Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Basic hotel with fantastic setting

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Cassis is a gem on the Medeterranean--and the Best Western is on the hill overlooking this stunning spot. The location and position simply cannot be faulted. The hotel itself is what you would anticipate: no frills, basic, with staff who seem to be there to make sure the place doesn't burn down vs. there to help you. That being said: the breakfast buffet was surprisingly good (fresh squeezed OJ; freshly baked warm croissants) and they have little garages you can rent for your car at a reasonable price (a must do in summer; don't bank on trying to find local parking as the place gets overwhelmed with beach goers). They even give you a nice bottle of local rose wine at check in. All in all, exactly what we expect from a Best Western (not too much) with some surprises for the better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunnyvale, CA

Great location in Cassis

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: The location is excellent, right above the Cassis harbor. Couldn't be better. The hotel pool looked good although we didn't use it.
Cons: Parking is iffy. This is probably a standard issue in France.
Location: Cassis is all about the harbor and this hotel is right on the harbor. So you've got lots of restaurants and lots of boat rides and beaches to swim in.
We chose to stay in Cassis for one night because it was relatively near the Marseille airport. The hotel had a nautical theme with ropes for handrails on the stairways. This theme continued into our room, which looked like it belonged on a ship. It was very tight with hardly any room for our suitcases. But it was clean with very flashy bathroom and shower fixtures. As often happens in France, our flight out was cancelled due to a strike so we needed to stay another night. The man at the desk advised me that we couldn't stay in our room but could move to a more expensive room. I guess this was true. Anyway, they were very helpful in moving us to the more expensive room, which actually had some floor space to move around in. And the WiFi worked much better too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Petaluma, California

Two Nights in Cassis

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Pros: Location, Cleanliness, View. Facilities.
Cons: The spa water was cold. Fix the spa.
Location: Great Location. Close to the harbor and restaurants. Close to the beach and on the path to the Calanques.
The BW La Rade has a great location. The facilities and room were very clean and well taken care of. Our particular room was surprisingly small, and no view. The entire bathroom was about 4.5 x 5 feet, and had enough floor space to take about two steps. The spa water temperature was the same temp as the pool water. Hotel employees were pleasant, but not overly friendly. That being said I would recommend staying at this hotel when in Cassis. However, consider one of their better larger rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for the price!

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Cassis itself is worth taking the time to visit. The Best Western is not fancy but the location is ideal and the view is phenomenal! There was a lot of variety offered in the breakfast, and the staff was helpful and friendly. I would come back in a heart beat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Easy parking across road.

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Close walk to harbour and local restaurants. Nice heated pool but loungers have seen better days
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Awful tiny room

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Admitedly we booked an entry level room but at a seaside resort you may expect to be able to open a suitcase not to sleep in a room about the size of a medieval prison cell. The corridors were dingy and dark and apart from one person the staff were surly Stay if you must, its a great location and a lovely town but dont expect much in terms of comfort apart from the bed which was fine!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P, Colorado

Great location, views

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Enjoyable, comfortable if basic. Views and pool are fabulous!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sausalito, CA

Close to the Port, with the charm of a prison cell

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Close to the port
Cons: I on't have enough time or space to describe it........
Let's put it like this. STAY ELSEWHERE. The night clerk was terrific. The bed was comfortable. But when your turn on the energy saver blue hued light, the room resembles a prison cell. avoid being seen from the street it's essential to close the metal shutters --- making it feel as if you are in solitary. On the other hand the water pressure in the shower was great as was the hot water, but the towels were paper thin. The breakfast (extra price) looked awful and skimpy. The corridors to the room look awful. The hotel's parking consists of room for only about 10 guests' cars -- after that it is "payant" street parking. If your GPS can find the hotel, it's a better GPS than we had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Really good hotel close to the harbour at cassis

Posted Apr 13, 2014
We stayed for 5 days at the Hotel La Rade and it is a really good hotel, the staff were very friendly nothing was to much trouble and it was a pleasure to stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Pros: Helpful staff
Cons: Better information. We were charged full price for the buffet breakfasts, despite the fact that we had only had (as we thought) the simple breakfast
My wife had an accident in the days before our arrival, and the staff could not have been more helpful. Hotel location is excellent. Standard rooms are very small.