not one staff member approached them. They were all white. I will never stay at a Sofitel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel... AWFUL room

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was generally very good... amazing staff and amazing facilities (pool/spa, etc.) but our room was not up to standard at all. We stayed in the opera suite, room 410... supposedly the best room type in the hotel. Unfortunately, the number and nature of the issues were just not what I would expect from a 5 star hotel. First and foremost the toilet had an unbearable sewage-like stench coming from it which could be smelt from the hallway, it was so bad! Aside from this, we had issues with both showers in the suite as neither had working thermostats and we could not get a comfortable temperature for any reasonable amount of time... very frustrating! We also had other minor issues such as doors which would not close shut, a patio door to the balcony which would not lock, a jaccuzi bath which didn't work and a plug socket which literally fell off the wall, revealing bare electrical wires. I do understand that hotels of a certain age can expect to have a problem or two, but there was just so much wrong with our room that it was unacceptable. To be fair to the hotel, they did try to resolve the problem by offering us a new suite (which we could not take as we had just too much to shift amongst other reasons) and they gave us complimentary breakfast after a bit of nudging. The staff and management were excellent. For this reason, I give a 2 star overall rating rather than 1 star! A room in a 5 star hotel from a luxury brand should just NOT be presented in this way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good service except taxis outside charge too much

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Nice time & good service but they need to do something about taxis parking outside hotel not using their meters !! Charging residents double or triple the usual amounts !!
4 out of 5
by Pam from Wiltshire, England

Beautiful Hotel but Overpriced

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
July is very hot! Hotel was great, all staff fantastic, couldn't fault the people or cleanliness, but very expensive for eating and drinking (500ml water £4 and 500ml bottle of local beer £9) outside the hotel very much cheaper but nothing much in walking distance. Nearest proper bar was a 20 minute walk as was nearest shopping etc. Couple of nice restaurants nearby but very little choice in the area. Novotel across the road had nice Cafe/Bar for breakfast etc much better value than Sofitel (beer £4!). Would go back to Marrakech but would not choose to stay in the Hivernage area again needed transport for everything. Petit Taxi's are right outside the hotel but they have no air conditioning and can be very hot. The drivers will haggle with you so don't accept the first price you are given for a trip. The horse carriages are the same and great fun although a little smelly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: pool
Cons: rooms
Location: walking distance to main square
Reception staff could be more welcoming. Rooms are dated. Pool & outside area nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Good hotel but was expecting better

Posted Jan 12, 2016
We loved the hotel and views but staff was a bit rude in reception and in the Laurence lounge staff made us wait forgot our order and made us feel uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
by John from San Francisco

Great service, standard room.

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff service excellent, not impressed with hotel given price. Felt our room was in an older wing, and down a ton of corridors to get to it. Hotel is a maze, impossible to find gym. Lobby was very active and noisy, but it was New Years Eve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Good location

Posted Oct 6, 2015
This was a great hotel. Close enough to the centre (11 minute walk to the central square) but without the chaos. It had a great pool, good (but pricey) food, and lots of little extras such as pool table, giant chess set and ping pong table. We didn't get breakfast included and they wanted to charge us the equivalent of £32/day (for both of us)! Alternatively you could go across the road and get a breakfast in the (smokey) Extrablatt cafe for £7! Beware of the dodgy blokes who follow you from the hotel and try and get you to see carpets... The rooms are traditional in the imperial palais but contemporary on the spa side... When we first arrived the concierge was somewhat unhelpful and as a consequence it really tainted my initial impression. I will say that the mountain view was also a lie and when I went to change rooms the reception staff were surprised there was an option of a mountain view!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very convenient location.

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Book two luxury rooms through Expedia and pid in advance for one week stay but on arrival hotel charge me again on my credit card and returned money on my check out.