Ratings based on 580 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palmer, MA

Location ideal, but disappointed with stay

Posted Dec 6, 2016
The location is very scenic and within walking distance of restaurants. I was disappointed as the service was less than I expected. The night we got there it took us more than 30 mind to get checked in. In addition once we got to the room there was a leak in the bathroom that I did not notice until I stepped on the rug which was soaking wet. I called the front desk and maintenance came quickly. They were able to figure out the problem and replaced the rug within 30 mins. I would have expected that someone at the front desk would call to follow-up with us, but no one did either that night or even later. I also observed sloppy workmanship in the bathroom. For e.g., seems like they repaired the walls in a few places, but the spackle was still there & not painted. In addition, there was a mirror hung on the outside of the bathroom door, but no attention was given to the pertuding screws on the inside. I don't accept that sloppy workmanship at home , so I certainly do not appreciate it where I'm paying to stay. Otherwise, the room decor was lovely.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Terrible Service in Restauranf

Posted Dec 2, 2016
My family and I visited Martha's Vineyard over the Thanksgiving day weekend, and chose to stay at the Harbor View Hotel. The Hotel is well maintained and and the room was pretty comfortable and clean. We decided to visit the Lighthouse Grill for breakfast and out experience was simply horrifying. Let me start by saying that the restaurant wasn't crowded and there were plenty of vacant tables. Despite that it took the wait staff nearly 15 mins to bring us the menu. It was another 20-25 mins after this that someone showed up to note down the order. 30 mins later when the food was finally brought out, the order had been messed up. Only 15 mins later did we receive our breakfast. The staff's attitude seems pretty indifferent too. The food itself was pretty nice though!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

View of Lighthouse and friendly staff

Posted Nov 23, 2016
The staff upgraded our room because they were cleaning the vents in our initial room. This was most wonderful for us. A view of the water and lighthouse. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the very tasty tacos for Taco Tuesday in their restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Scenery the only thrill

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Location: We enjoyed the entire island!
Was disappointed in the overall stay. When we reviewed this hotel from the website, we thought we were in for a cozy B & B style stay. However, upon arriving on an off season week, the room was in the back with no view from our porch and a stuffy room that was so tiny we had to climb over beds to get to the very out dated bathroom. When asked if they offer hot tea/coffee to their guests, they reply I got was a rude, "If you want to pay for it!" Lol. Grateful to have experienced the charm of MV with my family once again, however next year we will be making different arrangements for lodging.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

if you dont ask for a good room you get bad

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: FAB surroundings, fab place EDGARTOWN
Cons: The room allocation was not fair at all.
Location: almost everything closed for the winter !! shame.
I asked for harbour view, as there were many weddings going on we got put to the bottom of the list even though we stayed three nights and I asked repeatedly to change rooms, we had not in the main hotel but round the back with no view at all - hotel called Harbor view, all the way from the UK not good. There was no where to have coffee sandwich in this big hotel, only a bar which got extremely crowded and did not do café food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great stay

Posted Oct 20, 2016
The hotel and room were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Location was perfect beautiful views and close walk to Main Street.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A beautiful place that has a lot going on....

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: VERY comfortable room with beautiful views.
Cons: Lots of activity an noise. The noisiest hotel I've ever stayed in. They host a lot of events and it's a hive of activity.
Location: It's walking distance from town and there is plenty to see and do in Edgartown.
Gorgeous location. Clean comfortable room. Staff was a bit behind the curve. I was given the wrong pass key and couldn't get into my room. Had to drag my luggage back to the desk. I was told they'd make the right key and either deliver it to my room, or I could come by the desk and pick it up in a few minutes and they sent a staff member with me to let me into my room. After 2 hours the key hadn't been brought to my room, so I went back to the desk. Had to wait behind people checking in. Then I was told "I'll make your key right now". Waited 10 more minutes. Finally got my key. Went out with friends that night (we were all there for a wedding). Found out that the bride and groom left gift bags for all of us at our hotels and we were supposed to get them upon check-in. So I went back to the desk again the next morning and asked about it. I was told I was "on the list, but the bag must be in another location". What? How many Harbor View Hotels are there? Anyway, they brought it to my room an hour later. On day 2 of my stay. Better late than never. If I wouldn't have asked about the gift bag, I would never have received it. Great place but the staff is a bit goofy and you sit there at check-in waiting for their computer system to move and it seems to take forever. They just stand there staring at the screen for minutes at a time. If there are more than 2 people checking-in in front of you....you're going to need a Snickers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Königstein im Taunus

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Pool, location und sauberkeit. Schön Lobby mit Kamine.
Cons: Ich fand das 17 Uhr zu spät ist für Zimmer putzen. Mann wollte eigentlich duschen oder ausruhen und wir mussten warten bis alles fertig war.
Location: Super, restaurant, Fahrad fahren, shoppen,
Das Hotel liegt ganz central. Mann kann ganz einfach restaurants und alles zu fuss erreichen. Das einzige Problem war, dass unser Zimmer nur ganz spät sauber gemacht war. Ich glaube, es liegt daran, das es am Ende Saison ist. Aber egal, es war sauber, Pool war warm und es ist wirklich empfehlungswert. We really liked the location. Only complaint was that the room was cleaned too late. 5 pm at the end of a day of bicycling etc is too late. I suspect it is because a lot of college kids returned to university. The staff were wonderful. The grounds beautiful and one can easily get on foot to Edgartown and shops, restaurants. Quintessential New England. Otherwise splendid vacation and pool warm despite it being the end of September.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chapel Hill, NC

Great physical space. Lacking hospitality.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Rode bikes, shopped, hired a guide for a tour of the island, reconnected with friends we had not seen in over 20 years.
I expected better service at such an expensive hotel. No one helped us with luggage when we arrived, and we had to carry up stairs into the hotel and then from the 3rd to 4th floor ( no elevator at that level). During a 3 day stay, our room was cleaned once. Our waitress the last night (it was raining so we stayed at the hotel), seemed burdened by every request and eager to be done with us. The location is great, but the hospitality could use some improvement. I heard another guest complain about lack of cleaning the room/restocking supplies and the response was that it was the off season.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from princeton nj

Def Stay Here

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Lovely views, spacious room, lots of early morning noise at back of hotel, very hot in room, super friendly staff, comfortab bed, easy walk to bus, good late night bar