Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint and Quirky with lots of character

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location was good for me, the staff were reasonably friendly and the rooms were clean and interesting.
Cons: Sadly the food was the worst I had whilst I was away. It may just have been I chose the wrong things on the menu but what I had was not very nice!
Location: A great place to stay if you want to visit the battlefields around Verdun
Comfortable and clean with interesting decor - every room is different.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice hotel close to Verdun

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Fantastic location, far away from stressful city life. The old buildings are well maintained and create a very nice atmosphere. Very friendly staff.
Cons: The beds are a little short but I suppose that's a French thing.
This is a real hidden gem. Very friendly staff, cosy atmosphere and excellent French food. I'll definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Philippe from Kingston, Ontario

Nice, one of a kind hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Extreme calm of the countryside very close to the city of Verdun.
Location: Lots of stuff related to the first world war, with military cemeteries, historical locations with trenches, ossuaries all nearby.
Excellent experience. Nice welcome by the owner, who built the whole thing. Nice trees, nice and original buildings. Very spacious room with a brand new shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda

Friendly Owner and Good Breakfast

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: Breakfast, price and temperature.
Cons: New towels and the use of a duster on those wooden beams.
Second stop at this hotel and in a different room I can see a reason people complain about cleaning - cobwebs all over the woodwork. It's a shame because the stuff you use is clean. The bath, sink, toilet were clean and the sheets were very clean. Nice warm room with the ability to set the temperature you like and the water is still super-hot. Yes, they could do with replacing the towels but they dry you perfectly well, even if they are a little frayed at the edges. This time we had breakfast and met the man who owns the place. He is very friendly and slightly amusing too...and although he doesn't speak English, he is adept at getting his message across with gestures. Breakfast is made for you rather than being a buffet. A plate of sliced meat with some brie and butter served with good bread, fresh crispy croissants and a hot crepe with a huge jug of tea/coffee. We would stop here again and get the breakfast again too. Sure, it's quirky but sometimes that's a nice thing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dee from London

Very Hot Water A Bonus

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: Very hot water. :-)
Cons: It's basic. Fine for a stop over but unless you have a specific reson for being in the area you might want a little more luxury for longer stays.
Having read some previous reviews on Trip Advisor we weren't expecting much and thought the place may need a clean. We found the place fairly easily but the parking wasn't signposted well enough. As usual, everyone spoke French. Not a problem for us, but we know it irritates some people. The bathroom was tired, but had been cleaned. The sink and bath themselves were certainly clean, though the fittings (around the base of he taps etc) needed a good descaling. This didn't bother me but it does make it look like it needs a clean. I was pleasantly surprised to find copious amounts of very hot water so happily hopped into the bath. This was appreciated after a long drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by eddy from las vegas

Quirky, fun, cute

Posted Aug 20, 2013
A really different place but truly enjoyable. Very nice on-site restaurant for dinner and breakfast. A bit remote but for something different it's worth the trip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ade from Hertfordshire, UK

Stay in Asterix's house!

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: The dining room and breakfast.
Location: About 15 minutes off the A4 motorway so a great stop off on the way to/from the Alps and Northern Italy.
Quirky - The owner is a real character! We arrived late after a long car journey. He kept the kitchen open until late and served us a delicious dinner. Rooms are all individual and well kept. Excellent breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Fun, Great Food, Nice People

Posted Mar 30, 2012
Pros: Quirky, friendly, fun and great food
Location: Quiet rural setting near Verdun battlefields
A quirky and charming quiet hotel with great character, run by a great character. Very well placed for interesting battlefield visits around Verdun, Recommended. Oh, and great food in the attached restuarant too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke

Eccentric and interesting

Posted Oct 10, 2011
This is an unusual hotel. It is at Marre, a small village about 20 minutes north east of Verdun and very rural! I believe the hotel was converted or built by the owner using stone and timber around the shell of an old agricultural building - anyway, its rusticity makes it completely different from conventional, hotel-chain accommodation. On arrival it took a little time to attract attention but walking around the place was no hardship and when we were spotted everything went pleasantly, including a welcoming tea and coffee. Our room and bathroom were basic and could have been more effectively cleaned but they were also interesting with huge beams across the ceiling. A main road runs through the village in front of the hotel but it was deserted at night and quiet. We used the restaurant for dinner: the set menu was far better than expected with good hot dishes, lots of good cheeses (pehaps shop bought) and at least one of the sorbets was homemade. Breakfast was even more surprising with homemade hot pancakes as well as the usual strong coffee, breads and croissants etc. In August the hotel is not cheap for fairly ordinary accommodation but its location with regards to Verdun and its character makes it worth choosing for a night or two.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detmold / Lippe

Idealer Ausgangspunkt

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Das Preisleistungsverhältnis ist absolut in Ordnung für einfache Verhältnisse. Ein einfaches aber voll ausreichendes Frühstück. Nettes Personal!
Cons: Eigentlich nicht, das Hotel hat einen eigentümlichen, nett "kauzigen" Charakter! Das ist auch gut so, das ist Original und das muß so sein.
Location: Das Hotel liegt etwas außerhalb, aber ideal um als Ausgangspunkt für Erkundungen in dieser historisch interessanten Umgebung zu dienen.
Wir haben das Hotel als Stützpunkt für unsere Erkundungen genutzt. Morgens als Start gab es ein einfaches aber absolut ausreichendes Frühstück, serviert vom immer gutgelaunten Chef des Hauses. Mit dieser Grundlage konnten die Abenteuer in dieser historisch interressanten und spannenden Umgebung beginnen. Es ist eine einfache, liebevoll gestaltete, saubere Anlage, die wir sehr empfehlen. Wer hier allerdings grösseren Luxus erwartet (Pool etc.) ist fehl am Platz. Wir, jedenfalls, kehren wieder ein, wenn wieder hier herkommen! (... und das wird bestimmt passieren!)