Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A weekend in Marseille at the Sofitel, Vieux Port

Posted Feb 28, 2017
On our arrival at the hotel we were met by two members of staff in the foyer who took our bags from us and accompanied us to reception where we were introduced. The reception staff were lovely and went out of their way to make greeting friendly and warm. We were offered a choice of rooms, some with a supplement, but, having seen the choices, we decided to stay on the first room offered as it was larger and more comfortable. It was on the first floor with a good view but not as wonderful as a more expensive room. The main restaurant is on the 7th floor. The views of the Vieux Port are stunning and make eating even more of a pleasure. Breakfast contained everything one could ask for, again with very attentive staff. On Sunday morning the restaurant was very busy but the staff were unflustered and professional at all times. All staff speak both French and English so English travellers have no need for any concerns with communication. Overall, the hotel was an excellent base from which one could explore all the sites of Marseille.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view but you pay for everything!

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Jug in rooms. Upgrades in low season.
Location: Location good.
I was surprised that this hotel has such a basic room ie had to ask for a jug for tea. You did get a coffee pod machine but just two coffee pods. I found it stingy for the money Ai was paying. I got a back room view over the park when I thought I was getting a water view over the Port. It was low season and I still didn't get upgraded. I'm booked in there again later in the month but this didn't make a difference. As I said STINGY. I rang twice for porter service with,y bags and 15 minutes later struggled to take them down myself. Staff were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from u.k

Hotel walking distance to port

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Great Hotel and great staff. Treat you well as soon as you arrive for checkin. Treat you with chocolate covered strawberries too. All staff are happy to assist in whatever needs you have and are always cheerful. Great hotel facilities too and the dinner was fantastic as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Camille V, Guest Relation Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr, Dear Mrs, What can we say except thank you for this kind feedback. I will share your feedback with all our Ambassadors !! Best Regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Great hotel in Marseille

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Glamorous, great condition, location. It is well located, vieux port, pharo and longchamp at a walkable distance
Cons: Internet service was up and down. Working was almost impossible.....
Location: Marseille has a lot of great locations to visit, the traffic is acceptable, hence you have everything close by. The vieux port is at a walking distanc
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Guest Relation Service, Hotel Management
Dear Jeronimo, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best Regards, Guest Relation
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing staff, views and breakfast

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing service from your front of house, check in was quick and courteous. Breakfast buffet one of the best a hotel has to offer! View were amazing in terrace room and sky bar!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your good feedback !! We are delighted to read that you were fully satisfied with our services. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one! Best Regards, Camille V, Guest Relation Manager
4 out of 5
by Vikki from London

A wonderful view in a gorgeous, comfy room!

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
We booked this is a last minute short break. It was a total success; the hotel staff were great, the room was SO wonderful and the view was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Guest Relation Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santo domingo, DR

Great hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2016
From check in t check out everything was wonderful. Would definitely stay here again when visiting Marseille
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Kris from NYC

Great room but bad room service.

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
The room was very comfortable and clean. the lobby of hotel was stylish. I had a lovely view of the port.. but the quality of the food brings the star rating to 3. I ordered room service twice - one dish was listed as pasta w ham and truffle oil. What I got was a bowl of very dry macaroni (! which is a children's pasta!) and dry little cubes of not flavorful ham...and not a trace of truffle oil in sight. I was so hungry I just ate it and had to add salt, pepper, and butter to give the dish any flavor. The other order was for the chicken with potatoes dauphinois and mushrooms. The chicken was such a poor quality piece of meat and the skin was not crispy as a roast chicken should be. It was soggy and as a result the mushrooms underneath also were very wet. The entire dish tasted as if someone had boiled the ingredients in water and then poured extra warm water on top. The potatoes dauphinois were terrible..very dry and not creamy the way this dish should taste. I'm glad I ate out for the rest of my meals. The food is dissapointing and I hope they will make improvements.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely spot

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable stay and great view over the port. Worth paying the extra.