Ratings based on 392 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

damp dump with weird unhelpful staff

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
damp room with a curtain hanging off the wall; no security and strange distant staff; got my map nicked off my bed; i had just bought it and no one seemed to care when i complained; then i was told i was too early for breakfast at 720 when it clearly stated on the wall brakfast was 700. then i went out to a gig and told i had to be home by 1am;: ok!!!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

You get what you pay for

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Good location It's low priced because it is low quality but clean and convenient for the port
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Room was clean. Staff was really nice and helpful!!
4 out of 5
by Robert from London

Needs Updating but Great Value for Money

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is certainly a bit run down both inside and out. But if you just want a bed for the night at a bargain basement price it's in a great location. 10 minutes walk from the old port. 5 minutes from the Metro.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's not a hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Really disappointed with this place. our females bathroom was in the males area. You had to pay for a towel and even for a pillowcase which is ridiculous. There was no key to the room so anyone could walk in whenever they liked. Really didn't like the place and couldn't wait to get out. I guess you get hat you pay for though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Orbitz
It wasn't great. I stayed in the dorm rooms and they offered the bare essentials: a bed, some sheets, lockers, and running water. No soap, hand towels, etc. You have to pay extra to use a pillow cover! Gross! Toilets and showers were pretty gross when I stayed as well. Had a couple people smoking in the room in the middle of the night, even though there were many signs saying no smoking. And DO NOT waste your money on the "breakfast". 5€ can get you much more at any boulangerie or cafe than what they give you--half a baguette, a hotdog bun, a little cheese, apricot jelly, butter, orange juice (not bad), and coffee (also not that bad). Go somewhere else for breakfast. Overall, you get what you pay for. It's a place to stay for a night or two rather cheaply, that's for sure. But it might be worth the money to stay somewhere nicer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Decent hotel, good location

Posted May 8, 2016
Hotel Sylvabelle is decent and comfortable. We were satisfied with the spaciousness of the room and the comfort of the beds. The toilet is not in the room, so slightly inconvenient. I enjoyed the hot water available downstairs. The reception was staffed 24/7. The staff were very knowledgable about the city. The location is super, minutes away from the old port on foot, a bit longer to the train station (st.charles) but right around the corner from a metro station. The biggest con was that the hotel would only hold our luggage until 14h00 after which the fee was 10€. This was sure inconvenient because it's cheaper to store at the train station but that's too far away to go back and forth - you'd miss out on other better things. Result:we walked around with our luggage :/ Not super.
3 out of 5
by David from Ibiza

Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Hotels
In need of updating as entrance gives a poor initial impression. Rooms generally clean but damp causing paint to flake off walls in places. Adequate for the price though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice Location, close to old port

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: The location was great, The toilets were ok, The showers were great..
Cons: Use the kitchen and the reception room for engagement and to share experiences,, hostel is not only for sleeping.. more helpful staff..
Location: Close to Vieaux port and Notre Dam de La Garde.. location is a great advantage.. and accessible to many attractions..
Overall all, it was positive experience due to the great location of the place in the heart of Marseilles, Cheap price for the shared Dormitory.. it is relatively clean but has no kitchen or common room, although these exist on the first floor next to the reception but not used.. Don't know why?!! It is just a sleeping place, and not the usual happy hostel experience... Most of the staff were serious and not bothered apart from Anka, the German receptionist who was cheerful, helpful and provide good assistance in general.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap Hostel but don't expect much

Posted Nov 12, 2015
The price is quite reasonable as compared to other hostels, I stayed there 2 days, its location is good, quite near to most popular places, the cleanliness is a bit problem but not too big issue, overall good hostel.