Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice, comfortable hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Comfort, art deco style.
Cons: The suite we got, though spacey and furnished with good taste, had a bath tub but no shower ...
It is a nice, comfortable and quiet hotel, designed in Art Deco style -- a tribute to an era. Jamaa al Fnaa is a good 20 mn away walking, but you can always catch a petit taxi which will shorten the transfer time at a low price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Very quiet, pleasing Morrocan hotel.

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: The quietness and use of the spa treatments.
Cons: Free bottled water on a daily basis/Additional hot drinking condiments. Wider choice at breakfast/Improved satellite choice for English customers.
Location: Location of the hotel was excellent, 10 minute walk to the tombs and 15 minutes to the Souks.
As regular travellers, we had high expectations, however, this hotel did not meet our expectations. We booked a top room but found we needed to supplement the room with bottled water, tea bags etc. additionally, although the room had satellite coverage only two English channels were watchable ( both news). The breakfast menu/choice was extremely disappointing, no available cereals with the main choice consisting of a mixture of breads and jam. On our morning of departure we requested an early morning call (never received), and breakfast in the room only to find it had been laid out in the restaurant 10 minutes before departure.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Tranquility at It's Best

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Everything except the food!
Cons: Food!
Location: Great location!
Very good location within the Medina and what a wonderful surprise when you open the door and step into Villa Makassar! It was like stepping into another world, tranquil, beautiful art deco design and style, fantastic staff who were so helpful and pleasant! The room was spacious and beautifully decorated, perfect! The only disappointment was the food, very disappointing! If they resolved the food, it would be a perfect base in Marrakech!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Hôtel raffiné et serein

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Le cadre, le décor et le confort
Cons: Certains équipements qui sont très décoratifs mais peu fonctionnels
Location: la Casbah de Marrakech à 15-20 min. à pied du centre et des principaux lieux de visite
Nous avons passé une semaine complète au calme dans un luxe surprenant et dans un raffinement hors du temps. Une mention spéciale pour la gentillesse et le dévouement du personnel. La piscine et la terrasse resteront longtemps dans notre coeur ! Et... un grand merci à Claudine :-)
5 out of 5
by Valérie from Bordeaux

Magique

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 jours magnifiques après en avoir passé 4 dans le désert (Chegaga); à la fois un havre de paix, situé en plein coeur de la Medina (donc à 15mn à pied du coeur battant de Marrakech) et un excellent restau qui vaut vraiment le détour bien qu'ils ne le mettent pas assez en avant
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nicely situated in a quiet neigbourhoud.

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Indeed a very nice Riad. Well situated only 15 minutes walk from the main square. Enjoyed it very much. Very nice staff and atmosphere.
3 out of 5
by Nadine from London

Disappointed- not 5 star

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
It was very quiet at the hotel and the staff were accommodating but there only seemed to be 4/5 staff over the 24hours. The nighttime staff were not great and service was extremely slow. Food was simple each morning and lots of bread!! Not really 5 star but the facilities were lovely just a shame that the service was disappointing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Medina

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Hotel within Medina, everything within walking distance. Very helpful and friendly staff and beautiful building.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading

Lovely hotel in quiet location

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: Extremely good location and wonderful staff
Location: Good location, short walk to places of interest but in a quiet area. Other hotels and restaurants a short walk away
We have just returned from a wonderful 4 day stay at this lovely hotel. Fantastic staff, very attentive and nothing is too much trouble. The first room we were given was a little dark but as soon as they were made aware of this we were offered an alternative which was not only lighter but also much bigger. Rooms were kept immaculately clean with linens changed daily. Breakfasts were great with a selection of bread, pastries and pancakes served with freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee or tea. Eggs were also on the menu, cooked to your preference. The omelettes were very good! We ate dinner in the restaurant on two occasions and the food is Michelin star quality at very reasonable prices. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for some winter sun. We had beautiful weather for the duration of our stay and enjoyed spending time on the large roof terrace. The location is perfect for walking to the main square and other tourist attractions. The staff speak English which was a great help! Thank you Claudine and Yusuf for making our stay so enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Very good. No complaints. AMAZING breakfast and spa.