Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with a beautiful pool.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Only about a 5 minute walk to Cassis harbour. The room was perfectly clean and the staff were incredibly helpful. Always spaces in the car park. Lovely pool area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Hotel, Walk to Cassis!

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: 10 min. walk to the beautiful town of Cassis. Great beach, restaurants and shops on the beautiful pedestrian streets. Boats to tour The Calanques.
My husband and I just stayed at The Royal Cottage July 27&28 2016 and had a wonderful time! Alexia, Eugenie, Philippe and Martine were all so friendly and welcoming! These are new owners and they are wonderful. They have made this hotel great! Everything is so clean. Every detail taken care of. The pool and grounds are beautiful. We had a lovely room with a balcony and comfy bed and nice amenities. Yummy, fresh breakfast. We arrived early so we had lunch by the pool. A delicious BBQ steak and fries and fresh salad and chocolate surprise dessert and local wine. Melissa took care of everything at the snack shop and did a great job. It was so nice to walk back after a great day in town at the shops and a boat tour of the beautiful Calanques and relax in the pool and then walk back to town for dinner. We would highly recommend this hotel! (And Phillippe, we hope you get to take that ride down Route 66 some day :-) !)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Attractive hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Attractive and cosy.
Cons: Need a kettle in the room
Location: Good location. Suggest the walks in the area nearby called Les Calanques.
A pleasant hotel. Good parking with barrier. Short walk to the town/ beach ( up hill on return). The hotel has a warm feeling about it. We did not have breakfast there but did make use of their coffee/ tea machine at €3 a shot. The major problem was that the swimming pool was unavailable. It was being completely rebuilt and will be fantastic when finished. We were not informed of this and this spoiled our stay there. We should have been informed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2016 by Direction, Hotel Management
Thanks for your comment. Concerning the swimming pool, this is a season pool (as mentionned on expedia...) and it's not open till the end of April. Thanks a lot,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke

Nice hotel close to the town, the beaches and the

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Cons: A nicer breakfast room preferably with an outside terrace.
Location: Very convenient for the town, harbour, beaches and walks.
Very pleasant hotel only let down slightly by the somewhat mundane breakfast room. Somewhat overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcs. UK

Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Location: Short walk to the harbor and beach. There is a hill, but if you take it steady, it's not too bad.
Bit dated but nice, friendly hotel. Steps up to the pool could be hard for the more mature or infirm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Excellent stay in convenient location

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: staff; room; pool; breakfast
Location: Market twice a week was very attractive. Nice ice cream shops. Boat trip to see les Calanques very worthwhile. Good place to mooch.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay here. The reception was open 24 hours (contrary to impression given elsewhere), and the family room was ideal for us (2 adults plus children aged 14 and 10) and clean. Good air-conditioning. It was a pleasant 10-minute walk down through the town to the beach, and the location was very quiet. As we arrived by train, we were anxious about getting to the hotel, since the station is a little way out of Cassis, but there is a sign in the station forecourt giving the phone number of a taxi firm. The staff were uniformly friendly and spoke English but were also tolerant of foreigners' French. Breakfast was a good way of setting us up for the day, and good value. The pool area was nice and not busy; the gym rather basic. We would happily stay in this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2015
Great experience. Close walk into town. They provided maps and information about the lovely city of Cassis. Easy parking available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

It is a very nice hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: It is ver close to the port
Location: Walk through the streets of cassis and enjoy the views and the calques.
We had a very fast check in. The room was very spacious and clean. The only thing we didn't like was the sound of frogs at the middle of the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very friendly staff

Posted Jun 27, 2014
The friendly staff were the main impression that i was left with with this hotel. The room itself was fine, a reasonable size overall and was kept very clean etc by the staff during our stay. The gardens were very cleverly done, with a lot a little nooks and crannies to sun bathe in without feeling too self concious and the little pool area was charming even if the little pool was too small really for any real swimming but you do have the Med just a 15 min walk away. i would feel bad writing anything negative but in the interest of balance i would say that being 15 min away from the beach etc was a slight downside but you can't have everything. the upside of its location was that it was nice and quiet. i found the breakfast buffet a bit confusing with the pricing but the staff were very nice about it. Overall i would rate this hotel very highly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wendy from Calgary, AB, Canada

Royal Cottage

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: free parking, 5 minute downhill walk to beach/stores
Location: close to everything, yet in a quiet area.
This is a great boutique hotel in Cassis about 25 km from Marseilles. The breakfast seemed overpriced, so we walked to boucherie and got our own baguettes for breakfast. There is a lovely deck outside room for relaxing and eating, free inroom coffee & tiny fridge. We would definitely stay here again. It is only a 40 minute walk from hotel to the hikes to the Calanques. We loved the free parking at hotel.