Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Hotel OK

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Most of the staff were really nice,so it is a shame that it was ruined by a few managers. One more year there you get a palm tree in your name,shame!
Cons: Get rid of half board or train the managers to be more discreet to their H/B guests.
Location: Snorkelling very good straight of the beach.Diving school round the bay. Not much else.
Having been here five times I am afraid it has sadly gone down hill.First went in 2007,it was fantastic.My main complaint is that the food is not as good as it was,or the choice.It pains me to say that as we were half board we were harassed by certain managers to the point of feeling very uncomfortable. If you want front row on the beach you have to reserve your beds by the latest 7.30 even though its not allowed. Won't be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Surrey, UK

Great place for a superb Christmas/family event

Posted Jan 2, 2013
Cons: Taxi prices
We stayed during Christmas 2012 with our adult children on half board basis (NB: there are few, if any, restaurants outside of the hotel complex). The hotel and its food were superb and the beach and sea at 21C offered amazing swimming and snorkelling. There was a host of recreational activities to suit all ages and levels of activity (many free, but some chargeable but not in local currency - usually Euros). The hotel had gone out of its way for its clients to celebrate Christmas - at our Christmas eve dinner we were offered no less than 60x different desserts - some gala dinner this was. We will definately return. Note that the hotel is not at Marsa Alam town which is about 65 Kms south of the hotel; although Marsa Alam airport is about 5 Kms south of the hotel. The hotel's web site is not that clear precisely where the hotel is located and Google Maps at times confuses the location of the Lamaya and Coraya hotels. The Iberotel Coraya Beach hotel is in fact at 25.604931,34.60395 (Lat/longs). This information is important as the local taxi prices are extortionate for such short journeys and the hotel mini bus is even more expensive at 40 Euros for each journey to/from the airport. Fortunately, one of our sons lives in Cairo and was able to arrange a much cheaper taxi. In fairness this is the only negative that we experienced and one which the hotel should consider changing to attract independent overseas visitors. Overall, a superb hotel and resort to spend Christmas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mohamed from London U.K.

A hotel to enjoy a laid back holiday

Posted Dec 6, 2012
Pros: The view of the sea @ sunset accross the bay. The staff in general were extremely plesant and caring.
Cons: Buffet & ala carte meals
Location: Superb Location on the Red Sea
It did not start well being a 5 star hotel, asking us to go out to the front of the hotel to place stickers on our luggage with the room number! the room with a sea view (paid for) was a room with an overgrown garden and more like the bush! next day the gardeners were at work, still not much of the sea was seen. The buffet food was too bland and tastless, the only dinner enjoyed was the weekly "Gala Dinner" which an effort was made. I spoke to the sue chief togther with the F&B manager who were very plesant and assured me of improvements. The rest of the staff were wounderful & eager to please.The hotel is a 3/4 star hotel and not 5 as claimed. They have a lot going for them, but needs a bit of vision.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Jun 17, 2012
Pros: The Pools
Cons: Hosting (personnel)
Location: very good
The front desk staff and reservation personnel (Khaled) were very unfriendly and uncooperative.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good time had by all.

Posted Apr 20, 2012
Great hotel. Lovely staff and great facilities. House reef was well worth a snorkel. Lots to see! Completely spotless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

happy customer

Posted Oct 2, 2010
VERY NICE HOTEL, GREAT STAFF
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Rome Italy

For me the best of Marsa Alam

Posted Jun 9, 2010
A very impressive structure,an extreme courtesy,an excellent sea and a very good kitchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Iowa USA

Great end to Egypt trip

Posted Dec 3, 2008
It was the best culmination to our 2 week Egypt tour. We did Cairo,Giza,golf,Abu Simbel,Aswan,fishing Lake Nasser,fellucas,Luxor,and took a six hour ride across the dessert to Marsa Alam. Even the dessert ride was entertaining, but we were in need of R&R. Iberotel Coraya was in the middle of nowhere, which was perfect. Unbelievable snorkeling in the protected bay, but you must go at 6:30 or 7 AM. The wind dies every evening and once it picks up during the day, the water gets cloudy. During the day, we paid $30 and were taken 30 minutes further south to another cove that the waves did not affect. This 4 hour trip includes 2 dives. One out into the bay. Here you will swim with sea turtles for sure and sea cows if luck is with you as it was with us. The second dive is along a reef similar to the one at the hotel, except we saw the fish not as deep. I purchased a "fish of the Red Sea" chart and saw as many fish that were not on the chart as were. The food was adequate for everyone and the pools were fabulous. The staff was there to please you. We got to see 2 other resorts, and they looked and felt antiquated compared to the Iberotel Coraya. Also the waves were constantly blowing into their beaches. If you need relaxation, this is the place. The only other activity is shopping in Al Quesar about 45 minutes away ($50)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from verona

Perfetto

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Vacanza molto rilassante in questo hotel riservato solo ad ospiti adulti. Pulizia delle camere eccellente e personale sempre disponibile e competente
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Ottima struttura alberghiera, vicina all aereoporto ma non disturbata dai voli.